SES: Kentucky Speedway hosts second APS race

Kentucky Speedway hosts Hills Bros. All Pro Series for second time in 2002 - sharing weekend with Indy Racing League. SPARTA, KY. (July 26 2002) - With the Hills Bros. All Pro Series, NASCAR Touring 2002 season winding down, Charlie Bradberry...

Kentucky Speedway hosts Hills Bros. All Pro Series for second time in 2002 - sharing weekend with Indy Racing League.

SPARTA, KY. (July 26 2002) - With the Hills Bros. All Pro Series, NASCAR Touring 2002 season winding down, Charlie Bradberry and Jeff Fultz appear to be in the driver's seat towards the 2002 series championship. Entering The WHAS 150 here on August 10, Bradberry has a seven point lead over Fultz with five races remaining.

What looks promising for Fultz, and would appear to give him an upper hand in their battle for supremacy, is that he is coming to a track that is one of his favorites, winning back to back races on the 1.5-mile oval. Fultz won both races here in 2001 and finished runner-up to Eddie Mercer in the 2002 June event at the track. Bradberry has started three races here and has one top five finish.

Although Fultz has one Bud Pole start and two trips to victory lane with his C & C Boiler/Cleaver Brooks Chevrolet this season, Bradberry has been the more consistent driver with his Bradberry Racing Chevrolet. Fultz has four top five and seven top ten finishes through the first eight events while Bradberry has six top five and eight top ten runs to his credit. Bradberry is the only series driver to complete 100% of the laps run while Fultz is second in laps completed with 99.8%.

The Championship has not been decided by any means but David Reutimann trails Bradberry by 83 points while Billy Bigley Jr., in fourth, is 153 behind Bradberry. Shane Sieg is fifth in points, 215 behind Bradberry. "We definitely will be focused coming to Kentucky," said Fultz. "We will have lots of family and friends watching again and I really like this track. In fact I consider it my home track being so close to Cincinnati. This track has been good to us and coming off our superspeedway win at Nashville really gives us momentum."

"My crew is pumped after the Nashville win," continued Fultz. The car handled very well and making the early pit stop for gas and right side rubber kept us in the thick of things when others had to make stops under green flag conditions. Bringing Joe Shear Jr. in to help us with setups has made a big difference."

"Kentucky is such a super track to drive," said Bradberry. "Last year was our first time on the track and we did just fine. We finished 11th and on the lead lap. In the June race here we finished fourth so we feel very comfortable at this track."

But not to be overlooked are a number of other drivers. Billy Bigley Jr. won the inaugural series event here in 2000, Eddie Mercer won here in June and is always tough on superspeedways and young Shane Sieg who is enjoying his highest career series points standing, fifth, entering this race.

There is definitely parity on the Hills Bros. All Pro Series in 2002. Eight races have been completed and six different drivers have been to victory lane. Fultz and Toby Porter each have two wins in 2002. Other wins this year have been Bigley, Ryan Hemphill, Mercer and David Reutimann. Reutimann won his first career event in NASCAR earlier in the year and leads all drivers with three Bud Pole starts and has more then twice the laps led as Fultz.

So who will stop in victory lane this time? That is a tough call because there are so many outstanding drivers on the Hills Bros. All Pro Series including the best rookie field in a number of years.

Another tight challenge is ensuing with the series rookie of the year program. Jason Hogan leads that category over Joe Aramendia, Jason Robie, Dusty Williams and Johnny Brazier. Aramendia has had the best superspeedway finishes this year and has never seen the tracks before. He finished sixth here in June and has a sixth and a third place at the two Nashville events this year.

This will be the second consecutive event this division has shared with the Indy Racing League in 2002.

Action for the Hills Bros. All Pro Series, drivers starts on Friday, August 9, when teams check in at 7:00 am. Qualifying to determine the top 34 starters will take place at 4:00 pm. The WHAS 150 will fire off on Saturday, August 10 at 2:00 pm.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Billy Bigley , David Reutimann , Jeff Fultz , Ryan Hemphill , Joe Aramendia , Shane Sieg , Charlie Bradberry , Eddie Mercer
Teams Williams