Bagstad bags it at LaCrosse

</pre> Veteran Tony Bagstad recorded his first ever Midwest Fuels Late Model victory during the Barrrel O' Fun 25 Saturday night at the La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway. After a strong start to the 2000 season, Bagstad...

</pre> Veteran Tony Bagstad recorded his first ever Midwest Fuels Late Model victory during the Barrrel O' Fun 25 Saturday night at the La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway. After a strong start to the 2000 season, Bagstad suffered a slump during the midpoint of the season but left no doubt that he is back in full force.

Polesitter Kurt Thicke surrendered the lead to Bagstad on the first circuit and Bagstad never looked back. Rick Wateski was able to pull within car lengths of Bagstad, but he would have to settle for the runner-up honors as Bagstad's Monte Carlo was too strong in the caution free Barrel O' Fun 25.

Second place point man Brad Powell dazzeled fans with a spectacular driving display as he tried to gain ever inmportant championship points on defending track champion and current point leader Kevin Nuttleman. By lap 10 Powell had worked his way into the fourth running position, using the outside lane to advantage. It would be on the inside however that Powell would make his bid for third position from Mike Belling. While the two battled for numerous laps, Paul Proksch was able to catch the two and make it a three car battle for third.

Belling maintained his position as Powell had his mirror full of Proksch. Proksch would take the fourth postion from Powell with seven laps to go. With Nuttleman just out of the top 5, Powell would run side by side with Proksch the remainder of the race swapping positions countless times.

Bagstad was followed across the finish line by Wateski, Belling, and Powell by inches over Proksch. Point leader Kevin Nuttleman finished sixth, followed by Mark Lamoreaux, Brent Kirchner, Frankie Doherty and Tom Carlson. Nuttleman holds a 47 point lead over Powell as the Midwest Fuels Late Models head into the NAPA 100 Saturday night September 2nd.

Greg Scheck found his Heavy Chevy in victory lane once the Ray Hutson Chevrolet Sportsman division had completed the Barrel O' Fun 15. The race went caution free, with Scheck leading wire to wire after holding off a strong effort by Jon Barrette to take the top spot. Barrette would soon have his hands full when Chuck Timm battled on the outside for second postition. Chuck Timm would finally obtain the runner-up position on the final circuit, dropping Barrette to third. Corey Jankowski pulled within two points of Ray Hutson Chevrolet Sportsman point leader Dan Gilster with a fourth place showing and Jeff Baker rounded out the top 5.

Jason Bolster collected the winner's trophy in Thunderstox competition. He bettered 21 other drivers during the Barrel O' Fun 15, adding to his point lead in the United Auto Supply Thunderstox division. Early race leader Rob Curran finished second, Tom Galstad, Dan Secor and Matt Inglett completed the top 5.

<pre> Midwest Fuels NASCAR Late Models

Barrel O' Fun 25 - 1. Tony Bagstad, Cashton; 2. Rick Wateski, La Crosse; 3. Mike Belling, La Crosse; 4. Brad Powell, La Crose 5. Paul Proksch, Stoddard; 6. Kevin Nutleman, Bangor; 7. Mark Lamoreaux, Bloomington, MN; 8. Brent Kirchner, La Crosse; 9. Frankie Doherty, Elgin, IL; 10. Tom Carlson, La Crosse; 11. Kurt Thicke, West Salem; 12. Tod Oliver, Bangor; 13. Bob Timm, Winona, MN; 14. Tim Hagen, La Crescent, MN; 15. Kraig Burrows, West Salem; 16. Todd Korish, La Crosse; 17. Tim Nelson, La Crescent, MN ; 18. Tom McClintock, Onalaska; 19. Marv DeGarmo, Chaseburg; 20. Jim Christenson, La Crosse; 21. Jim Hagel, Holmen; 22. Troy Goodenough, Mindoro; 23. J. Herbst, West Salem; 24. Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien; 25. Curt Eckleberg, West Salem

B-Main - 1. Marv DeGarmo, Chaseburg; 2. Tom McClintock, Onalaska; 3. Jim Hagel, Holmen; 4. J. Herbst, West Salem; 5. Bill Niles, Holmen

Qualifying - 1. Brad Powell, La Crosse, 20.523 secs., 95.600 MPH; 2. Paul Proksch, Stoddard, 20.561 Sec. 95.423 MPH 3. Mike Belling, La Crosse, 20.564 sec. 95.409 MPH 4. Kevin Nuttleman, Bangor, 20.671 secs., 94.916 MPH; 5. Rick Wateski, La Crosse, 20.711 sec. 94.732 MPH

Qualifying Heat 1 - 1. Greg Croell, Holmen; 2. Bob Timm, Winona; 3. Jeff Krueger, La Crescent; 4. Ken Hutchens, Black River Falls; 5. Bill Niles, Holmen

