SWS: Cajon Speedwway fast facts

<pre> WHAT: Coors Light "125" Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring Race No. 2 WHERE: Cajon Speedway, El Cajon, Calif. 3/8-Mile Paved WHEN: Saturday, March 24, 2001 -- 9:00 p.m. PST DISTANCE: ...

<pre> WHAT: Coors Light "125"
Featherlite Southwest Series, NASCAR Touring Race No. 2

WHERE: Cajon Speedway, El Cajon, Calif. 3/8-Mile Paved

WHEN: Saturday, March 24, 2001 -- 9:00 p.m. PST

DISTANCE: 125 Laps/46.875 Miles


FIELD: 24 cars possible. Fastest 20 cars through time trials with two provisional starting positions available to the top 30 drivers based on the final 2000 Featherlite Southwest Series point standings, who have not qualified for one of the original 20 starting positions, provided eligible drivers attempt to qualify. The 23rd and 24th starting positions will be filled by the top two (2) highest finishing drivers from the Qualifying Race, electing to transfer.

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc. (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Cajon Plaza, Inc.


Saturday, March 24 11:00 a.m. Registration & Inspections 12:30 p.m. Mandatory Rookie Driver's Meeting 1:30 p.m. Drawing to determine Qualifying order 2:00 p.m.-4:00 p.m. Practice 4:15 p.m. Mandatory driver's meeting TBA Time Trials (2 Laps). All positions TBA Qualifying race TBA Trophy Dash

THE RACE TRACK: Cajon Speedway is a 3/8-mile paved oval track.

RECORDS:              Driver            Date    Speed           Time
QUALIFYING:     Bruce Bechtel           6/3/00  87.771 mph      15.381 sec.
RACE: 125-Laps  Craig Raudman           3/27/99 56.819 mph      51 min. 06 sec.


*       M.K. Kanke could surpass the $300,000 mark in career earnings this season
and become the first Featherlite Southwest      Series driver in history to
achieve that milestone. Kanke needs just $5,168.  Ron Hornaday Jr. is second
with career     earnings of $285,920.

* Bob Lyon, Aqua Dulce, Calif., is the iron man of the series with 220 appearances.

* Doug McCoun has the longest active streak of consecutive seasons finishing in the top 10 in the final standings. McCoun has managed top 10 finishes eight straight years.

* The record for most different Bud Pole Award winners in a season is 13, set in 1997 and tied in 1998.

* Matt Crafton, 2000 Featherlite Southwest Series champion, will not be back in 2001 to defend his title. Crafton has moved up to the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series to run for Rookie-of-the-Year driving the #88 Sealmaster Chevrolet.

* More than 10 Rookie -of-the-Year candidates have officially declared their intentions including local racer Brandon Miller of Rancho Santa Fe, Burney Lamar, Troy Adams, and Eddie McKean out of Jerome, Idaho.

Final FSWS 2000 Point Standings     2000 FSWS Cajon Speedway Top 10
1.      Matt Crafton                            1.  Jon Nelson
2.      Auggie Vidovich Jr.                     2.  Auggie Vidovich Jr.
3.      Doug McCoun                             3.  M.K. Kanke
4.      M.K. Kanke                              4.  Matt Crafton
5.      Greg Pursley                            5.  Scott Lynch
6.      Sean Woodside                           6.  Steve Smith
7.      Rocky Nash                              7.  Randy Nelson
8.      Darrell LaMoure                         8.  Bob Lyon
9.      Frank Maronski Jr.                      9.  Doug McCoun
10.     Bob Lyon                                10. Ron Overman

2000 RACE REVIEW: Bruce Bechtel won the Bud Pole Award with a time of 15.381 and started the event in the sixth position due to the invert. Greg Anderson led the first 53 laps then lost the lead to eventual winner Jon Nelson on lap 54. Nelson went on to lead the final 46 laps and held off a hard-charging Auggie Vidovich Jr. to record his first career series win.

2000 RACE STATS Bud Pole: Bruce Bechtel Time of Race: 40 min, 22 seconds Average Speed: 55.739 mph Margin of Victory: .8 seconds Caution Flags: Five for 41 Laps Lap Leaders: Greg Anderson 1-53, Jon Nelson 54-100. One lead change among two drivers.

Previous FSWS Winners at Cajon Speedway 1999-Craig Raudman 1998-Matt Crafton 1997-Chris Raudman 1996-Chris Raudman 1995-Craig Raudman 1994-Dale Williams 1993-M.K.Kanke 1992-Rick Carelli 1991-Rick Carelli 1990-Dan Press 1989-Dan Press 1989-Ray Hooper Jr. 1988-Roman Calczynski 1988-Troy Beebe 1987-Troy Beebe 1987-Dennis Dyer 1986-Mike Chase 1986-Roman Calczynski

-Derrick Shannon

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Greg Anderson , Steve Smith , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Matt Crafton , Rick Carelli , Bruce Bechtel , Eddie McKean , Scott Lynch , Greg Pursley , Darrell LaMoure , Doug McCoun , Craig Raudman , Auggie Vidovich
Teams Williams