Roush Yates Engines and Ford Racing Win Manufacturers' Championship with 15 NASCAR Nationwide Wins

Keselowski led the way to Ford’s manufacturer title with seven wins

Mooresville, NC (November 18, 2013) Brad Keselowski passed nine cars with five laps to go at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Saturday night, winning the race for Penske Racing and capturing the Nationwide Manufacturers' Championship for Ford Racing. Teammate Joey Logano’s sixth place finish earned Penske Racing the Nationwide Owner’s Championship.

Race winner Brad Keselowski, Penske Racing Ford
Race winner Brad Keselowski, Penske Racing Ford

Photo by: Getty Images

Following an extended caution period for a multi-car crash with 17 laps remaining, Keselowski went from 10th to first during the final restart to win his seventh race of the 2013 season.

“Sometimes you make it through and sometimes you don’t,” said Keselowski in Victory Lane. “Today we did. A lot of aggressive moves. It almost felt like a video game passing 10 or 12 cars in two or three laps. That’s what you’ve got to be able to do to win at this level.”

Keselowski led the way to Ford’s manufacturer title with seven wins; followed by three from Joey Logano, two from AJ Allmendinger, and one each from Sam Hornish Jr., Ryan Blaney, and Trevor Bayne to give Ford Racing and Roush Yates Engines an impressive 15 wins in 2013.

“That was an amazing performance by Brad and the entire Penske team to make this happen. What an amazingly close battle it was today,” said Jamie Allison, Director, Ford Racing. “To watch Brad come from that far back in the pack to clinch the manufacturers’ championship was just amazing. I couldn’t be more proud of everyone that helped Ford get to this moment.”

Logano’s sixth place finish in the Ford Ecoboost 300 secured the 2013 NASCAR Nationwide Series Owner’s Championship for Roger Penske’s No. 22 team by just one point over the No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing team. The owner’s title for the No. 22 was truly a team effort with four drivers earning wins in the car this season.

“First, I want to congratulate Joey and Brad and what Paul did tonight,” said Penske. “We had a manufacturers’ championship on the line, we had the car owner’s and the driver’s championship, so there was a lot of pressure when you think about it. This is a credit to the entire team. Everyone back at the shop – we talk about the engine builder, Ford, Discount Tire, Hertz, AAA, those that have helped us – are committed to us going forward.”

Roush Yates Engines finished off the 2013 NASCAR season with 6 Sprint Cup Wins, 15 Nationwide Wins, and 1 Camping World Truck Series win. Rookie of the Year winners included Ricky Stenhouse Jr. in the Sprint Cup Series and Ryan Blaney in the Camping World Truck Series.

Roush Yates

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Trevor Bayne , Brad Keselowski , Roger Penske , Ricky Stenhouse Jr. , Joey Logano , Sam Hornish Jr. , Ryan Blaney
Teams Team Penske , Joe Gibbs Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags ford, homestead, keselowski, nns, roush yates