NWS: 2002 schedule announced

NASCAR Announces 2002 Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series, NASCAR Touring Schedule DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (January 14, 2002)& ...

NASCAR Announces 2002 Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series, NASCAR Touring Schedule

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (January 14, 2002)– The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) has announced the 2002 Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series, NASCAR Touring schedule, a 15-race campaign that begins at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, Wash. on March 30. Teams will compete at seven different race tracks this season, on a challenging schedule that will showcase the Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series as the premier late model touring series in the Pacific Northwest.

“The Northwest is home to many of the best and brightest drivers in the country, and fortunately for our fans, many of the best have found a home on the Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series,” stated Chris Boals, director of NASCAR regional touring and the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge.“ This year’s schedule includes several traditional venues that are the heart and soul of this series, and we know all of the teams will be at their best in 2002.”

From the 125-lap season opener at Evergreen, a .646-mile oval, Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series teams head to Tri-City Raceway in West Richland, Wash. on April 27, for the first of three stops at this half-mile oval. Towards the end of the season, the series will extend east to Kalispell (Mont.) Raceway Park on August 10 and Magic Valley Speedway in Twin Falls, Idaho on September 14. The race at Kalispell marks the first time in several seasons that the Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series has competed at this quarter-mile track. A 150-lap event at Wenatchee Valley’s Super Oval in Wenatchee, Wash. on September 28 will serve as the 2002 season finale.

The defending series champion is Kevin Hamlin, who last season became the youngest champion in series history by capturing the title at age 22. Hamlin, of Snohomish, Wash., recorded four wins in 2001 and is seeking to repeat his performance again in 2002. Drivers hoping to unseat Hamlin as the series champion include 2001 runner-up Joe Benedetti, along with third through fifth place finishers Pete Harding, Gary Lewis and Shane Biles.

The Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series is one of eight NASCAR Touring divisions that compete throughout the United States. NASCAR Touring competition can provide an entire racing career, or serve as a learning ground for NASCAR’s up-and-coming stars. Greg Biffle, the 2000 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion and 2001 NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division rookie of the year, honed his skills in the Raybestos Brakes Northwest Series before embarking on his successful NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series and NASCAR Busch Series campaigns.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Greg Biffle , Kevin Hamlin , Gary Lewis