Jax Raceways Results 1999-06-13



By: Donnie Helmly: JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA, (June 14, 1999) A brief afternoon shower couldn't dampen things for "The Winston 100" or enough to slow down Jeff Godbee's number 5 Late Model. Godbee set fast time in qualifying action, and went on to lead all 30 laps. The win, his 8th feature event for the 1999 season, also put him at the top spot in the point race, for the NASCAR Winston Racing Series division at Jax Raceways ½ mile "D" shaped dirt track.

Godbee went out last to qualify his Chevrolet Monte Carlo, and was out to knock Chuck Chitty off the front spot, and did it in both laps. Godbee's times of 19.562 and 19.526 were the two fastest of the field, which put him on the pole for the 30-lap event. Chuck Chitty would move over to the outside pole, which would be the closest he would ever get to Godbee for the entire race. Godbee took off to an impressive lead, and began lapping cars by the 5th lap. Chuck Chitty had a race to himself, as well, as he too would pull out to an impressive led over the third place car of Buster Delay. Godbee stretched is lead to a half a track, and just set the cruise control from there. Chitty crossed the stripe for second with Buster Delay turning in his best performance of the year in third. Fourth through tenth was made up of Robert McCormick, David Browning, Michael Murrer, Steve Whitener, Homer Leonard, Terry Pless and Buddy Geiger. Geiger came into the double points night as the points leader, but mechanical failure, combined with Godbee win, put Godbee in the points lead by six points.

The Hobby Stock feature would see a rookie of the year contender, make it to the winners circle once again. The 20 lap event started with Joey Miller out front for the first five laps, until last week's winner Randy Clark Sr. took the point. Clark would hold the spot for six laps, when Rohn Moon took over, bringing David Ryals with him. Moon would lead the remaining laps with Ryals applying pressure, but settled for second. Miller crossed the stripe in third ahead of Clark and Mark Beebe. Sixth through tenth was Randy Clark JR., John Wood, Eddie Holton, Robert McDaniel and Jamie Green. It was Moons second win of the year.

Steve Whitener showed once again that he was the man to beat in the Modified division. Whitener and Kenny Bayless started on the front, after winning there respected heat events, and when the green flag waved, Whitener took off in to the lead, and would never give up the front spot. Kenny Bayless chased Whitener for most of the 20 lap event, adding pressure in the waning laps, but settling for second. Robert Balkcom followed in third as well as leaving with the points lead. Donnie Higginbotham and Ronnie Ponce finished off the top five. Sixth through tenth was made up of Gary Porter, Keny Porter, Doodle Pipkin, Marty Whitener and Kevin Bayless. It was Whiteners second win in just three starts, in the Modified division.

The Pure Stock feature event saw a new face in victory lane after their 15 lap event. Pricilla Yergy sat on the outside pole position after setting second fastest time to her brother Ray Pruett. Yergy would win the race to turn one after the drop of the green flag, and would hold off her brothers aggressive attempts to pass, to claim her first career win in the Pure Stock division. Pruett would follow in second and join her in the winner circle for the celebration. Third through tenth was Wade Shrowder, John Taylor, Wade McBride, Windal Clark, Hardy Jarvis, Chad Grogan, Joey Zimmerman and Bobby Simmons. Yergy's win moved her into the third spot in the point standing, just 70 points out of the lead.

(Donnie Helmly host "The Race Report" Monday nights @ 7PM on 1320 AM WJGR Jacksonville, Florida)

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Rohn Moon , David Brown , John Taylor , Joey Miller , Jamie Green