Grandview Speedway results 2003-09-06

Grandview Speedway results 2003-09-06
Sep 7, 2003, 11:48 PM

BECHTELSVILLE, PA September 6, 2003 . . . Three feature races and three different winners was the story at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. Young Ryan Watt of Phoenixville, PA wheeled the Knauer Bros. Garage ...

BECHTELSVILLE, PA September 6, 2003 . . . Three feature races and three different winners was the story at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. Young Ryan Watt of Phoenixville, PA wheeled the Knauer Bros. Garage #14W to victory, his first career win, in the first 20-lap feature for the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series Modifieds. In the 20-lapper for NASCAR Late Models Chuck Schutz of Pottstown drove the Total Rentals #1 to his fourth win of the season. And in the finale of the BPG Racing/Chad Sinon Motorsports Night Tom Mayberry of Sellersville took the Ray Swinehart owned Jerry Dames Chevy #33T to a victory, his first since September, 2001, in the 20-lap NASCAR Modified feature race.

Danny Erb was quick away from the starting line for the 29 car starting field in the first 20-lapper for NASCAR Modifieds. Ryan Watt moved up to challenge the leader with just four laps in the record book and two on track incidents had put Shawn Reimert and Terry Meitzler out of action. At the 5 lap marker Danny Erb got high and Watt took advantage of the opportunity to move in front of the field. Meme DeSantis, the point leader, was involved in a "minor tangle" with Erb midway through the event sending him to the back of the pack.

Watt was able to hold on for his first career victory while Kevin Hartnett (Perkasie) who had challenged him for the top spot for much of the second half of the feature had to settle for second. Third spot went Jeff Strunk (Bethel) followed by Kenny Gilmore (Fleetwood) and Mike Gular (Harleysville).

In the 20-lapper for the Late Model stock cars Mike Wunderlich was quick to take command of things and set the pace. The rookie racer was able to keep charge until the eighth circuit of the one-third-mile clay oval when Chuck Schutz, who had charged up from 11th starting spot, moved in front. And once in front there just was no one who could Schutz down as he rode to a comfortable win, his fourth of the season. Second spot went to Randy Stoudt (Pottstown) who came up from 17th starting spot. In third was Junior Grebe (Boyertown) and Wunderlich (Hatfield) finished in fourth while former champion John Durling (Reading) earned a fifth place finish. It just was not point leader Meme DeSantis' night as he tangled with two other competitors on the first lap and had to go to the back of the pack, giving up a fifth place starting position. On the restart, actually the first lap, Tom Mayberry came from 6th to take the top spot with Kevin Hirthler close behind. For much of the first half it was the Mayberry and Hirthler show with Jeff Strunk in third. At the 14 lap mark Strunk was able to get by Hirthler and start his chase to the leader. Despite several restarts because of cautions Mayberry was able to hold on to the top spot and ride to victory, a very popular win with the fans. Second went to Strunk (Bethel) followed by Kevin Hirthler (Green Lane), Jon Kellner (Lansdale) and Craig VonDohren ( Oley).

DeSantis, with an 11th and a 14th place finish was able to hold on to his championship chase point lead with a 13 point edge, unofficially, over Jeff Strunk. However in the chase for the $45,000 NASCAR New England Regional title things may be different. Official standings will not be available until Tuesday (September 9). There is just one more point race remaining at Grandview Speedway.

With close to 60 modifieds in the pits qualifying event wins went to Danny Erb, Doug Manmiller, Jeff Strunk, Terry Meitzler and Mike Gular. The consolation races were won by Kevin Hirthler, Tom Mayberry and Kerry Kratz. Taking the win in the $500 to win Cash Dash was Terry Meitzler. Qualifying heat races for the Late Models were won Chuck Schutz, John Durling and Doug Walton. The consolation race went to Steve Sennott who had won the feature the previous week.

The T.H.Properties Freedom 76 Modified Classic, paying at least $20,000 (plus a share of more than $1300 in lap sponsorship money) to the winner, will be the attraction at Grandview Speedway on Saturday, September 13th at 7 p.m. Many of the best talents in area dirt track modified stock car racing will be in action.

Pre-race activities will start at 3 p.m. Included will be autographs, interviews and race car displays. Rain date is Sunday, September 14th, 7 p.m. The final point race events will take place on Saturday, September 20th, 7 p.m. when Arctic Cat/Rossi Welding Night is presented. At least 13 events of NASCAR stock car racing will be featured. This will be the night when the NASCAR track championships will be decided and we'll find out if a Grandview Speedway driver is able to win the New England Regional title worth $45,000.

Grandview Speedway is located on Passmore Road, just off Route 100, in Bechtelsville, PA ten miles north of Pottstown. For information telephone 610.754.7688 or visit their website at

BPG RACING/CHAD SINON MOTORSPORTS 20-LAP NASCAR MODIFIED FEATURE:Ryan Watt, Kevin Hartnett, Jeff Strunk, Kenny Gilmore, Mike Gular, Craig VonDohren, Jon Kellner, Cliff Quinn, Kevin Hirthler, Tom Mayberry, Meme DeSantis, Mike Bailey, Ken Lindaberry, Ray Swinehat, Rick Schaffer, Doug Manmiller, Randy Bailey, Tracy Readinger, Kerry Kratz, Ed Scott, Ryan Beltz, Rich Wisdo, Jon Kellner Jr., Tom Pompei, Craig Whitmoyer, Steve Swinehart, Danny Erb, Terry Meitzler, Shawn Reimer

BPG RACING/CHAD SINON MOTORSPORTS 20-LAP NASCAR MODIFIED FEATURE:Tom Mayberry, Jeff Strunk, Kevin Hirthler, Jon Kellner, Craig VonDohren, Kevin Hartnett, Mike Gular, Kenny Gilmore, Terry Meitzler, Cliff Quinn, Randy Bailey, Ryan Watt, Tracy Readinger, Meme DeSantis, Jon Kellner, Jr., Mike Bailey, Rich Wisdo, Shawn Reimert, Craig Whitmoyer, Ed Scott, Jason Smythe, Kerry Kratz, Ryan Beltz, Danny Erb, Tom Pompei, Rick Schaffer, Ray Swinehart, Ken Lindaberry

BPG RACING/CHAD SINON MOTORSPORTS 20-LAP NASCAR LATE MODEL FEAUTRE:Chuck Schutz, Randy Stoudt, Junior Grebe, Mike Wunderlich, John Durling, Doug Walton, Chris Shuey, Terry Snyder, Lou Egrie, Jason Miller, Dean Stoudt, Dean Schaeffer, Bill Henning, Kelly Snyder, Larry Dise, Bill May, Ron Chrisman, Steve Sennott, Steve Todorow, Steve Weikel, John Giesler, Buddy Wharton, Brian Shuey, Rick Todorow, Sam Schlosberg, Dallas Breidenbach.


Next NASCAR article
SWS: Penalty to Robertson modified by NASCAR

Previous article

SWS: Penalty to Robertson modified by NASCAR

Next article

Cajon Speedway standings 2003-09-06

Cajon Speedway standings 2003-09-06
Load comments

About this article

Drivers Jason Miller
Article type News