SMT: Series Myrtle Beach preview

News & Notes: Myrtle Beach Is Homecoming For Pack The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will visit another new track on the schedule this weekend when Myrtle Beach Speedway hosts the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified 150 this Saturday ...

News & Notes: Myrtle Beach Is Homecoming For Pack

The NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour will visit another new track on the schedule this weekend when Myrtle Beach Speedway hosts the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified 150 this Saturday night.

The race will be the ninth race of the 2009 season for the southern tour and while it is the first time the modifieds have raced under the NASCAR banner at Myrtle Beach, it is not the first time the cars have competed on the track.

One driver who is looking forward to coming to South Carolina is Gene Pack. Pack currently sits in ninth place in the points standings and looks to get his second top-five finish in the past three races.

"I can't wait to get down to Myrtle Beach and race the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour cars this weekend," said Pack.

"I spent a lot of my younger years down at the beach and have a lot of family and friends who are planning on coming out to watch us race. I appreciate everyone who supports our race team and hopefully we can put on a good show for them."

Pack scored his season-best finish of third at Bowman Gray Stadium back on August 1, and will try for his first win on the Tour Saturday night.

While it is the first NASCAR modified race at the track in a long time, the historic track has enjoyed a long history hosting NASCAR Touring events.

The track has hosted national touring series such as the NASCAR Nationwide Series and also hosted many NASCAR regional touring series, like the former Dash and All-Pro cars.

Current points leader George Brunnhoelzl III competed at the track when he drove a Hooters Pro Cup Series car at the track earlier this decade. Brunnhoelzl knows this race will be totally different because of the difference in the cars racing, but it is still Myrtle Beach.

"I can't wait to get our NASCAR Whelen Modifieds on Myrtle Beach," Brunnhoelzl said. "The track is abrasive and everyone knows that about Myrtle Beach, but it ought to be a great race for the fans."

Another driver who has experience at the track is L.W. Miller. Miller, the 2007 NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour champion, is coming off one of his best finishes of the year coming home fourth last weekend at Caraway Speedway. He also raced in a ProCup car several years ago.

Some of NASCAR's biggest names have raced at Myrtle Beach during their careers. Whether it was climbing the career ladder like Dale Earnhardt Jr. did during his late model stock driving days, or veterans like Sam Ard, who was rewriting record books during his days in the NASCAR Nationwide Series; the track has enjoyed a rich history.

The track will also have its Mini Stocks and Limiteds in action in addition to the 150-lap special event for the modifieds.

Practice and qualifying for the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified 150 is Saturday at 2:30 p.m. and 6 p.m., respectively. The green flag flies at 8 p.m.


Next Race Myrtle Beach 100
The Place Myrtle Beach Speedway, Myrtle Beach, S.C.

The Date Saturday, Sept. 5, 2009
The Time 8 p.m. ET

Track Layout .5-mile paved
Race Purse $24,806

2008 Winner Inaugural event
2008 Pole Inaugural event

Schedule Saturday, Sept. 5, Practice 2:30-3:30 p.m.; Time Trials: 6 p.m.


News & Notes

The Track ... Myrtle Beach Speedway, originally named Rambi Raceway, was built in 1958. The track has hosted some of NASCAR's biggest names like Dale Earnhardt Jr., all four generations of Pettys and three generations of Earnhardts.

Champions ... In the first four years of the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour, Junior Miller (2005 and 2006), L.W. Miller (2007) and Brian Loftin (2008) have taken home the championship trophy.

Most Winners ... There are three drivers currently tied for the lead with 10 wins each: Brian Loftin, Junior Miller and L.W. Miller. Loftin last earned a win in 2008 at Martinsville Speedway as the highest-finishing NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour driver. L.W. Miller last won at Ace Speedway in 2008 and Junior Miller's last trip to Victory lane was in 2007 at Greenville Pickens Speedway.

Variety in Victory Lane ... Twelve different drivers have visited Victory Lane, with Andy Seuss being the most recent new winner when he won at South Boston Speedway on April 4.

On His Way To A Record ... George Brunnhoelzl III has already won four Coors Light Pole Awards in the eight races this season. He attempting to break the record currently held by Burt Myers for the most pole awards. won in one season with six.


Final Notes from Caraway 150

Finally back in Victory Lane ... Brian Loftin (No. 23 L & R Transmissions/QMF Metal Solutions Chevrolet) ended a 14-race winless streak last Saturday night at Caraway Speedway. Loftin is the defending champion of the NASCAR Whelen Southern Modified Tour. It was his first win since August of last season.

Season best finish ... John Smith (No. 25 Tutterow Surveying/Rick's Home Improvement Chevrolet) came home fifth in the Caraway 150 to score his first top-five finish of the season. Smith, who led laps at Bowman Gray Stadium last month before falling out to mechanical problems, scored his best finish since he finished ninth at Concord in the season opener.

Pack shows consistency ... Gene Pack (No. 31 Comtech Solutions/Wings-n-Things Chevrolet) keeps showing that veterans can get the job done. Pack scored his first top-five finish of the season at Bowman Gray in August when he finished third and has backed that performance up with a top-10 finish at Caraway which garnered him the Coca-Cola Move of the Race award.

Tough night ... Frank Fleming (No. 40 Jerry Hunt Auto Sales/Pro Health Center Pontiac) entered the Caraway 150 in the top five in points and was looking to get his first win on the tour at Caraway after finishing second in the Firecracker 150 in July. He was collected in an accident on a restart on Lap 99 and finished 16th to drop him to sixth place in the overall season standings.

Emory rebounds ... After getting involved in an accident just one lap into the last race at Bristol Motor Speedway, Buddy Emory (No. 02 Ship On Site/RCS Construction Chevrolet) scored his second consecutive top-10 finish at Caraway. His eighth-place finish also gave him the Featherlite Most Improved Driver award.

-credit: nascar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr. , L.W. Miller , Junior Miller , Burt Myers , George Brunnhoelzl III , Andy Seuss