Grandview Speedway results 2002-08-31

Schaffer and Todorow win NASCAR features at Grandview. BECHTELSVILLE, PA AUGUST 31, 2002 . . . For the first time in more than two years Rick Schaffer was able to take his C&C Ford/BLC Motorsports ...

Schaffer and Todorow win NASCAR features at Grandview.

BECHTELSVILLE, PA AUGUST 31, 2002 . . . For the first time in more than two years Rick Schaffer was able to take his C&C Ford/BLC Motorsports #77 modified to victory lane at Grandview Speedway on Saturday night. The win in the Kreiser Racing Fuels 30-lap NASCAR Modified feature race, worth $2,200, moved the veteran racer back to the top spot in the all time modified win column as he tabbed his 48th career victory at the Berks County clay oval. The 20-lap feature for NASCAR ShorTrack Late Models was won by Rick Todorow. It was the second time this season that Todorow was able to put his Juniper Auto Body entry in victory lane.

Steve Swinehart put his J&L Speed Equipment #33m in front of the 29-car starting field at the drop of the green. The rookie racer was able to hold on to the top spot for six laps before Rick Schaffer, coming from sixth starting spot, was able to challenge the young racer and then take over the lead on the seventh circuit of the one-third-mile oval. Once in front Schaffer had to survive several cautions and hold off a strong late race challenge by Jeff Strunk to claim the win, his first of the season.

In victory lane an emotional Schaffer (Woxall) thanked a large number of people, including crew, Bud and Lisa Stone (car owners), his sponsors and others. He also remembered long time track employee Jerry Glase who is facing some serious health problems and was missing his first night of racing in a long time.

Second spot went to Strunk (Bethel) and that finish wrapped up a second NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge Modified championship for the Cummins/T.H.Properties sponsored #W9 team. Strunk also won the title in 2000.

Ray Swinehart (Bechtelsville), a two time champion, finished a strong third followed by Craig VonDohren (Oley) who had made a pit stop early in the race and came back from last position to finish fourth. Keith Brightbill (Mohnton) was fifth.

During the Modified feature race Cliff Quinn was involved in a spectacular flip on the front straightaway the virtually destroyed his race car. The Coopersburg, PA racer was not injured but was badly shaken. Mike Steinmetz had his TV51 entry in front of the pack at the start and set the pace for three laps before Bill Henning put his WNPV-AM Radio #80 in front. At the 11 lap mark Rick Todorow (Quakertown) was able to grab the lead in a chase down the main straightaway on a restart after a caution. Once in front Todorow had a fairly easy time of it in the caution marred 20 lapper. Second spot went to defending champion John Durling (Reading) with Chuck Schutz coming on strong in the final laps to claim third. Lou Egrie (Huntington Valley) finished fourth. The former champion has taken over the point chase lead in the Late Model division. Fifth spot was earned by John Giesler (Aston).

The heartbreak award would have to go to Randy Stoudt who spun on the ninth lap and restarted in 23rd spot. Stoudt, the point leader in the Late Model chase going into the night's events, was able to charge back to second spot was challenging for the lead late in the race when a left rear tire failed forcing him from competition. Stoudt had also been the leader in the NASCAR New England ShorTrack division point chase. Qualifying heat races for the close to 60 Modifieds on hand went to Cliff Quinn,

Ray Swinehart, Craig VonDohren, Jon Kellner and Randy Bailey. The consolation races were won by Kerry Kratz, Kevin Hartnett and Ron Seltmann Jr. And the Automotive Machining Services Cash Dash went to Craig VonDohren worth $420.

In qualifying events for the Late Models victories were earned by John Durling, Bill Henning and Lou Egrie while Jim Stong took honors in the consolation race.

This Saturday night, 7:30 p.m. the final point races of the season are presented with sponsorship of the night coming from True Value Hardware. There will be at least 12 events of stock car racing for the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge Modifieds and Late Models. The champions in both divisions will be decided during the evening.

On Thursday, September 12, 8 a.m. the T.H.Properties Freedom 76 Golf Classic is presented at the Gilbertsville, PA Golf Course. Racers, officials, sponsors, and media participate in the event which includes, of course, golf, refreshments, dinner and a special event shirt all for $65.00.

Saturday, September 14th, 7 p.m. the T.H.Properties Freedom 76 Modified Classic is presented with $20,000 waiting for the winner of this 32nd annual event. 40 cars will start the feature race. There will be a full series of qualifying events, the Schaeffer Motorsport's Minuteman 20, the Cheers Tavern Cash Dash (paying $1,000 to win) topped by the feature event. A stunning fireworks display will start the feature race. Pre-race activities, including music, autographs, interviews, finger printing and face painting plus more will start at 3 p.m.

Admission for the T.H. Properties Freedom 76 is $20.00 for adults, $5.00 for youngsters 6-11 and those under 6 are admitted free with a paying adult. Pit admission is $30.00 and there is no NASCAR license required. Gates will open at 1:30 p.m. except for advance ticket holders who are admitted 30 minutes earlier.

Grandview Speedway is located on Passmore Road, just off Route 100 in Bechtelsville, PA, 10 miles north of Pottstown. For information telephone 610.754.7688 or visit their website at

KREISER RACING FUELS 30-LAP NASCAR MODIFIED FEATURE RACE: Rick Schaffer, Jeff Strunk, Ray Swinehart, Craig VonDohren, Keith Brightbill, Steve Swinehart, Kerry Kratz, Kenny Gilmore, Jon Kellner, Kevin Hartnett, Doug Manmiller, Donny Erb, Barry Readinger, Ken Lindaberry, Junior Mikosz, Glenn Strunk, Todd Heydt, Ron Solomon, John Williman, Cliff Quinn, Randy Bailey, Ron Seltmann Jr., Randy Stoudt, Danny Erb, Ryan Watt, Shawn Reimert, Mike Gular, Warren Kohler.

KRESER RACING FUELS 20-LAP NASCAR LATE MODEL FEATURE RACE: Rick Todorow, John Durling, Chuck Schutz, Lou Egrie, John Giesler, Doug Walton, Mike Steinmetz, Jason Miller, Ron Kline, Steve Sennott, Dean Stoudt, Buddy Wharton, Dean Schaeffer, Kelly Snyder, Mike Erb, Ron Chrisman, Jim Stong, Randy Stoudt, Terry Snyder, Bill Henning, Dallas Breidenbach, Ray Mancinelli, John Mutter, Lee Miller, Steve Todorow, Sam Schlosberg.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Jason Miller