SWS: Colorado race fact sheet and preview notes

WHAT: UNITED POWER/TOUCHSTONE ENERGY ^Ó150^Ô Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring Race No. 11 WHERE: Colorado National Speedway, Erie, Colo. 3/8-Mile Paved WHEN: Saturday,...

WHAT: UNITED POWER/TOUCHSTONE ENERGY ^Ó150^Ô Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring Race No. 11

WHERE:          Colorado National Speedway, Erie, Colo.

3/8-Mile Paved

WHEN: Saturday, August 18, 2001 ^Ö 8:30 p.m. PST

DISTANCE: 150 Laps/56.25 Miles


FIELD: 26 cars possible. The fastest 20 cars through time trials with two provisional starting positions (21st & 22nd) available to the top 30 drivers based on the current 2001 Featherlite Southwest Series point standings, who have not qualified for one of the original 20 starting positions, provided eligible drivers attempt to qualify. The 23rd and 24th starting positions are available to the highest 30 car owners in the current 2001 Featherlite Southwest Series point standings who have not qualified for one of the original 20 starting positions. The 25th and 26th starting positions will be filled by the top two (2) highest finishing drivers from the Qualifying Race, electing to transfer.

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: CN Acquisition, LLC


Saturday, August 18
9:00 a.m. Registration & Inspections
11:30 a.m. Drawing to determine Qualifying order
11:30 a.m. Mandatory Rookie Meeting
12:00-1:00 p.m. Practice
1:30- 2:30 p.m. Practice
3:00 p.m. Mandatory driver's meeting
3:30-4:30 p.m. Practice
5:05 p.m. Time Trials (2 Laps). All positions
6:30 p.m. Qualifying race
8:30 p.m. United Power/Touchstone Energy "150"

THE RACE TRACK: Colorado National Speedway is a 3/8-mile paved oval track.

RECORDS:                Driver          Date      Speed         Time

QUALIFYING: M.K. Kanke 8/19/00 85.233 mph 15.839 sec.
RACE: 100-Laps Doug George 8/21/93 62.966 mph 35min.44sec.
RACE: 125-Laps Doug McCoun 8/29/98 63.896 mph 44min.1sec.


· Eric Holmes won his first career FSWS race in the series last outing at Madera Speedway in Madera, Calif. July 28, 2001.

· Craig Raudman of Bakersfield, Calif. has set the record for consecutive Bud Pole awards at five. Raudman stands in first place in the season point standings. Raudman has six Bud Pole Awards this season. Raudman has 10 starts/2 wins/7 top 5^Òs/8 top 10^Òs/$32,950 money won.

· Bob Lyon, Aqua Dulce, Calif., is the iron man of the series with 229 appearances.

· M.K. Kanke of Frazier Park, Calif. suffered a broken right leg at Sears Point Raceway in a single car incident while qualifying in June. Kanke has missed the last three events but remains seventh place in the point standings. Prior to the incident Kanke led the point standings.

· Marc Groskreutz of Spokane, Wash. has vaulted back into 8th place in the season point standings after a strong third place finish at Madera Speedway. Groskreutz travels from Spokane to each event.

· Scott Brandt has reassumed the lead in the Rookie-of-the-Year standings with a 12th place finish at Madera. Ben Walker was Rookie of the Race with an 8th place finish.

· Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company has posted award tires for all the remaining events in 2001, which include 32 tires to be distributed to eligible Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring car owners per event.

Current FSWS 2001 Point Standings                       2000 Colorado National Speedway Top 10

1. Craig Raudman 1461 1. Auggie Vidovich Jr.
2. Auggie Vidovich Jr. 1338 2. Bruce Yackey
3. Jon Nelson 1291 3. Roger Avants
4. Darrell LaMoure 1285 4. Travis Clark
5. Greg Pursley 1277 5. Jerry Robertson
6. Bob Lyon 1248 6. Frank Maronski Jr.
7. M.K. Kanke 1209 7. Kevin Clark
8. Marc Groskreutz 1196 8. Sean Woodside
9. Jim Pettit II 1177 9. Ken Walter
10. Doug McCoun 1168 10. Scott Busby

2000 RACE REVIEW: M.K. Kanke of Frazier Park, Calif. set a new track qualifying record with a time of 15.839/85.233 mph but started sixth due to the invert. Kevin Clark started the 125-lap event from the pole and led the first 30 laps before losing the lead to eventual winner Auggie Vidovich Jr. on lap 30. Vidovich went on the lead the next 41 laps before the action was halted due to inclement weather. Since more than half the scheduled distance had been completed the race was official and Vidovich declared the winner. Todd Souza was the highest finishing Rookie in 14th position, with Matt Crafton holding on to the points lead by 93 markers over Vidovich after his 18th finish.

2000 RACE STATS Bud Pole: M.K. Kanke 15.839 sec/85.233 mph New Track Record
Time of Race: 30 min, 53 seconds Shortened due to inclement weather after 72-laps.
Average Speed: 52.455 mph
Margin of Victory: 2.3 seconds
Caution Flags: Four for 22 Laps
Lap Leaders: Kevin Clark 1-30, Auggie Vidovich Jr. 31-72.
One lead changes between two drivers.

Previous FSWS Winners at Colorado National Speedway
2000-Auggie Vidovich Jr. 1999- M.K. Kanke 1998- Doug McCoun
1997- M.K. Kanke 1996- Mark Reed 1995- Rick Carelli
1994- Dale Williams 1993- Doug George 1992- Rick Carelli


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Matt Crafton , Rick Carelli , Mark Reed , Jerry Robertson , Greg Pursley , Eric Holmes , Scott Busby , Darrell LaMoure , Doug McCoun , Jim Pettit II , Craig Raudman , Auggie Vidovich , Ben Walker , Todd Souza , Kevin Clark
Teams Williams