South Boston results 2005-06-04

Deac McCaskill proves Late Model victories can be found from the high line at South Boston Speedway SOUTH BOSTON, VA. -- Who says South Boston is a one groove track? It certainly wouldn't be Deac McCaskill. The Benson, N.C. driver drove...

Deac McCaskill proves Late Model victories can be found from the high line at South Boston Speedway

SOUTH BOSTON, VA. -- Who says South Boston is a one groove track? It certainly wouldn't be Deac McCaskill.

The Benson, N.C. driver drove the high line for 150 laps Saturday night to claim a victory in the Barkhouser Late Model Stock Division. The race was the featured attraction of the SunTrust Bank Night program.

McCaskill had competed only once this season at South Boston Speedway when the touring UARA Series visited the four-tenths mile asphalt oval on April 30.

Saturday, McCaskill certainly made the most of his first appearance at South Boston in Barkhouser Late Model action this season. After qualifying fourth in the 23-car field, McCaskill surged to the lead on the third circuit and stayed there the rest of the way.

However, staying out front on the four-tenths mile asphalt oval wasn't the easiest of chores for McCaskill, who had to spend many of the closing laps waging a side-by-side battle with eventual race runner-up Wayne Ramsey of Amherst, Va.

Drew Herring of Benson, N.C. placed third in the unofficial rundown for the field and emerged from a first-place tie in the Barkhouser Late Model point standings with five-time winner Peyton Sellers of Danville, Va.

Sellers finished sixth for the night as the final driver on the lead lap and now trails Herring, a three-time winner for the campaign, by six points in the battle for the track title.

Tony McGuire of Roanoke, Va. placed fourth in his first appearance of the season at South Boston and was followed in the top five by Jonathan Cash of Oxford, N.C.

David Triplett, Jr. of Durham grabbed a seventh-place finish in the race and was one lap down at the end. The eighth through 10th-place drivers were all a lap down at the close of the race. They included Owen Miller of Emporia, Va. in eighth, David Quackenbush of Lorton, Va. in ninth and Ryan Rhodes of Sanford, N.C. in 10th.

Before the first lap of the race could be completed, the yellow flag flew for an accident that involved the cars of Scott Worley of Long Island, Va., Ronald Hill of Rougemont, N.C. and Terri Williams of Emporia, Va.

Following a double file restart, the race went under the green flag for 95 laps before a spin in turn four brought out the second caution period.

Two other cautions slowed the field and set the stage for a four-lap shootout to decide the winner when the race went green on lap 147.

Snow survives side-side battle with Bailey, secures triumph in Limited Sportsman Division

For 20 laps, Justin Snow of Danville, Va. and Jonathan Bailey of Keysville, Va. raced side-by-side in classic fashion for first place in the 50-lap event for the Limited Sportsman Division competitors.

The fight for the lead came to an end when Snow and Bailey seemingly each got loose coming off of turn two with 20 laps on the scoreboard. Bailey's car, along with the rides of Brian Pembleton, Bruce Anderson and Andrew Perry were all collected in the accident, while Snow survived the melee and maintained the lead.

Bailey, who entered the night with a 24-point lead in the division's title chase, managed to return to action later in the race to score a 10th-place run and hold on to a slim six-point edge at the close of the evening.

Tommy Peregoy of Red Oak, Va. finished second in the 13-car field, while Charles Barnes of Chase City, Va. motored to a third-place run.

Brian Cole of Roxboro, N.C. placed fourth, while Jason Dickerson of Oxford, N.C. rounded out the top five drivers in the field.

Also placing in the top 10 were Billy Myers of Hurt, Va. in sixth, Timmy Hogan of Rocky Mount, Va. in seventh, Jason Pittman of Chester, Va. in eighth, Danny Willis, Jr. of Cluster Springs, Va. in ninth and Bailey in 10th. Pittman was the final driver on the lead lap at the end.

Joey Throckmorton scores triumph in 30-lap event for Pure Stock competitors

Joey Throckmorton of Scottsburg, Va. surged to the front on the second circuit and stayed out front the rest of the way to claim his third victory of the season in the 30-lap event for the Virginia Army National Guard Pure Stock Division.

Nick Igdalsky of South Boston, Va. placed second in the 19-car field and was followed across the finish line by Brandon Baker of Durham, N.C. in third place. Following a post-race inspection, however, Baker was disqualified.

That moved Jeff Wilson of Durham, N.C., who roared from the rear of the field to place fourth on the track, up to the third-place slot. Rodney Pennington of Durham, N.C. moved up to fourth place in the revised rundown and was followed in the top five by Reid Hodnett of Mebane, N.C.

The race was slowed by just one caution, which flew on the opening lap when the cars of Jarrett Milam, Chuck Watkins and Shawn Laws got together and went spinning in the frontstretch.

Southern Vintage Modified win claimed by Smith

Randy Smith scored yet another victory in action for the touring Southern Vintage Modified Series. Smith started from the pole and led all 25 laps to secure a victory.

Darryl Lacks placed second in the 12-car field and was followed by Rodney Cook in the third-place position. Donnie Lacks rounded out the top four drivers in the event.

Ray claims victory in Ford Focus Midget Series

Robbie Ray grabbed the lead on the opening circuit of the 25-lap race for the Virginia-Carolina Ford Focus Midget Series and led the entire way to the checkered flag.

Chase Scott, a multi-time winner at South Boston, finished second in the event. Scott was the top qualifier in the 13-car field and started fourth following a pre-race invert.

Aaron Oakley motored to a third-place run and was followed in the top five by Gary Winters in the fourth slot and Michael Sboro in fifth place.

Racing action returns to SoBo Saturday, June 11

South Boston Speedway will fire the engines up again on Saturday, June 11 for the running of the Sprint Night program. The first event of the evening will get the green flag at 7 p.m.

Highlighting the night will be races for the Barkhouser Late Model Stock Car Division and the Limited Sportsman Division. Also in action on June 11 will be the Grand Sportsman Division and the touring INEX Legends Series.

For more information, visit the speedway's Web site at or phone the track at (434) 572-4947 or toll free at 1-877-440-1540.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Jeff Wilson , Jonathan Bailey , Terri Williams , Peyton Sellers , Nick Igdalsky , Chase Scott , Drew Herring , Charles Barnes , Robbie Ray
Teams Williams