Louisville fact sheet

<pre> WHAT: Louisville Motor Speedway "150" Goody's Dash Series, NASCAR Touring Race ...

<pre> WHAT: Louisville Motor Speedway "150" Goody's Dash Series, NASCAR Touring Race #5 of 18

WHERE: Louisville Motor Speedway, Louisville, KY 7/16 mile paved oval

WHEN: Saturday, June 2, 2001 - 7:30 p.m.

DISTANCE: 150 Laps (65.625 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $25,850 (Including $1,600 Goody's Dash Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 28 cars (Fastest 24 through time trials. Two additional positions have been established for any driver who is in the top 30 in the current Championship Point standings who have not qualified for one of the original 24 positions. Another two positions will be made available to the highest 30 car owners in the current Championship Point standings).

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTOR: Louisville Motor Speedway Associates, Inc.

TELEVISION: None <pre> SCHEDULE: Saturday, June 2: 10:00 a.m. Haulers enter & Registration opens. 10:30 a.m. Gates open & Inspections begin. 1:00 p.m. Mandatory Driver's/Rookie Driver's Meeting. 1:30 to 2:30 p.m. Practice 3:00 to 4:00 p.m. Practice 4:15 p.m. Mandatory Driver's/Crew Chief's Meeting. 6:00 p.m. Time Trials 6:30 to 7:00 p.m. Autograph Session 7:30 p.m. Louisville Motor Speedway "150" </pre> NOTES OF INTEREST:

*The series has made three visits to Louisville Motor Speedway. Robert Huffman has two victories (1998 and 1999). Johnny Chapman is the defending race champion.

*In Goody's Dash Series, NASCAR Touring Competition at Louisville, races have been won by Pontiac. Series defending Champion Robert Huffman and two-time winner of the event has switched to Toyota for the 2001 campaign. The only multi-race winner in 2001, Cam Strader drives a Mercury.

*Bud Pole Record was set in 2000 by Johnny Chapman - 15.126/104.125 mph. The race record is held by Robert Huffman and was set in 1999 - 65.000 mph.

*The Louisville Motor Speedway layout is a D-shaped banked oval. The drivers find themselves turning left 13 out of the 15+ seconds it takes to make a lap.

*Top five finishers in 2000 - 1. Johnny Chapman; 2. Jake Hobgood; 3. B.J. Mackey; 4. Roger Sawyer; 5. Ricky Bryant.

*Pontiac driver, and race winner at Darlington, Shane Hmiel comes to this event leading a tight Rookie of the Year battle over Tim Nichols, Wayne Edwards, and Scott Redmon.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Shane Hmiel , Cam Strader , Robert Huffman , Johnny Chapman