New inductees named for NASCAR Hall of Fame

Bill Elliott, Wendell Scott, Joe Weatherly, Rex White and Fred Lorenzen top voters' list. Anne B. France receives inaugural Landmark Award

NASCAR unveiled its latest Hall of Fame inductees on Wednesday.

Chairman Brian France announced the 2015 class which includes Bill Elliott, Wendell Scott, Joe Weatherly, Rex White and Fred Lorenzen.

“I was totally blown away,” said Elliott, the 1988 Cup champion who scored 44 wins and was voted NASCAR’s Most Popular Driver 16 times. “There are so many people that are deserving to be here today, I am just blessed and just thankful that I am. I’ve seen a lot of guys come into this deal and there’s a lot of good names in this hall of fame, I’m just proud to be one of them.”

Not surprisingly. NASCAR also announced that Anne B. France earned the inaugural Landmark Award for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.

Elliott appeared on 87 percent of the ballots, followed by Scott (58 percent), Weatherly (53 percent), White (43 percent) and Lorenzen (30 percent). The next three nominees were Jerry Cook, Robert Yates and Benny Parsons.

The NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Day will be Jan. 30, 2015 and broadcast on the NBC Sports Network.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Bill Elliott , Benny Parsons , Robert Yates , Fred Lorenzen , Rex White , Wendell Scott
Tags bill elliott, brian france nascar, fred lorenzen, joe weatherly, nascar hall of fame, rex white, wendell scott