BNS: Seekonk race facts

<pre> WHAT: Coca-Cola 150 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring, Race ...


WHAT: Coca-Cola 150 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring, Race #13 of 21

WHERE: Seekonk Speedway, Seekonk, Mass. .333 mile paved oval

WHEN: Saturday, August 4, 2001

DISTANCE: 150 laps (50 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $73,150 (including $2,800 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 30 cars (Fastest 25 through two rounds of time trials, two provisionalstarters based on the current 2001 Busch North Series driver pointstandings, two based on the current 2001 Busch North Series owner point standings, plus one position reserved for a former Busch North Series champion, if needed)

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Bristol County Stadium, Inc.

CONTACTS: Bill Quirk, Seekonk Speedway (508) 336-9959 Al Robinson, NASCAR (607) 565-2328

SCHEDULE:  Saturday, August 4
             10:00 a.m.                 Registration & Inspection
             12:00 noon                 Mandatory Drivers Meeting
             1:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.                     Practice
             2:30 p.m. to 2:45 p.m.                     Practice
             4:00 p.m.                  Bud Pole Qualifying (pos. 1-20)
             5:45 p.m. (approx.)           Second round qualifying (pos. 21-25)
             7:30 p.m. (approx.)                     Coca-Cola 150


* The Coca-Cola 150 is a new race on the 2001 Busch North Series schedule. * The series has competed at Seekonk in the Memorial Day weekend Budweiser * 150 for the past two seasons.

* This May, Kelly Moore won his first Busch North Series race in over two * years at Seekonk. It was his 20th career BNS victory, extending his own * series record. He also won the Bud Pole, his record 40th. Redrawing fifth, * he took the lead from Dale Shaw on lap 53 and was never headed. Defending * Seekonk winner Tracy Gordon was second, while Paul Richardson enjoyed a * career-best third. Mike Olsen was fourth and Jamie Aube fifth as Shaw * faded to ninth. Moore averaged 67.699 mph, with only four caution flags * for 24 laps slowing the event.

* Kelly Moore's Bud Pole winning lap this spring, 12.997 seconds at 92.329 * mph, is the Seekonk track record.

* In 2000, Dave Dion also broke a long losing streak by winning the Busch * North Series' return to Seekonk after a 13-year absence. The two races at * the "Cement Palace" in the series' inaugural year of 1987 were won by * Chuck Bown and multi-time track champion Rick Martin.

* Seekonk Speedway opened on May 30, 1946 and has been operated by the Vendittifamily continuously for 55 years. Founder D. Anthony Venditti was honored as the Auto Racing Promoter of the Year in 1978. Seekonk became a NASCAR Weekly Racing Series track in 2000.


Following the ASB 150 a Stafford, five drivers have won two races in the 2001 Busch North Series season (Olsen, Moore, Johnson, Leighton, Truex). The last time the series boasted as many multi-time winners for a full season was in 1997, when six drivers won at least twice (Dion 4, Marquis 3, Christopher 3, Leighton 2, Shaw 2, Stefanik 2).

-Al Robinson

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article