Cajon Speedway point standings prior to May 12th event

<pre> BOMBER POINT LEAD UP FOR GRABS Next event: May 12, 2001 CAJON SPEEDWAY NASCAR WEEKLY RACING SERIES POINT STANDINGS LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN 1 Mike Mendenhall Santee 1 win 161 2 Ron Overman Lakeside 1...

<pre> BOMBER POINT LEAD UP FOR GRABS Next event: May 12, 2001


LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN 1 Mike Mendenhall Santee 1 win 161 2 Ron Overman Lakeside 1 win 151 3 Todd McLauchlan Alpine 123 4 Jerry Gay San Diego 86 5 Jack Lee Vista 80 6 Stephen Peace El Cajon 76 7 Wayne Morse Alpine 74 8 Dee Cable Santee 72 9 Danny Gay Lakeside 64 10 Jeff Seifert Jamul 63

GRAND AMERICAN MODIFIED 1 Scott Brown Spring Valley 1 win 64 2 Mike Salm Fallbrook 59 3 Douglas Carpenter La Mesa 51 4 Mike Jackson Bonita 46 5 Stan Perkins Spring Valley 42 6 Paul Brunette Spring Valley 40 7 Ron Brown San Diego 38 8 Carol Kirby Williams San Diego 37 9 Dave Williams Escondido 36 10 Billy Cable Santee 0

STREET STOCK 1 Rick Hagen Alpine 213 2 Rich Green Jr. El Cajon 204 3 Charles Nevin El Cajon 158 4 Scott Moses Chula Vista 155 5 Scott Holmberg San Diego 2 wins 150 6 Rob Overman El Cajon 146 7 Brian Collins Encinitas 144 8 Frank Stielau El Cajon 128 9 Dave Arce Santee 126 10 Neil Rodvold Lakeside 114

PONY STOCK 1 Ed Hale El Cajon 1 win 254 2 Andy Papp La Mesa 186 3 Mike Weimann Temecula 177 4 Neil Rodvold Lakeside 166 5 Marty Schmidt El Cajon 162 6 Douglas Wright Jr. Rancho SD 1 win 153 7 Ken Wikoren El Cajon 1 win 131 8 Jimmy Kyte El Cajon 121 9 George Behlman Santee 109 10 Debi Urioste Poway 108

BOMBER STOCK 1 Randy Wallace El Cajon 1 win 147 2 Bob Wickey Spring Valley 138 3 Mark Holland San Diego 125 4 Eric Seene Santee 120 5 Greg McCown El Cajon 92 6 Joey Schneider Escondido 86 7 Marty Lehrke San Diego 83 8 Chris Boyer San Diego 82 9 Bill Holland El Cajon 81 10 Scott Denton Fallbrook 74

</pre> EL CAJON, CA. At first glance, it would appear the battle for supremacy in the bomber stocks at Cajon Speedway in 2001 could boil down to a tussle between the past two champions.

Pat Garity, the defending kingpin, won the opening race on April 14. Randy Wallace, who prevailed in 1999, won a thriller two weeks ago. But neither driver intends to be in the hunt for the first championship of the new millennium.

In fact, Garity didn't bring his car out for the second race of the season. And Wallace doesn't intend to be behind the wheel of his Chevelle when the division returns to action at Cajon Speedway this weekend.

The late model sportsman, street stocks, pony stocks, and Allison legacy cars will join the bombers on another busy evening Saturday night in the El Cajon Valley on the 3/8-mile paved oval. Race time for the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series is 6:45 PM. Qualifying runs will be pushed off at 5:15.

Garity's failure to show two weeks ago was intentional even though he had a rough opener. His main event victory came after a jarring accident during hot laps. Then after his crew did some quick work to get him back on the track, the throttle hung open during the heat race and he smacked the wall. The crew went back to work and had him ready for the finale. In the feature he came from 16th, took the lap six laps from the finish, and was six lengths in front when the checkered flag fell after 20-laps. Garity was ready to go again two weeks ago, but he doesn't want to get involved in the pressure of a point's race.

Such is also the case for Wallace. His triumph two weeks ago came after he dipped underneath Mark Holland in the final turn after storming from the 14th starting position. Wallace will be sitting on the sidelines this time around even his car will be in action.

"Jay (McKellep) will be driving the car," Wallace said in victory lane two weeks ago. "These guys (my crew) have been with me for ten years. They deserve a piece of this. I have the garage and they have the know-how. They are the Goodwrench guys. So let them roll."

Wallace leads the points chase. Garity led after the first race, but has already dropped out of the top ten. Bob Wickey sits second in the bomber points. So the Spring Valley driver who took divisional honors back in 1988 and 1999 is the heir apparent to the bomber standings points lead. But Mark Holland, last year's runner-up, can't be counted out. Neither can the likes of Eric Seene, Chris Boyer, Greg McCown, and Marty Lehrke.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Scott Brown
Teams Williams