Summerville fact sheet

NASCAR GOODY'S DASH SERIES FACT SHEET 'SKY FIRE WEEKEND" What: The Goody's Dash 150 is Race No. 11 in the NASCAR Goody's Dash Series 1997 Schedule. Where: Summerville...


What: The Goody's Dash 150 is Race No. 11 in the NASCAR Goody's Dash Series 1997 Schedule.

Where: Summerville Speedway, SC, is a .4/10 mile banked asphalt oval. The Speedway is located by taking I-26 to exit 199, then South to Summerville. In Summerville go right on US 78 for 1 block, then left on Cedar St.. Cedar St. will become Central Ave and the speedway is 4 miles on the right.

When: Saturday, July 5, 1997. Racing starts at 9:00 p.m.

Distance: 100 Laps (40 Miles)

Promoter: C. Powell Enterprises, Inc.

Sanction: National Association of Stock Car Automobile Racing Inc. (NASCAR)

Schedule: Thursday June 19: NASCAR Goody's Dash Haulers enter at 4:00 p.m. Friday June 20: Registration and Inspection 6:00 a.m. Mandatory Rookie Drivers Meeting 9:00 a.m. Draw for Qualifying 9:30 a.m. Practice 10:00-11:00 a.m. and 1:30 to 2:30 p.m. Time Trials 4:45 p.m. Mandatory Drivers Meeting 6:45 p.m.

Posted Awards: $17,750 Including Promoters Purse, Cash Contingency Awards, $1150 NASCAR Goody's Dash Series Championship Points Fund and $2500 NASCAR Goody's Dash Series Top 20 Bonus Plan.

Participating Manufacturers: Goody's Pharmaceuticals, MAC Tools, Moog Chassis Parts, NGK Spark Plugs, Pro Shocks, VDO Instruments, Victor Reinz Gaskets, Anheuser-Busch, Gatorade, Goodyear Tires, STP Oil Treatment, Unocal 76 Gasoline.

Notes Of Interest: The "Sky Fire Weekend" marks the mid-way point for the NASCAR Goody's Dash Series season and the only visit to the speedway in 1997. The $2,500 Gatorade Front Runner Award will be awarded to the driver leading the points standing following this race. The current point leader is Mike Swaim Jr. followed by Will Hobgood (-132) and Jake Hobgood (-160). This is the sixteenth visit here for the Series since 1987 and the eleventh consecutive year that the speedway has hosted the Independence Day weekend spectacular for the NASCAR Goody's Dash Series. Larry Caudill won the first three Dash Series races here in '87, '88 and '89. He won from the pole in '87 and '89. His three wins here is tied with Mickey York for the most wins at this race track. Mickey's wins came in '91, '93 and '94. Mickey York is also, the only other driver to win from the pole here, in Mar. '93. Will Hobgood had three consecutive poles here in July '93, Apr. '94 and again in July '94. Will Hobgood has the most poles here with three. David Hutto and Lyndon Amick split the two races held here in 1996. In 1995, Will Hobgood won both races here. Only one other current Series regular has won here, Robert Huffman in 1990. Other pole winners here who are currently competing regularly on the tour are, Danny Bagwell, BJ Mackey and Mike Swaim Jr. The track qualifying record was set in Apr. '95 by David Hutto at 16.479 sec. and 87.384 mph. The 100 lap race record was set in 1993 by Mickey York at 60.970 mph.

TV: None

Ticket and Other Information: Available from Summerville Speedway at 803-873-3438. Information on the Series and Drivers Available from NASCAR Public Relations at 919-552- 5823.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Lyndon Amick , Robert Huffman