Qualifying Heat 2 - 1. Kraig Burrows, West Salem; 2. Mike Ehde, Prairie du Chien; 3. Marv DeGarmo, Chaseburg; 4. Scott Howe, Holmen; 5. Jim Hagel, Holmen

Odd Bud Dash - 1. Frankie Doherty, Elgin, IL; 2. Brad Powell, La Crosse; 3. Todd Oliver, Bangor; 4. Rick Wateski, La Crosse; 5. Mike Belling, La Crosse

Even Bud Dash - 1. Tom Carlson, La Crosse; 2. Tony Bagstad, Cashton;  3. Kevin Nuttleman,
Bangor;  4.  Paul Proksch, Stoddard;  5.  Brent Kirchner, La Crosse

Ray Hutson Chevrolet Sportsman

Barrel O' Fun 15 - 1. Greg Scheck, West Salem; 2. Chuck Timm, Galesville ; 3. Jon Barrette, La Crosse; 4. Corey Jankowski, Tomah; 5. Jeff Baker, Holmen; 6. Blake Horstman, Bangor; 7. Dan Gilster, West Salem; 8. Tony Ciano, La Crosse; 9. Jimmy Gilster, West Salem; 10. Sam Anderson, Melrose; 11. Chand Wehling, Stoddard; 12.Mike Campbell; 13. Kevin Eddy, Hatfield; 14. Ralph Barrette, Stoddard; 15. Larry Bolster Jr., Sparta

B-Main - 1. Rick Steinhoff, Sparta; 2. Randy Steinhoff, Cashton; 3. Ken Lewis, Black River Falls; 4. Tom Thill, West Salem; 5. John Towner, Trempealeau

Qualifying - 1. Corey Jankowski, Tomah, 22.796 secs., 86.068 MPH 2. Dan Gilster, West Salem, 22.848 secs., 85.872 MPH 3. Chuck Timm, Galesville 22.924 secs., 85.587 MPH ; 4. Jeff Baker, Holmen, 23.021 secs.,85.227 MPH; 5. Chand Wehling, Stoddard, 23.036 secs., 85.145 MPH

Qualifying Heat 1 - 1. Aaron Hass, La Crosse; 2. Todd Lockington, Mindoro; 3. Paul Smith, Bangor; 4. Rick Shisler, La Crosse; 5. Ken Lewis, Black River Falls

Qualifying Heat 2 - 1. Larry Bolster, Jr., Sparta; 2. Scott Stingl, Mindoro; 3. John Towner, Trempealeau; 4. Rick Steinhoff, Sparta; 5. Tom Thill, West Salem

Odd Bud Dash - 1. Ralph Barrette, Stoddard; 2. Chuck Timm, Galesville; 3. Corey Jankowski, Tomah; 4. Jeff Baker, Holmen; 5. Morris Proctor, Genoa

Even Bud Dash - 1. Mike Campbell, Bangor; 2. Greg Scheck, West Salem; 3. Chand Wehling, Stoddard; 4. Sam Anderson, Mindoro; 5. Dan Gilster, West Salem

United Auto Supply Thunderstox

Barrel O' Fun 15 - 1. Jason Bolster, Sparta; 2. Rob Curran, Rockland; 3. Tom Galstad, Holmen; 4. Dan Secor, West Salem; 5. Matt Inglett, La Crosse; 6. Kelly Schendel, Cashton; 7. Adam Degenhardt, Coon Valley; 8. Lester Stanfield, La Crosse; 9. Brandon Berg, North Bend; 10. Alan Wolf, Cashton; 11.Jes Tenner, Melrose; 12. Dean Ashbacher, Rockland; 13. Al Bartles, Tomah; 14. Bill Inglett, La Crosse 15. Greg Lindvig, Sparta

B-Main - 1. Les Stanfield, La Crosse; 2. Kelly Schendel, Rockland; 3. Jes Tenner, Melrose; 4. Branden Berg North Bend; 5. John Olson, Sparta

Heat 1 - 1. Greg Lindvig, Sparta; 2. John Olson, Sparta; 3. Jeff Schaitel, Sparta; 4. Grant Kutchara, Winona; 5. Kris Buldhaupt, La Crosse

Heat 2 - 1. Rob Curran, Rockland; 2. Dan Secor, West Salem; 3. Al Bartels, Tomah; 4. Dale Jacob, Winona; 5. Tom Galstad, Holmen

Heat 3 - 1. Jason Stark, La Crosse; 2. Bill Inglett, La Crosse; 3. John Edwards, La Crosse; 4. Kevin Grandall, Holmen; 5. Dean Ashbacher, Rockland

Bud Dash - 1. Jeff Schaitel, Mindoro; 2. Matt Inglett, La Crosse

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Mike Bell , John Olson , John Edwards , Paul Smith