BNS: Loudon race facts 2001-09-13

<pre> WHAT: New Hampshire 125 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring, Race ...


WHAT: New Hampshire 125 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring, Race #18 of 21

WHERE: New Hampshire International Speedway, Loudon, N.H. 1.058-mile paved oval

WHEN: Thursday-Saturday, September 13-15, 2001

DISTANCE: 125 laps (132.25 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $152,600 (including $9,750 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 42 cars (Fastest 37 qualifiers. Two provisional starters will be added based on current 2001 Busch North Series driver points standings, two based on the current 2001 Busch North Series owner point standings, and one position reserved for a past Busch North Series champion, if needed.)

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: New Hampshire Speedway, Inc.

TELEVISION: NBC (Live), Sat., Sept. 15, 2 p.m.

SCHEDULE:  Thursday, Sept. 13
 6:30 a.m.                        Registration & inspection
11:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.           Practice
3:00 p.m.                         Bud Pole Qualifying (pos. 1-37)
4:30 to 5:00 p.m.                 Final practice
                Friday, Sept. 14
7:00 to 4:00 p.m.               Garage open; no on-track activity
                Saturday, Sept. 15
10:45 a.m.                      Mandatory drivers meeting
2:00 p.m.                       New England 125


* The New Hampshire 125 is the third and final appearance of the Busch North Series at NHIS in 2001. The most recent race was the New England 125 on Saturday, July 21, which Brad Leighton won with a dramatic late-race pass of Martin Truex Jr. in traffic. Leighton led three times for 56 laps, but did not take command for good until lap 121. Truex was second, 0.346 seconds behind, with Kelly Moore, Matt Kobyluck, and Dale Quarterley making up the balance of the top five. Leighton averaged 100.805 mph to become the first driver to win five Busch North Series races at NHIS.

* The first appearance of the Busch North Series at NHIS in 2001, the CVS/pharmacy 125 presented by Bayer on May 12, saw Ted Christopher take advantage of Tom Carey's cut tire in the closing laps to win by 1.3 seconds over Martin Truex Jr. Mike Johnson, Brad Leighton, and Paul Wolfe completed the top five. Christopher's average speed was 108.476 mph as only two caution flags were shown for 12 laps, with the final 86 circuits under the green.

* Martin Truex Jr.'s track record stands at 30.356 seconds or 125.471 mph, set in July 2000. Kelly Moore won the Bud Pole this May at 30.561 seconds, 124.829 mph, and Leighton was the top qualifier in July at 30.550 seconds, 124.645 mph.

* NHIS awards its own Lincoln Electric/Arco Welding track championship to the driver scoring the most NASCAR points in the three BNS races each year. With one race remaining, Brad Leighton (fourth and first) and Martin Truex Jr. (two seconds) are tied with 340 points.

* The New Hampshire 125 will be the 36th Busch North Series event at NHIS since 1990; the most races hosted by one speedway in the series history. As noted above, Brad Leighton is the all-time leader in NHIS Busch North Series wins with five, followed by Ted Christopher, Mike McLaughlin, and Kelly Moore with four. All except McLaughlin are expected to be in the New Hampshire 125 lineup.

* New Hampshire International Speedway opened in 1990 on the site of the former Bryar Motorsport Park road course, which contained a small infield oval, where Brad Leighton, among others, raced street stocks on Wednesday night during the mid-1980's.


The Busch North Series is indeed multi-generational. In the recent True Value 150 at Thunder Road International Speedbowl, the age difference between Martin Truex Jr. and Eddie MacDonald, the youngest drivers in the field, and Stub Fadden, the oldest, was an amazing 47 years. Fadden had the best finish of the trio.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Mike McLaughlin , Martin Truex Jr. , Dale Quarterley , Paul Wolfe , Matt Kobyluck , Mike Johnson , Ted Christopher , Eddie MacDonald