BNS: Stafford fact sheet

<pre> 2001 BUSCH NORTH SERIES NASCAR TOURING RACE FACTS WHAT: CarQuest Auto Parts 150 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race ...


WHAT: CarQuest Auto Parts 150 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race #7 of 21

WHERE: Stafford Motor Speedway, Stafford Springs, Conn. .500 mile paved oval

WHEN: Friday, June 22, 2001

DISTANCE: 150 laps (75.0 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $73,150 (including $2,800 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 30 cars (Fastest 25 through one round of time trials, Two additional positions will be added as provisional starters based on the current 2001 Busch North Series driver point standings, two based on owner attempts during the 2001 season, and one position reserved for a former Busch North Series champion, if needed)

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Stafford Springs Enterprises, Inc..

SCHEDULE: Friday, June 2 12:00 noon Registration & Inspection 2:00 p.m. Mandatory Drivers Meeting 3:00-4:20 p.m. Practice 6:00 p.m . Bud Pole Qualifying (positions 1-25) 9:00 p.m. (approx.) CarQuest Auto Parts 150


The 2000 CarQuest Auto Parts 150 was won by Stafford Motor Speedway SK Modified champion Ted Christopher. Christopher started 20th, the deepest starting position for any Busch North Series race winner in the past three seasons. He took the lead from Brad Leighton on lap 83 and won by half a second over Dale Shaw. Tom Bolles, who led the first 25 laps, Dave Dion, and Mike Johnson completed the top five as Leighton faded to sixth. Christopher averaged 59.029 miles per hour.

Kelly Moore won the Bud Pole for the 2000 CarQuest Auto Parts 150 with a lap at 18.853 seconds, 90.666 mph, which established the current track record.

Stafford Motor Speedway has hosted 14 previous Busch North Series races, with Andy Santerre and Mike Stefanik the only two time winners. One-time victors are Tommy Houston, Mike McLaughlin, Keith Lamell, Tom Bolles, Jerry Marquis, Rick Fuller, Brad Leighton, Dennis Demers, Ted Christopher, and Mike Johnson.

Stefanik, McLaughlin, and Fuller own both Busch North Series and Featherlite Modified Series wins at Stafford.

The only Busch North Series champions to win at Stafford during their title years are Stefanik (1998) and Leighton (1999).

Like many half-mile tracks, Stafford Motor Speedway began as a fairgrounds horse track. Stock car racing began in 1948, and the track was paved in 1967.


Since the Flowmaster Star of the Race Award for position improvement became part of the Busch North Series special awards, Ted Christopher's victory in the CarQuest Auto Parts 150 at Stafford is the only time the race winner has also taken the Flowmaster honors. Stated another way, it's the only time the winner has improved his position more than anyone else in the field. The last Busch North Series winner from deeper in the field was Jimmy Spencer, from 42nd at Dover Downs in 1998 after his qualifying time was disallowed.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Jimmy Spencer , Mike McLaughlin , Mike Johnson , Ted Christopher