MWS: LaCrosse: Round three preview

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (June 14, 2004) - As if the return of the NASCAR AutoZone Elite Division, Midwest Series to his home track weren't enough to get Tim Schendel (Mathews Solocam Bows Chevrolet) excited about the coming weeks, there's more on the...

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (June 14, 2004) - As if the return of the NASCAR AutoZone Elite Division, Midwest Series to his home track weren't enough to get Tim Schendel (Mathews Solocam Bows Chevrolet) excited about the coming weeks, there's more on the horizon that will keep the rising star up at night in anticipation.

The Midwest Series returns to LaCrosse (Wis.) Fairgrounds Speedway, Saturday night, June 19 for the running of the Kwik Trip "Glazers" 150. The track is Schendel's home stomping grounds and the site of his most recent series win, in the fall of 2003.

"The win at LaCrosse last year, as part of Oktoberfest, was probably more awesome than my first career win," said Schendel. "I've been going to LaCrosse for as long as I can remember and all my family and friends and sponsors were there. To win in front of that many people who mean so much to you is just awesome."

But two weeks after the coming LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway event, Schendel's driving career will take another giant leap forward when he'll make his NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series debut at the Milwaukee Mile.

"Bob Brevak has been a driver or owner for a race at Milwaukee for 33 straight years and he told me he wasn't about to let that streak end," said Schendel. "We've been working with him to get this opportunity for months now. He wants to continue his streak at Milwaukee with a Wisconsin driver and thankfully he asked me to be a part of it."

Even with the exciting Craftsman Truck Series news, Schendel is still focused on the Midwest Series and is determined not to let his truck opportunity be a distraction from the task at hand.

"We're ready for LaCrosse," said Schendel. "I've stated all along that the main goal of 2004 is to contend for the Midwest Series title. I can't see this truck race interfering with my Midwest Series efforts."

Twenty-six Midwest Series competitors are scheduled to take the green flag, June 19, for the running of the Kwik Trip "Glazers" 150 at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway. Time trials begin at 4:00 p.m. (CT) with the Midwest Series main event slated for 8:00 p.m.

"I'm confident we'll be a contender at LaCrosse," continues Schendel. "I realize, however, that last year Steve (Carlson) was point racing and probably didn't push it as much as he could have, but we'll be ready. Besides, my mom wants me to win the free Glazers for a year."

Glazers are fresh, specialty donuts available at LaCrosse area Kwik Trip convenience stores. LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway officials recently announced that the winner of the 150-lap event would win free Glazers for a year.

In addition to the Midwest Series, the evening features a new "Features Only" format that will see late models, sportsman and thunderstox also in action. LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway is located just north of I-90 and the intersection of Hwy. 16 and County M in West Salem. For further information, contact the track at (608) 786-1525 or visit them at


* 2004 marks the 30th year of racing for the Midwest Series and seventh under the NASCAR banner. The series was most recently known as the International Truck and Engine Corporation, Midwest Series and previously the RE/MAX Challenge Series. Prior to that it was known throughout the Midwest as the ARTGO Challenge Series.

* The Midwest Series has contested 32 feature races at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway. Jim Weber leads all-time Midwest Series, LaCrosse race winners, with four triumphs. Eddie Hoffman (Appleton Rack & Pinion Chevrolet) leads all active Midwest Series drivers with three LaCrosse wins.

* This event was not held in 2003. The Midwest Series returns to LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway to headline the 34th annual Oktoberfest race weekend, October 7-10. This season marks the first time the Midwest Series has held more than one race at LaCroose since 2000.

* Justin Diercks (Iowa-Illinois-Taylor Insulation Chevrolet) wrestled the lead away from Brian Hoppe (Gildan Activewear Chevrolet) with just 25 laps to go, June 5 at Colorado National Speedway, and went on to win the Auto Trader 150. The win was Diercks third career Midwest Series win. Hoppe settled for runner-up honors with Ryan Hanson (Prairie Avenue Concrete Ford) finishing third. Eddie Hoffman was the Bud Pole fast qualifier.

* Local drivers Steve Holzhausen (Moss Electric Ford) and Charlie Menard (Menard's Home Improvement Chevrolet) are on the early Kwik Trip Glazers 150 entry list. Holzhausen, a part-time series runner in recent years, has nine career Midwest Series wins. Menard, the cousin of Midwest Series graduate and current Busch Series competitor Paul Menard, will be making his first career Midwest Series run. Menard will be behind the wheel of Tim Schendel's second entry.

* Hoosier Tire returns as the tire of choice for the Midwest Series in 2004. The Indiana based company will give away over $4300 worth of their rubber at every series event. Other contingency sponsors include AutoZone, Anheuser-Busch, Auto Meter Gauges, Competition Cams, CV Products, Edelbrock, Featherlite, Five Star, G-Force, Holley, JE Pistons, Mac Tools, Mechanix Wear, Mobil 1 Oil, Moroso, POWERade, Quarter Master, Raybestos Brakes, and Timken.


July 20, 1980-Driving for the injured Mark Martin, who just two weeks earlier had broken both ankles and his left leg in a racing accident, Darrell Waltrip drove Martin's orange #2 to victory in a 200-lap main event at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway. Joe Shear, Bob Senneker, Dave Watson and Jim Sauter rounded out the top five. Waltrip set a new track record in qualifying.

Fast Facts

What: Kwik Trip Glazers 150, presented by Schreck Trucking (NASCAR AutoZone Elite Division, Midwest Series, Race 3 of 13).
Where: LaCrosse (Wis.) Fairgrounds Speedway.
When: 8:00 p.m. CT, Saturday, June 19.

Track layout: .625-mile banked paved oval.
Race length: 150 laps, 93.75 miles.

2004 Championship Point Standings: 1) Steve Carlson 340; 2) Brian Hoppe 335; 3) Justin Diercks 330; 4) Ryan Hanson 307; 5) Tim Schendel 297; 6) Bryan Roach 276; 7) Eddie Hoffman 267; 8) David Finney 261; 9) A.J. Rhoads 248; 10) Josh Vadnais 245

Schedule: June 19, 11:00 am (CT), Registration opens and haulers enter; 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm, Practice; 4:00 pm, Qualifying; 5:45 pm, On-track autograph session; 8:00 pm, Kwik Trip Glazers 150

Tickets: Adults $15; Children 6-11 $5; Under 6 Free


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Darrell Waltrip , Jim Sauter , Paul Menard , Tim Schendel , Justin Diercks , Steve Carlson , Mark Martin