Cajon Speedway point standings and news 2001-08-05

<pre> CAJON SPEEDWAY NASCAR WEEKLY RACING SERIES POINT STANDINGS LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN 1 Ron Overman Lakeside 4 wins 882 2 Todd McLauchlan Alpine 2 wins 868 3 Mike Mendenhall Santee 3 wins ...


LATE MODEL SPORTSMAN 1 Ron Overman Lakeside 4 wins 882 2 Todd McLauchlan Alpine 2 wins 868 3 Mike Mendenhall Santee 3 wins 847 4 Jerry Gay San Diego 1 win 738 5 Danny Gay Lakeside 1 win 690 6 John Manke Ramona 3 wins 558 7 Dee Cable Santee 462 8 Wayne Morse Alpine 390 9 David Arzola San Diego 374 10 Jeff Seifert Jamul 294

GRAND AMERICAN MODIFIED 1 Scott Brown Spring Valley 3 wins 452 2 Mike Salm Fallbrook 3 wins 441 3 Ron Brown San Diego 1 win 408 4 Mike Jackson Bonita 338 5 Doug Carpenter La Mesa 312 6 Dave Williams Escondido 278 7 Carol Kirby Williams San Dgo 236 8 Paul Brunette Spring Valley 184 9 Stan Perkins Spring Valley 144 10 Steve Lloyd Encinitas 138

STREET STOCK 1 Rich Green Jr. El Cajon 3 wins 983 2 Rick Hagen Alpine 3 wins 754 3 Brian Collins Oceanside 1 win 667 4 Richard Hinze Lakeside 1 win 611 5 Rob Overman El Cajon 544 6 Rob Freeman Santee 1 win 536 7 Scott Moses Chula Vista 522 8 Neil Rodvold Lakeside 502 9 Randy Buell San Diego 444 10 Todd Phelps El Cajon 389

PONY STOCK 1 Ed Hale El Cajon 5 wins 861 2 Andy Papp La Mesa 1 win 804 3 Douglas Wright Jr. Rancho SD 4 wins 748 4 Mike Weimann Temecula 747 5 Marty Schmidt El Cajon 584 6 Kenny Hall Lakeside 474 7 Ken Wikoren El Cajon 1 win 456 8 Debi Urioste Poway 384 9 Victor Clark Lakeside 365 10 George Behlman Santee 328

BOMBER STOCK 1 Mark Holland San Diego 809 2 Bob Wickey Spring Valley 2 wins 801 3 Eric Seene Santee 576 4 Marty Lehrke San Diego 553 5 Jeff Coskey Santee 1 win 518 6 Pat Garity El Cajon 4 wins 510 7 Bill Holland El Cajon 1 win 488 8 Randy Wallace El Cajon 3 wins 467 9 Scott Denton Fallbrook 431 10 Joey Schneider Escondido 416

</pre> EL CAJON, CA. The Mechanix Wear Speed Trucks are coming back to town this Saturday night at Cajon Speedway.

This will mark the fourth and final visit of the season to the 3/8-mile paved oval for the "spec truck" class. Race time is 6:45 PM. Qualifying runs will start at 5:15 PM. The drivers will take to the pavement for their practice sessions at 4:00.

Sharing the billing on the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series card will be the local Grand American modifieds, pony stocks, and bomber stocks. The Allison Legacy cars will make their fifth of six appearances this season.

The Speed Trucks will feature a 50-lap main event. Twenty lap contests are on tap for the other four divisions.

So far this year Chris Hines of Chandler, Arizona has dominated the Speed Truck action at Cajon. He won the opening two races and ran second to 18-year-old Randy Brown of Santa Fe Springs in the last outing on July 14.

Hines is a former dirt track racer from the Midwest. He also played professional rugby in England for three years while he was serving in the United States Air Force.

Brown meanwhile started his racing career at the age of 9 in quarter midgets and is a former California state champion in those cars. His Cajon victory last month was his first in the Speed Truck division. He also set fast time and won the trophy dash that night before pacing all 50-laps of the main event. He was the division's "Rookie of the Year" in 2000.

Meanwhile in the Grand American modifieds, pony, and bomber stocks, all three points races have been tightening up in recent weeks. Scott Brown is trying to fend off defending champion Mike Salm in the modifieds. In the pony stocks, Ed Hale, Mike Weimann, Andy Papp, and Douglas Wright Jr. are engaged in a fierce battle. Hale won out last year and also in 1998. In the bombers Mark Holland moved to the top rung a couple of weeks ago. But Bob Wickey, who took two divisional titles back in 1988 and 1989, hopes to regain his early season form.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR , Stock car
Drivers Scott Brown
Teams Williams