NASCAR to award final two Touring Series titles

Greg Pursley hoping for second championship in four years.

Greg Pursley heads to the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West finale in Phoenix with his second championship in four years in sight. The 46-year-old from Newhall, California, needs only to finish 17th or better in Thursday’s Casino Arizona 100 to clinch the championship over NASCAR Next drivers Dylan Lupton and Brandon McReynolds.

NASCAR Next drivers Cole Custer, Gray Gaulding, Jesse Little and Austin Hill are also entered in the event, as is NASCAR Drive for Diversity driver Jay Beasley and notable rising star Kyle Benjamin.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series event at Phoenix has become a launching pad for the sport’s stars in recent years. Joey Logano (2007) and Ryan Blaney (2011) scored their first NASCAR wins there, as did Gaulding last November.

Custer, who established the national series record as youngest winner with his NASCAR Camping World Truck Series win this year, won the K&N Pro West race at Phoenix in February. In addition, Ty Dillon finished third in the West race in 2010. In 2011, Alex Bowman, now in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, finished second and current NASCAR Nationwide Series points leader Chase Elliott was third. Dylan Kwasniewski, a rookie this year in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, finished second in the K&N Pro West race in Nov. 2012 to clinch his first NASCAR championship.

Meanwhile, in Mexico...

The final NASCAR touring series championship will be crowned Sunday in the Ficrea 240 at Autódromo Miguel E. Abed in Puebla, Mexico. Abraham Calderon – who owns a NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series win at Phoenix (2013) – holds a four-point lead over NASCAR Next driver Ruben Garcia as both drivers chase their first NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series championship.

The top four drivers, including Rubén Rovelo and Rubén Pardo, are within 11 points of the lead going to the 1.25-mile oval.



Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Greg Pursley , Joey Logano , Rubén Pardo , Alex Bowman , Brandon McReynolds , Ruben Rovelo , Ty Dillon , Ryan Blaney , Dylan Kwasniewski , Chase Elliott , Gray Gaulding , Jesse Little , Cole Custer , Austin Hill , Abraham Calderon , Ruben Garcia
Article type Preview
Tags drive for diversity, k&n