BNS: Lime Rock fast facts and notes

WHAT: Burnham Boilers 200 presented by New England Dodge Dealers Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race ...

WHAT: Burnham Boilers 200 presented by New England Dodge Dealers Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race #21 of 21

WHERE: Lime Rock Park, Lakeville, Conn. 1.53-mile road course

WHEN: Saturday, October 13, 2001

DISTANCE: 82 laps (125.46 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $115,050 (including $6,500 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 36 cars (Fastest 31 through two rounds of Grand American style qualifying. Two additional positions will be added as provisional starters based on the current 2001 Busch North Series driver point standings, two based on the current 2001 Busch North Series owner point standings, and one reserved for a former Busch North Series champion, if needed)

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Lime Rock Park, Inc.

<pre> SCHEDULE: Friday, October 12 7:00 a.m. Registration & inspection begin 11:30 a.m.-12:00 noon Practice 1:15-1:45 p.m. Practice 3:15-3:45 p.m. Practice 4:35 p.m. Bud Pole Qualifying (pos. 1-25)

          Saturday, October 14
              8:45 a.m.               Mandatory drivers meeting
              10:00 a.m.              2nd round qualifying (pos 26-31)
              1:30 p.m. (approx.)     Burnham Boilers 200


* Bryan Wall scored his second consecutive Lime Rock win in 2000 after winning his second consecutive Bud Pole with his second consecutive track qualifying record. Dale Quarterley beat Wall into turn one and led the first 17 laps before pitting. Wall went to pit road four laps later and Brad Leighton took the lead until his transmission locked in fourth gear after 35 circuits. Wall led the rest of the way to post a 3 second win over Quarterley. Mike Olsen, Andy Santerre, and Ted Christopher completed the top five, with Leighton sixth. Six caution flags slowed the pace for 23 laps, and Wall averaged 70.046 miles per hour.

* Wall's track record stands at 53.801 seconds for a speed of 102.377 miles per hour.

* This will be the ninth annual Busch North Series event at Lime Rock, each serving as the season finale. Winston Cup driver Ken Schrader won the inaugural in 1993, followed by three consecutive victories by road racing specialist Butch Leitzinger. Busch North regulars Ted Christopher and Mike Stefanik won in 1997 and 1998 before Bryan Wall's current two-race streak. Leitzinger is the career leader in Busch North Series road course wins with four, followed by Wall with three and Christopher with two, each including one win at Watkins Glen.

* Former Busch North Series regular Brett Roubinek and road racing experts Joe Pezza and Jason Holehouse are expected to make their first starts of the 2001 season at Lime Rock.

* Lime Rock Park was built in 1957 by local contractor Jim Vaill, who changed the course of the Salmon Kill River (the stream outside the front straight) to do it. The track was purchased by the Skip Barber Organization in 1984. It is the only Busch North Series track which has no grandstands, as spectators are accommodated in the natural amphitheater created by the hills in the infield and outside the front straight. It is also the only BNS track which cannot race on Sunday, due to a local ordinance in effect since the 1950's.


While Kelly Moore and Dale Shaw are battling for second and third places in the final Busch North Series standings, they rank first and second in three major career categories: wins, top-5 finishes, and top-10 finishes. Moore also leads in starts and money won, with Shaw third in those categories behind Jamie Aube.

- Al Robinson

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Ken Schrader , Butch Leitzinger , Skip Barber , Bryan Wall , Dale Quarterley , Ted Christopher , Jason Holehouse