Grandview Speedway results 2000-08-05

BECHTELSVILLE, PA AUGUST 5, 2000 . . . The chase for the lucrative point titles at Grandview Speedway got a lot tighter on Saturday night when Jeff Strunk won the 30th annual Kenworth Cummins Forrest Rogers Memorial 50-lap championship race for...

BECHTELSVILLE, PA AUGUST 5, 2000 . . . The chase for the lucrative point titles at Grandview Speedway got a lot tighter on Saturday night when Jeff Strunk won the 30th annual Kenworth Cummins Forrest Rogers Memorial 50-lap championship race for NASCAR Modifieds. A huge crowd was on hand. Strunk, who had not won the race since 1990, was at the wheel of the Keith Harring owned Kenworth Cummins sponsored entry claiming $10,000 for his 50 trips around the Berks County one-third-mile, clay oval. With his victory, and point leader Terry Meitzler having early race problems forcing him out of competition, the Bethel, PA racing talent was able to close within 20 points of Meitzler in the chase for the lucrative Grandview Speedway NASCAR Modified championship. And in the Motor Truck Equipment Co. Kenworth Cummins NASCAR PA Modified Championship Series (Big Diamond and Grandview) Strunk is just 90 points behind Meitzler in the chase for the $15,000 champions money. Strunk won it last year. The chase for the championships comes to an end on September 2 at Grandview Speedway. In the companion 20-lap feature for Exide ShorTrack Late Models the win went to Ed Trimbur of Eagleville, PA for the second time this season. The Forrest Rogers Memorial, with 35 cars starting, saw Barry Readinger get the first lap lead and set the pace until the 16th lap when Sam Schoenly was able to take the top spot. At the 13th lap point leader Terry Meitzler was in the pits with a flat tire returning to start at the back of the pack. On the 24th lap Jon Kellner, after battling Schoenly for several laps got the top spot with Meme DeSantis trying to take over first. Terry Meitzler took his #21A Meitzler Excavating machine to the pits with a fuel leak at the midway point...out for the night. With 29th laps in the books Kellner and DeSantis bumped coming down the main straightway and the "bump" was enough to bounce DeSantis into the wall and out of the race. On the 30th circuit of the clay oval Kellner and Jeff Strunk (having come from 16th starting spot) were in a dramatic duel for the top spot. And it was just one lap later that Strunk was able to take the lead and set the pace for the balance of the event. Jon Kellner continued to put pressure on Strunk as did Kenny Gilmore. Shawn Reimert was also in the thick of the chase with Kerry Kratz filling out the top five. With four laps left in the chase for the $10,000, Cliff Quinn hit the wall coming off the fourth turn and skidded to the edge of the infield. The caution was out and fans got to see an old fashioned, "let's get ready to rumble" type finish. On the restart Jeff Strunk jumped out front, Kenny Gilmore (Fleetwood) was on his rear bumper and Jon Kellner (Lansdale) was measuring them both for a strong finishing effort. Kerry Kratz (Bechtelsville) made a strong move to fourth while Shawn Reimert (Oley), with the leaders all night, was in fifth and that was the way they ran for the final four laps. Strunk, in victory lane, gave a lot of credit to his pit crew, family, sponsors and car owner Keith Harring for the victory. And he had nice things to say about the way Kenny Gilmore and Jon Kellner raced him in the final laps. The Timber Wolf Smokeless Tobacco Hard Charger Award, worth $200, (unofficially) went to Ray Swinehart who started 29th and finished 7th. Also impressive was Doug Manmiller who came from 27th starting spot to finish sixth. The Exide ShorTrack Late Model 20 lap feature took four starts to get the first lap in the record book with Dodge powered Bill Henning grabbing the top spot. However Ed Trimbur (Eagleville) brought his Raus Transport/Extreme Graphics entry to the front of the pack on the second lap and that is where he stayed for the balance of the race. Rick Todorow (Quakertown) made a strong showing in the closing laps to grab second. Third spot went to current point leader Kyle Pensinger (Lyons) followed by John Durling (Reading) and Dean Stoudt (East Greenville). The feature win was worth an extra $150 to Trimbur due to some generous fans in the stands. Qualifying events for the close to 70 NASCAR Modifieds on hand saw wins going to Craig VonDohren, Barry Readinger, Meme DeSantis, Shawn Reimert, Todd Marburger and Terry Meitzler. Consolation events were won by Doug Manmiller, Hal Renninger and Cliff Quinn. Terry Meitzler won the Cash Dash worth $620. Rich Wisdo got the $50.00 Kochel Equipment First Alternate Award. The late model qualifying events were won by Randy Stoudt, Bill Henning and Casey Ebright. Mike Bedell won the consolation race. The NASCAR Modifieds and Exide ShorTrack Late Models will be back in action on Saturday, August 12 at 7:30 p.m. This will be the completion of a Sunday, July 30th rainout program. At least 11 events of racing will be presented. There is always a Sunday, 7 p.m. rain date in place. And on Thursday, August 17th the CARQUEST Traffic Jam 100 for DIRT Super Series Modifieds will be presented. Many of the top names dirt track modified racing will see action with $6,000 offered to the winner. Grandview Speedway is located on Passmore Road, just off Route 100, in Bechtelsville, PA, 10 miles north of Pottstown. For information telephone 610.754.7688 or visit their website at

<pre> KENWORTH CUMMINS 30TH ANNUAL FORREST ROGERS MEMORIAL 50-LAP MODIFIED CHAMPIONSHIP (TOP TWENTY)...Jeff Strunk, Kenny Gilmore, Jon Kellner, Kerry Kratz, Shawn Reimert, Doug Manmiller, Ray Swinehart, Craig VonDohren, Dennis Bailey, Tom Mayberry, Sam Schoenly, Kenny Gruber, SMokey Warren, Doug Pannepacker, Barry Readinger, Glenn Strunk, Robin Johnson, Hal Renninger, CLiff Quinn, Randy Stoudt KENWORTH CUMMINS EXIDE SHORTRACK LATE MODEL FEATURE - 20 LAPS - (TOP 16 FINISHERS)..Ed Trimbur, Rick Todorow, Kyle Pensinger, John Durling, Dean Stoudt, Lou Egrie, Bill Henning, Chuck Sennott, Casey Ebright, Doug Walton, John Giesler, Randy Stoudt, Mike Erb, Bryan Follin, Jim Stoudt, Chris Wojnar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article