Grandview Speedway awards banquet report

Vondohren And Durling Reap Awards At Grandview Speedway Banquet BECHTELSVILLE, PA NOVEMBER 17, 2001 . . . With more than 500 racers, fans, sponsors, officials and media in attendance Grandview Speedway management honored Craig VonDohren as the...

Vondohren And Durling Reap Awards At Grandview Speedway Banquet

BECHTELSVILLE, PA NOVEMBER 17, 2001 . . . With more than 500 racers, fans, sponsors, officials and media in attendance Grandview Speedway management honored Craig VonDohren as the NASCAR Modified champion for 2001, his fifth track title, on Saturday at the Gilbertsville, PA Fire Hall. John Durling took home cash and awards as NASCAR Late Model champion for the first time in his career.

VonDohren's car owner, Buddy Biever and BRB Racing, was honored as car owner champion with their #114 Mrs T's Pierogies entry. Bill and Kay Wharton also were honored as car owner champions fielding the Bill's Remodeling/A.W.Golden Auto Dealerships #7 late model for Durling.

Each team received a variety of awards including huge trophies, championship rings,champion's jackets, photos courtesy of Don Marks, point fund money from the track and NASCAR plus other perks. Grandview Speedway offers racers the opportunity to share in two separate point funds.

VonDohren and BRB Racing each received $5,000 for their championship efforts from the speedway. In addition the team shared cash awards from the NASCAR track point fund (about $2,600) and a generous check from NASCAR for the team's third place finish in the New England Regional point chase (more than $15,000). A custom designed championship ring, valued at more than $1,000, was also presented to VonDohren. In addition VonDohren and a guest will be part of the Champion's Trip presented each year to the NASCAR Modified champion. This year the trip was to have been to the Dominican Republic but due to the current world unrest, the trip, scheduled for November 24, has been postponed and will be rescheduled. The trip is worth in excess of $3,000. More than 40 fans, officials and others were scheduled to make the trip.

The top twenty drivers and top ten owners in each division received trophies for their season efforts while the top ten drivers and top five car owners shared in track and NASCAR point fund money.

Bob Duval, representing the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series, presented awards, on behalf of NASCAR, to top three in the NASCAR Modified division. Included, in order, were Craig VonDohren, Jeff Strunk and Meme Desantis. John Durling received a Shortrack Division award for finishing seventh in the New England Region.

True Value and NASCAR presented NASCAR Weekly Racing Series awards to the top three in the Late Model division, in order, John Durling, Lou Egrie and Dean Stoudt.

The True Value Mechanic of the Year Awards went to Stanley Swinehart as the Modified Mechanic of the Year in the New England Region and Ken Sandman earned the Grandview Speedway Mechanic of the Year Award for Late Models.

Swinehart also received $1,500 and a trip for two to Orlando to attend the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Award Banquet. "We, my wife and me, were treated like gold by NASCAR in Orlando," said Swinehart.

Duval also announced that Dodge would be the new presenting sponsor of the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series which encompasses 92 tracks around the nation including Grandview Speedway. He also told attendees of other sponsorship programs being put in place by NASCAR.

Master of Ceremonies Ernie Saxton, track announcer and marketing director, announced that T.H. Properties, one of the largest home developers in the East, would return as sponsor of the T.H. Properties Freedom 76 Modified Classic. Stauffer Construction of Boyertown, PA was announced as a new sponsor of the prestigious Forrest Rogers Memorial NASCAR Modified event.

Special awards were presented to T.H. Properties and Emma Schnable, who handles sponsor relations at the speedway.

Several members of the media received special appreciation awards (which included Grandview Speedway watches and Grandview Speedway travel mugs) as did the tow and push truck operators.

In the NASCAR Late Model division additional awards went to:

* Rookie of the Year - Jason Miller

* Outstanding Newcomer - Steve Todorow

* Most Improved Driver - Chris Wojnar

* Hard Luck Award - Mike Bernhard

* Sportsmanship Award - Terry Snyder

* Best Appearing Car Award - Kyle Pensinger #28P

* Best Appearing Crew - Chuck Sennott #61 Crew - the crew was on hand dressed in their crew shirts to remember Sennott who was fatally injured in an accident at Delaware International Speedway. Photographer Don Marks presented Chuck's son, Steve, with a beautiful composite framed photograph of his dad. The crew got a standing ovation.

In the NASCAR Modified division special awards were presented to:

* Rookie of the Year - Steve Swinehart

* Outstanding Newcomer - Ryan Watt

* Most Improved Driver - Mike Gular

* Hard Luck Award - Kerry Kratz

* Sportsmanship - Rick Schaffer

* Best Appearing Car - Mike Kelly/Tom Mayberry

* Best Appearing Crew - Keith Brightbill #14 team

Veteran modified racer Chip Slocum announced his retirement as a driver and received a standing ovation from the crowd. Slocum was a very popular racer at the Grandview oval.

Grandview Speedway's opening dates for 2002 were announced with the annual practice day set for March 30 and the opening of the NASCAR Modified and Late Model season scheduled for April 6.

1. Craig VonDohren, Oley, PA.............4649
2. Jeff Strunk, Bethel, PA...............4110
3. Meme DeSantis, Temple, PA.............4044
4. Doug Manmiller, Sinking Spring, PA....3677
5. Terry Meitzler, Kutztown, PA..........3659
6. Ray Swinehart, Bechtelsville, PA......3433
7. Chip Slocum, Ewing Township, NJ.......3106
8. John Kellner, Lansdale, PA............3012
9. Tom Mayberry, Sellersville, PA........2975
10.Keith Brightbill, Birdsboro, PA.......2903

1. John Durling, Reading, PA.............4249
2. Lou Egrie, Philadelphia, PA...........4009
3. Dean Stoudt, East Greenville, PA......3924
4. Kyle Pensinger, Lyon Station, PA......3904
5. Sam Schlosberg, East Greenville, PA...3844
6. Chuck Sennott, Gilbertsville, PA......3785
7. Jason Miller, New Tripoli, PA.........3751
8. Rick Todorow, Quakertown, PA..........3718
9. Chuck Schutz, Pottstown, PA...........3583
10.Ed Trimbur, Eagleville, PA............3550


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Jason Miller , Mike Kelly