BNS: Lee Speedway fast facts

<pre> WHAT: Lee 150 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race ...

<pre> WHAT: Lee 150 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race #1 of 21

WHERE: Lee USA Speedway, Lee, N.H. .375 mile paved oval

WHEN: Sunday, April 22, 2001

DISTANCE: 150 laps (56.25 miles)

POSTED AWARDS: $74,350 (including $3,000 Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Championship point fund money)

FIELD: 30 cars (Fastest 25 through two rounds of time trials. Four additional positions will be added as provisional starters based on the final 2000 Busch North Series standings, plus one position reserved for a former Busch North Series champion if necessary.)

SANCTION: National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR)

PROMOTER: Lee USA Speedway, Inc.

SCHEDULE: Sunday, April 22

7:00 a.m.               Registration opens
8:00 a.m.               Inspection opens
10:30 a.m.              Mandatory Rookie Drivers Meeting
11:00 a.m.              Mandatory Drivers & Crew Chiefs Meeting
12:00 noon              Practice
2:45 p.m.               Bud Pole Qualifying time trials (positions 1-20)
3:45 p.m.               Second Round time trials (positions 21-25)
5:00 p.m. (approx.)     Lee 150


* Dale Shaw won last year's Lee 150, leading all 150 laps after redrawing the pole position. Tracy Gordon, Dennis Demers, Mike Olsen, and Brad Leighton completed the top five. Leighton was the only driver in the top five to make a pit stop, coming back to pass Jerry Marquis on the last lap for fifth. Shaw averaged 56.297 miles per hour as five caution flags slowed the race for 39 laps. The victory was the 15th of Shaw's Busch North Series career and his second at Lee USA Speedway.

* Brad Leighton won the Bud Pole for the 2000 Lee 150 with a lap of 15.602 seconds, at 86.525 miles per hour. It was the fourth Bud Pole of his career and would be his only fastest qualifying effort of the 2000 season.

* The 2001 Lee 150 will be the 13th appearance of the Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring at Lee USA Speedway. Brad Leighton's four consecutive victories from 1996 to 1999 are the most by any driver. Dale Shaw joined the now-retired Stub Fadden as a two-time winner in 2000. Dave Dion, Bobby Dragon, Robby Crouch ,and Kelly Moore have also scored BNS wins at Lee USA.

* Former Lee USA regular Mike Johnson began his Busch North Series career by qualifying fourth at the 2000 Lee 150. He then gained the distinction of becoming the first drier to crash and the first to retire from a race in the new millennium when he hit the first turn wall after 73 laps. Things would improve for Johnson, as he went on to win 2000 Raybestos Rookie-of-the-Year honors and place eighth in the final Busch North Series standings.

* Currently, five drivers have registered for the 2001 Raybestos Rookie-of-the-Year award: Travis Benjamin, Brian Hoar, Carey Heath, Joey McCarthy, and Doug Hurst. All five participated in limited Busch North Series action in 2000.


Five drivers representing eight of the 14 Busch North Series championships to date are expected to participate in the 2001 series: Jamie Aube (1988-89-90), Dale Shaw (1994), Kelly Moore (1995), Dave Dion (1996), and Brad Leighton (1999-2000). Inaugural champion Joey Kourafas (1987) and Dick McCabe (1992-93) are retired from racing, Ricky Craven (1991) is racing in the Winston Cup Series, and Mike Stefanik (1997-98) is racing in the Featherlite Modified Series. Of course, the Busch North Series appears four times with the Winston Cup Series and three times with the Featherlite Modified Series, so there are possibilities.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Ricky Craven , Mike Johnson