BNS: Contingency and award sponsorship announcements

Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring competitors enjoy enhanced point fund & contingency awards as well as national TV exposure during 2002 season. LOUDON, N.H. (April 26, 2002)-- For 2002, teams competing in the Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring...

Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring competitors enjoy enhanced point fund & contingency awards as well as national TV exposure during 2002 season.

LOUDON, N.H. (April 26, 2002)-- For 2002, teams competing in the Busch North Series, NASCAR Touring will benefit from an increased point fund provided by series sponsor Anheuser-Busch, Inc., as well as expanded contingency programs by other participating manufacturers. The prestige and sponsor value of the series will be further enhanced by the national telecast of seven Busch North Series races on SPEED Channel.

The first SPEED Channel telecast of the season will feature the Busch 125 at New Hampshire International Speedway. The event will be run on Saturday, May 11, as the second half of the traditional NHIS Mother's Day weekend doubleheader with the Busch Series, Grand National Division. The Busch 125 is scheduled for its initial telecast on Monday night, May 20, at 8 p.m. Eastern time.

Continuing the pattern which has prevailed throughout the 16 year history of the Busch North Series, title sponsor Anheuser-Busch, Inc., has increased its 2002 championship point fund contribution to $325,000. In addition, Anheuser-Busch has raised the value of the Bud Pole Award, presented to the fastest time trial qualifier at each event, to $900. The seasonal Bud Pole Award champion will again receive $10,000.

The Gatorade Front Runner Award, which recognizes event leadership, again will reward the driver leading the most laps in each race with a check for $750. The seasonal Gatorade Front Runner Award, based on a point system which awards three points to the leader of the most laps and one point to all other lap leaders, carries a $7,500 year-end payout.

The 2001 Busch North Series champion, Mike Olsen, won both the Bud Pole Award and Gatorade Front Runner Award last season. He gained a head start on repeating both honors by setting the fastest qualifying time and leading the most laps in the 2002 season opener at Lee USA Speedway on his way to a second-place finish in that race.

The Flowmaster Star of the Race Award spotlights the hard charger in each Busch North Series race; that is, the driver who improves his position most from start to finish. While no check accompanies the weekly award, $7,500 awaits the winner at season's end, based on a 3-2-1 point system for most positions gained at each race. Bryan Wall picked up that honor in 2001. Greg Schaefer was the Flowmaster Star of the Race in the 2002 inaugural at Lee USA Speedway, charging from 27th at the start to ninth at the finish.

First-year competitors in the Busch North Series vie for the Raybestos Rookie-of-the-Year Award. It is the richest of the weekly awards, earning a $1,000 check for the top rookie in each race, and the only award program to honor two drivers at season's end. The Raybestos Rookie-of-the-Year picks up a check for $5,000 at the annual awards ceremony, while the runner-up walks off with $2,000. Gary Shackford was the first 2002 Raybestos Rookie-of-the-Race, taking the early lead in the standings.

The professional engine builders who supply the 358-cubic inch V-8 powerplants used in the Busch North Series are also recognized by the Clevite Engine Builder of the Race Award, worth $600 at each event, and the Engine Builder of the Year Award. PCCW Inc. is the reigning Clevite Engine Builder of the Year.

New to the Busch North Series contingency program in 2002 is Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company, the series' new official tire supplier, who have posted a $15,000 point fund in addition to weekly product awards. Another addition is the $8,000 contingency point fund posted by 76 Racing Gasoline. In addition, many other companies provide weekly contingency awards, not only to the top finishers but also to selected positions deeper in the field.

The Busch North Series is one of eight NASCAR Touring series which blanket the USA, bringing major events to tracks of the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge, as well as many superspeedways and road courses. The NASCAR Touring program is recognized as the premier training ground for NASCAR's national series, the Winston Cup Series, Busch Series, Grand National Division, and Craftsman Truck Series, while also providing career opportunities for professional racers at the regional level. Among the corporations who have made major commitments to the NASCAR Touring program through series title sponsorship are Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Featherlite Trailers, Goody's Headache Powders, Hills Brothers Coffee, RE/MAX International, Raybestos Brakes, and R.J. Reynolds' Winston brand.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Greg Schaefer , Bryan Wall