Jimmie Johnson claims driver of the quarter honor

Eric Mauk

Another NASCAR-centric driver award has gone to stock-car driver Jimmie Johnson as the five-time Sprint Cup Series champion was named as the second quarter Driver of the Year.

Johnson took second quarter honors after winning at Darlington and Dover, as well as in the all-star event at Charlotte. The award, which has been in existence since 1967, is voted on by a panel of 21 broadcasters and journalists.

Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet
Jimmie Johnson, Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

Photo by: Action Sports Photography

Johnson earned six first-place votes for his achievements during the voting period while IZOD Indy Car Series driver Ryan Hunter-Reay finished second after back-to-back wins at Milwaukee and Iowa. Joey Logano, NHRA driver Ron Capps and World of Outlaws legend Sammy Swindell rounded out the top five in the voting.

The four winners of the Driver of the Quarter award are then voted on for the Driver of the Year award at the end of the season. NASCAR drivers have won 12 of the last 15 DOTY awards, with only Champ Car titlist Cristiano da Matta (2002), NHRA Pro Stock winner Greg Anderson (2004) and NHRA Top Fuel champ Tony Schumacher (2008) breaking the blockade.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Ron Capps , Tony Schumacher , Greg Anderson , Jimmie Johnson , Ryan Hunter-Reay , Sammy Swindell , Joey Logano , Cristiano da Matta
Teams Hendrick Motorsports
Article type Breaking news
Tags capps, doty, hunter-reay, johnson, logano, nascar, swindell