BNS: Nazareth: Race fact sheet

2002 Busch North Series Nascar Touring Race Facts WHAT: Burnham Boiler 100 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race ...

2002 Busch North Series Nascar Touring Race Facts

WHAT: Burnham Boiler 100
Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race #3 of 19

WHERE: Nazareth Speedway, Nazareth, Pa.
1.00 mile paved oval

WHEN: Saturday, May 18, 2002

DISTANCE: 100 laps (100 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $116,894 (including $6,000 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 40 cars (Fastest 35 through one round of time trials. Two additional positions will be added as provisional starters based on the final 2001 Busch North Series driver point standings, two based on the final 2001 Busch North Series car owner point standings, and one reserved for a past Busch North Series champion, if needed).

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Pennsylvania International Raceway


Friday, May 17
11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. Practice
3:00 p.m. Bud Pole Qualifying (all positions)

Saturday, May 18
2:30 p.m. (approx.) Burnham Boiler 100


* The 2001 edition of this event saw Matt Kobyluck score his first career Busch North Series victory, using a no-stop pit strategy when the other contenders, including leader Dale Shaw, pitted at lap 58. Paul Wolfe was second for his best career Busch North Series finish, and Shaw came back to finish third. Dale Quarterley was fourth and Brad Leighton fifth. Kobyluck averaged 103.034 miles per hour to win by 4.059 seconds.

* Ted Christopher was the Bud Pole winner in 2001 with a track record at 28.500 seconds, 126.315 mph. Christopher broke Tom Carey’s former record by nearly three miles per hour.

* There has never been a repeat Busch North Series winner at Nazareth. Past winners are Steve Park (1996), Bobby Dragon (1997), and Brad Leighton (1999), in addition to Kobyluck.

* Park's win came in the only 8 a.m. Monday morning race in Busch North Series history. It was rescheduled after rain, fog, and darkness plagued Sunday's program.

* The history of racing in Nazareth goes back to the fairgrounds located at the foot of the hill outside turn one of today's track, where the shopping center is located now. Stock car races were held on the dirt half-mile from 1947 to 1988, with Mario Andretti getting his start in racing during the 1950's. The current facility was built as a dirt track in 1965. It operated until 1971, lay dormant for a decade, reopened as a dirt track in 1981, and closed again in 1985. A group headed by Roger Penske acquired the track, paved it, and opened I again in 1987. The first NASCAR event was run in 1988.


Mike Olsen holds the longest current streak of consecutive starts in the Busch North Series, with 119 including the May 11 event at New Hampshire International Speedway. Brad Leighton is second at 118. The difference is that Olsen started the last race of the 1995 season at Lime Rock Park, while Leighton’s streak began with the 1996 season opener at Lee USA Speedway.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Steve Park , Mario Andretti , Dale Quarterley , Paul Wolfe , Matt Kobyluck , Ted Christopher