Grandview; three win battles, two win wars

Craig VonDohren, Meme DeSantis and Rick Todorow won the NASCAR stock car racing battles at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. Dean Stoudt and Jeff Strunk won the wars. Former multi time track champion Craig VonDohren (Barto) made a rare ...

Craig VonDohren, Meme DeSantis and Rick Todorow won the NASCAR stock car racing battles at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. Dean Stoudt and Jeff Strunk won the wars. Former multi time track champion Craig VonDohren (Barto) made a rare appearance at Grandview Speedway wheeling the Stauffer Construction #114 to victory in the first 30-lap NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Modified feature. Rick Todorow (Quakertown) waited until the final point race of the season for the Exide ShorTrack Late Models to win his first feature of the season. And Meme DeSantis (Blandon), who took 26 years to win his first feature at Grandview Speedway, won his third of the season taking the second 30-lap NASCAR Modified feature. And when all the figures were in, the points counted, Jeff Strunk (Bethel) had won his first NASCAR Modified championship at the Bechtelsville, PA oval. Strunk tallied 4246 points to second place finisher, defending champion Terry Meitzler (Kutztown) with 4110. And in the Exide ShorTrack Late Model championship chase Dean Stoudt (East Greenville) won his fourth track championship, the last one coming in 1993, with 4515 points. Kyle Pensinger (Lyons) was second with 4475. Stoudt was able to win the championship with consistent performances but did not have a feature win to his credit this season. Keith Brightbill ran an impressive race in the first 30 lapper for modifieds leading until the 23rd lap. Donny Erb and Chip Slocum each got by Brightbill but never officially lead a lap. On the 22nd lap VonDohren, coming from 14th starting spot, squirted from fourth to second on a caution restart. On the 23rd lap VonDohren showed that he had not forgotten how to get around Grandview as he took the lead and went on to win the $2,200 first place money. Chip Slocum (Ewing Township, NJ), who had been in the thick of the battle for the final ten laps, finished second followed by Jeff Strunk, Keith Brightbill (Sinking Spring) and Ray Swinehart (Bechtelsville). The 20-lapper for Exide ShorTrack Late Models saw Randy Stoudt (Pottstown) take the early lead and set the pace for 14 laps. On the 15th circuit of the one-third-mile clay oval Rick Todorow put his Juniper Auto Care/Auto Body entry in front of the pack. Stoudt (no relation to the new champion) came back to challenge Todorow but at the end Stoudt had too little and was a little too late as Rick Todorow won his first of the season. Stoudt finished a close second followed by Ed Trimbur (Eagleville), Bill Henning (Lansdale) and Dean Stoudt (East Greenville). Kyle Pensinger, challenged Stoudt for the title, finished sixth. The second 30-lap feature for the NASCAR Modifieds had Rick Schaffer (Woxall) in front at the start and setting the pace for the 30 car starting field for 11 laps. Randy Bailey (supposedly retired as a driver) came on strong to grab the top spot in brother Dennis Bailey's second car. Bailey held command with Meme DeSantis, Jon Kellner and Jeff Strunk on his heels. At the 25 lap mark DeSantis was able to scoot past Bailey and take the lead. Once in front DeSantis had his hands full holding off the Bailey to grab his third win of the season. In victory lane DeSantis dedicated his win to crew member "Moose" who was missing from the night's action because of illness. Second spot went to Randy Bailey (Kutztown) followed by Jeff Strunk, Jon Kellner (Lansdale) and Craig VonDohren. Qualifying heat wins for the more than 60 modifieds on hand went to Doug Manmiller, Kerry Kratz, Donny Erb, Rick Schaffer and Randy Bailey. The consolation race wins were taken by Kenny Gilmore, Sam Martz and Danny Erb. Doug Manmiller won the Cash Dash worth $400. For the Exide ShorTrack Late Model racers the qualifying event wins went to Randy Stoudt, Ed Trimbur and Sam Schlosberg. John Giesler won the consolation. Marking his fifth decade of late model stock car racing C.C.Lick, who ended his career a number of years back because of a racing accident, brought out the #13 late model and made an attempt to qualify for the feature race. Stock car racing returns to the Grandview Speedway on Saturday, September 9 with the running of the 30th annual T.H. Properties Freedom 76 Modified Classic with $20,000 going to the winner. Many of the top names in dirt track modified racing are expected including five time winner Billy Pauch, Duane Howard, Craig VonDohren, Jeff Strunk, Terry Meitzler and a host of others. Last year more than 90 modifieds were on hand. Racing starts at 7 p.m. At 3 p.m. there will be activities for the kids including facepainting, fingerprinting, the Moon Bounce and clowns. For young and old there will be autograph sessions and driver interviews. And the Stacy Miller Charity Auction will give attendees a chance to bid on a variety of items including driver uniforms from Steve Grissom, Andy Belmont and Glenn Fitzcharles. There will be hoods, fenders and side panels of race cars including one from Kenny Brightbill, Blaise Alexander, Ward Burton and Bobby Allison. Dozens of items will be auctioned off to raise money for Stacy Miller, a young lady left blind by a Fourth of July celebration firecracker accident. Information on the auction may be had by telephoning Ernie Saxton at 215-752.7797 or 215.752.2392. For race information telephone 610.754.7688 or visit their website at Grandview Speedway is located on Passmore Road, just off Route 100 in Bechtelsville, PA., 10 miles north of Pottstown.

NASCAR WEEKLY RACING SERIES MODIFIED 30 LAP FEATURE - TOP TWENTY- VonDohren, Slocum, Jeff Strunk, Brightbill, Swinehart, Donny Erb, Jon Kellner, Terry Meitzler, Kerry Kratz, Tom Mayberry, Dave Faust, Meme DeSantis, Randy Bailey, Rick Schaffer, Kenny Gilmore, Ed Aikin, Kevin Hartnett, Sam Schoenly and Doug Manmiller.

NASCAR EXIDE SHORTRACK LATE MODEL 20-LAP FEATURE - TOP TWENTY - Todorow, Randy Stoudt, Trimbur, Henning, Dean Stoudt, Kyle Pensinger, Chuck Sennott, Lou Egrie, Casey Ebright, Terry Snyder, Dallas Breidenbach, Jim Stoudt, Chris Wojnar, Mike Erb, John Giesler, Mike Bedell, Bobby Wyatt, Bryan Follin, John Durling, Ted Szymborski.

NASCAR WEEKLY RACING SERIES MODIFIED SECOND 30-LAP FEATURE - TOP TWENTY - DeSantis, Randy Bailey, Jeff Strunk, Jon Kellner, VonDohren, Terry Meitzler, Ray Swinehart, Kenny Gilmore, Rick Schaffer, Dave Faust, Donny Erb, Glenn Strunk, Kevin Hartnett, Smokey Warren, Chip Slocum, Doug Manmiller, Jack Hartnett, Tracy Readinger, Sam Schoenly, Dennis Bailey.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Ward Burton , Blaise Alexander , Andy Belmont , Steve Grissom , Bobby Allison , Billy Pauch