BNS: Dover: News of Note

Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race ...

Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring Race #17 of 19
Dover International Speedway, Dover, Del.

FIELD: 38 cars (Fastest 33 through one round of time trials. Two additional positions will be added as provisional starters based on the current 2002 Busch North Series driver point standings, two based on the current 2002 Busch North Series car owner point standings, and one reserved for a past Busch North Series champion, if needed.)

TELEVISION: SPEED Channel, Monday, October, 28, 8:00-10:00 p.m. Eastern


Thursday, Sept. 19
10:45 a.m. to 12:45 p.m. Practice
2:30 p.m. Bud Pole Qualifying(pos 1-33)
4:30 to 5:15 p.m. Final practice

Friday, Sept. 20
4:30 p.m. (approx.) MBNA All American Heroes 150


* The MBNA all American Heroes 150 is the sixth of seven Busch North Series races scheduled for national television coverage on SPEED Channel. The scheduled broadcast date is Monday, October 28, from 8 to 10 p.m. Eastern time.

* Posted awards of $184,094 make the MBNA All American Heroes 150 the richest race on the 2002 Busch North Series schedule.

* The Busch North Series returned to Dover in 2001 after a two-year absence for a race that became known as the "Tale of Two Dales". Dale Quarterley dominated all day, leading 122 laps, but faltered on a lap 152 restart after a late caution flag sent the race into overtime. Dale Shaw, who had pitted twice for right side tires, led only the last three laps, but collected the $18,075 payday. Bryan Wall, Dennis Demers, Jamie Aube, and Tom Carey completed the top five as Quarterley recovered to finish sixth. Shaw’s average speed in winning his first superspeedway race was exactly 90 miles per hour, to the third decimal place.

* Prior to 2001, the Busch North Series competed at Dover in 1998 as the support race for an Indy Racing League event. After starting 42nd and last due to an infraction at post-qualifying technical inspection, Jimmy Spencer cruised through the field to win easily. Jamie Aube won a last-lap battle with Brad Leighton for second. That race was over a 200-mile distance.

* Since Bud Pole Qualifying was rained out in 2001, Tom Carey’s 1998 Bud Pole mark of 26.449 seconds, 142.791 mph is the track record. It is the fastest qualifying speed in Busch North Series history.

* From 1987 to 1991, Busch Grand National races at Dover Downs were "combination" races which awarded Busch North Series points. Among the current Busch North drivers who participated were Kelly Moore, Jamie Aube, and Barney McRae.

* From 1982 to 1985, the NASCAR North Series, forerunner of today's Busch North Series, was a September attraction at Dover Downs. Winners were Dave Dion (1982), Chuck Bown (1983 and 1985), and Randy LaJoie (1984). Dion’s winning car was a Ford Fairmont Futura, a model whose aerodynamics were similar to those of a boxcar.

* Due to a reorganization of the parent company, the Dover track has dropped the name "Downs" from its official title in 2002.

* Under it original name, Dover Downs International Speedway opened in 1969 as a combination horse racing and auto racing facility. Harness racing still takes place on the infield track from November to April. It has hosted the Winston Cup Series every year since '69 and is also a charter member of the Busch Grand National Series. Dover Downs Slots, the on-site casino, opened in 1995, and the on-site hotel opened this year.


Actually, stats of the week, each illustrating the competitiveness of the 2002 Busch North Series. Tracy Gordon’s NHIS victory made him the eleventh winner of the season and the seventh different winner in the last seven races. The series has reached double figures in the number of different winners in nine of the last eleven seasons, despite having no more than 20 races per season.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Bryan Wall