Old Dominion Speedway results 2004-10-24

McFarland Takes Home The Big Bucks In "The Big One" Mark McFarland from Mooresville NC dominated the second half of the event, and took home over $11,000 Saturday night at the Old Dominion Speedway in "The Big One", a 250-lap NASCAR Dodge Weekly...

McFarland Takes Home The Big Bucks In "The Big One"

Mark McFarland from Mooresville NC dominated the second half of the event, and took home over $11,000 Saturday night at the Old Dominion Speedway in "The Big One", a 250-lap NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series Late Model Stock Car special. It was the first time in the history of the Late Model Stock Cars that they had run over 200 laps in one night at the famed 3/8 mile oval.

In Line-X of Manassas Park Quick Qualifying, McFarland barely missed the track record in his Dale Earnhardt Jr. owned Late Model, circling the track in a blistering 15.295 lap. McFarland is the current track record holder with a 15.222 lap. Line-X of Manassas Park awarded McFarland an additional $500 for his efforts. Denny Hamlin, McFarland's former teammate, was second quickest with a 15.398 lap, followed by 2004 Old Dominion Speedway Late Model track champion Brandon Butler with a 15.499 lap. Nathan Buttke was the fourth quickest with a 15.507 lap. Mike Colabucci, owner of Southern Automotive Group, put up $5000.00 to a driver who qualified in the top 4 spots and would elect to start from the rear of the field. If that driver wins the race, he could collect the additional cash. The only driver to accept the challenge was Hamlin.

The 250-lap event was set to run in 2 segments of 125 laps each. The initial start was started straight up as the 32 cars qualified. This put McFarland on the pole, along side of Buttke. The second row consisted of Butler and Dave Moon, who moved up as a result of Hamlin moving to the rear. Colabucci and 2004 Redman Fleet Service Grand Stock champion Willard Lawrence made up row three. When the green dropped over the 32-car field, McFarland darted out in front. But it was not long before Butler took over the point for a short period. Then Buttke took over the top spot and held on until the halfway point. Buttke picked up the most laps led bonus in awarded by the Southern Automotive Group, giving him an additional $250.00. The inversion for the second half put Andreas Kestermann up front, as he finished fourth in the first segment. Kestermann led a good portion of the second segment until McFarland showed the strength in his Chevy, and took over the lead. Shortly after, Butler put Kestermann back another spot and began to challenge McFarland. But as the race wore on, McFarland's car stayed consistent, as Butler's slowed just a bit. This allowed McFarland to stretch his lead over the final circuits. Following McFarland and Butler across the stripe was Kestermann, followed by Jack Bailey and Denny Hamlin. With his second place finish, Butler takes home the Old Dominion Speedway "Super Series" championship by just 2 points over Jack Bailey. Other special awards included the most laps led in the second segment (Southern Automotive Group) - $250.00 to McFarland, Hard Charger Award (McGee Crane Rental) $500 to Denny Hamlin, most exciting move of the race (Virginia Tire) $500 to Denny Hamlin, and the "Sleeper Award" (Mattress Discounters) $100.00 to Scott Worley. An addition $100.00 was awarded to McFarland from P&J Race Car Communications for his win.

The INEX Legends points chase was up for grabs between four drivers. Jason Miller from Berryville, Va. held a slight 6-point advantage going into the final event. He did what he had to do, qualifying on the Hall's Automotive Pole, and dominating the entire event, leading flag-to-flag, taking home his 5th win in 8 tries. The other 3 events, Miller finished second. He also accomplished the championship feat by running one less event than the other competitors, as he was out of town on September 18th, competing in another event in Ohio. Finishing second to Miller was 2-time track champ Kyle Hendershott, followed by J.D. Trenary, Kevin Yeatts, and Ryan Ellis.

Chris Donnelly led flag to flag, taking home his 2nd win in 2004 in the Redman Fleet Service Grand Stock 100-lap feature. Mark Miller came home in 2nd, followed by Rob Jardine, Paul Green, and Joel Brown.

This concluded the NASCAR racing season at ODS in 2004. Don't forget the annual awards banquet to be held on the weekend of Feb. 4th (SBRA Drag Racing)and 5th (NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series). Contact the speedway at 703.361.RACE for details.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Mark Miller , Nathan Buttke , Jason Miller , Mark McFarland , Denny Hamlin , Paul Green , Jack Bailey , Ryan Ellis