BNS: Watkins Glen fact sheet

WHAT: Little Trees 150 presented by Pepsi Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race ...

WHAT: Little Trees 150 presented by Pepsi Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race #14 of 21

WHERE: Watkins Glen International, Watkins Glen, N.Y. 2.45 mile paved road course

WHEN: Saturday, August 11, 2001

DISTANCE: 62 laps (151.9 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $234,525 (including $9,300 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 40 cars (Fastest 35 through one round of Grand American-style qualifying Two additional positions will be added as provisional starters based on the current 2001 Busch North Series driver point standings, two based on the current 2001 Busch North Series car owner point standings, and one reserved for a past Busch North Series champion, if needed).

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Watkins Glen International

TELEVISION: NBC (live) Saturday, August 12, 2 p.m.- 4 p.m.


Thursday, August 8 12:00 Noon Registration opens 1:00 to 5:00 p.m. Garage open for inspection only

Friday, August 10 9:00-11:15 a.m. Practice

1:30 p.m. Bud Pole Qualifying (pos. 1-35) Following NWC Qual Final practice

Saturday, August 11 12:00 Noon Mandatory drivers meeting 2:00 p.m. Little Trees 150 presented by Pepsi


* The Little Trees 150 presented by Pepsi is the first Busch North Series event ever carried live on national broadcast network television. Total posted awards for the Little Trees 150 presented by Pepsi ($234,525) are the largest in series history.

* In 2000, Andy Santerre became the first two-time winner of this race, taking the lead from Brad Leighton on lap 47. The race was shortened from its scheduled 62 laps to 56 laps by rain, which arrived while the field was under caution. Road racing expert Joe Varde, who also built Santerre's engine, finished second in his first Busch North Series start, with Dale Quarterley third. Leighton slipped to fourth, while Mike Olsen came from 29th on the grid to finish fifth.

* Santerre won the Bud Pole in 2000 with a track record time of 1 minute, 15.477 seconds, for a speed of 116.857 miles per hour. Watkins Glen is the only Busch North Series venue where the lap time exceeds one minute. It also has the longest lap distance (2.45 miles) and the smallest lap count (62 laps).

* Eric Bodine is entered to make his return to the Busch North Series in the Little Trees 150. Eric, the cousin of Geoff, Brett, and Todd Bodine, enjoyed his best BNS finish at the Glen in 1998, when he placed fourth. Eric's last BNS race was in 1999.

* In addition to Santerre (1996 and 2000), Busch North Series winners at the Glen have included Bobby Dragon (1993), Butch Leitzinger (1994), Joe Bessey (1995), Ted Christopher (1997), Kim Baker (1998), and Bryan Wall (1999). Only Christopher and Wall are entered for the Little Trees 150, as Santerre will assume the car owner's role for Tom Carey.

* The current Watkins Glen track was built in 1956 and heavily modified in 1971, giving the pits their current location (they had originally been between today's turn 1 and 2). The first sports car races in the U.S. after World War II were held on public roads in the Watkins Glen area in 1948, giving the Glen the title, "Home of American Road Racing." The United States Grand Prix Formula One race was held here from 1961 to 1980, and the NASCAR Winston Cup Series has made an annual visit since 1986.


The Little Trees 150 presented by Pepsi will be the 17th road race for the Busch North Series, all at either Watkins Glen or Lime Rock. Butch Leitzinger has won four, Bryan Wall three, and Ted Christopher and Andy Santerre each two. Single winners are Bobby Dragon, Ken Schrader Joe Bessey, Kim Baker, and Mike Stefanik.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Todd Bodine , Ken Schrader , Butch Leitzinger , Bryan Wall , Dale Quarterley , Joe Varde , Ted Christopher