BNS: Stafford: Fact sheet

2002 Busch North Series NASCAR Touring Race Facts WHAT: CARQUEST AUTO PARTS STORES 150 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race ...

2002 Busch North Series NASCAR Touring Race Facts

Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race #6 of 19

WHERE: Stafford Motor Speedway, Stafford Springs, Conn.
.500 mile paved oval

WHEN: Friday, June 21, 2002

DISTANCE: 150 laps (75.0 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $81,194 (including $3,000 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 30 cars (Fastest 25 through one round of time trials. Two additional positions will be added as provisional starters based on the current 2002 Busch North Series driver point standings; two based on the current 2002 Busch North Series owner point standings; and one position reserved for a former Busch North Series champion, if needed)

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Stafford Springs Enterprises, Inc.

SCHEDULE: Friday, June 21
12:00 noon Registration & Inspection
2:00 p.m. Mandatory drivers meeting
3:00-4:30 p.m. Practice
5:30 p.m. Bud Pole Qualifying (pos. 1-25)
9:00 p.m. (approx.) Carquest Auto Parts Stores 150


* In the 2001 Carquest Auto Parts Stores 150, Kelly Moore took the lead when Brad Leighton spun as the two raced side-by-side on lap 133. Leighton recovered to finish second with Stafford graduate Dennis Doyle matching his best career finish in third. Jerry Marquis and Dale Shaw were fourth and fifth. A total of eight caution periods for 48 laps slowed Moore's winning average speed to 52.376 mph. It was the first Stafford victory for the Busch North Series' all-time leading winner.

* Later in 2001, Martin Truex Jr. dominated the ASB 150 at Stafford in July, and Brad Leighton captured the Carquest Fall Final in September. Mike Olsen clinched the 2001 Busch North Series championship at the latter event.

* Kelly Moore set the current Stafford track record in winning the Bud Pole for the 2001 Carquest Auto Parts 150 with a lap at 19.674 seconds, 91.491 mph. It broke his own record from one year earlier.

* Stafford Motor Speedway has hosted 17 previous Busch North Series races. Andy Santerre, Mike Stefanik, and Brad Leighton are the only two time winners. One-time victors are Tommy Houston, Mike McLaughlin, Keith Lamell, Tom Bolles, Jerry Marquis, Rick Fuller, Dennis Demers, Ted Christopher, Mike Johnson, Kelly Moore, and Martin Truex Jr. Stafford was the scene of the only Busch North victory for Houston, Lamell, Fuller, and Demers; and the first career win for Stefanik, Bolles, and Johnson.


Matt Kobyluck, a former weekly regular at Stafford, has finished in the top five in the first five races of the 2002 season. The last Busch North Series driver to accomplish that feat was Jamie Aube in 1990, on the way to his third consecutive Busch North championship.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Mike McLaughlin , Martin Truex Jr. , Matt Kobyluck , Mike Johnson