Phoenix: Roush Fenway Racing race report



Goodyear, Ariz. (April 17, 2009) -- It took 17 years, five drivers and 840 starts for Roush Fenway Racing to reach the century mark in the Nationwide Series. The team reached win number 100 in the Sprint Cup Series at Dover in 2007 with Carl Edwards and the No. 99 team. Now 2002 Nationwide Series champion Greg Biffle has the honor of claiming Roush Fenway's 100th Nationwide win under the lights at Phoenix International Raceway, just two days before owner Jack Roush's birthday. The win also marks Biffle's second win of the 2009 season.

"This is really special to win here tonight in the No. 16 CitiFinancial Ford and get the 100th win for Roush Fenway Racing, I'm just excited for these guys," said Biffle following the race. "This pit crew won this race tonight."

Roush Fenway's first Nationwide win came in 1993 at Rockingham Speedway. From the 17th starting position, Mark Martin drove the No. 60 Winn-Dixie Ford to the win by 6.4 seconds over Robert Pressley while Dale Earnhardt finished third that day. Martin went on to win six more times that year in the then titled Busch Grand National Series.

"That first win with Mark Martin was the first of many Nationwide wins with Mark at Rockingham," said Roush. "That was one of his favorite places."

Roush continued, "We've had an incredible run in an incredible series where the competition is intense. Mark Martin was important in that success with his early wins with Winn-Dixie and we've also seen more recent success with Greg Biffle, Matt Kenseth and Carl Edwards. Many of our sponsors such as Scotts, Save-A-Lot, CitiFinancial, Grainger and Gain have been there to share that success and capitalize on marketing opportunities."

Roush Fenway's 100 wins are divided between just five drivers. Martin has visited victory lane a total of 40 times followed by Carl Edwards with 20. Both Greg Biffle and Jeff Burton were tied with 16 until Biffle scored win number 17 with Roush Fenway, and Matt Kenseth has seven Nationwide wins under the team's umbrella. It's interesting to note that the number 60 has 72 wins (divided between Martin, Biffle and Edwards); the number 9 has 18 wins (all of Burton's wins and two with Martin in the seat); Kenseth has all seven wins for the number 17; and Biffle now has three wins in the number 16.

Seventy-five of Roush Fenway's 100 wins have come at speedways while 14 have come at short tracks and 11 at superspeedways. To date, the team does not have a Nationwide win on a road course. The five drivers have combined to win at a total of 24 different tracks (some have since been taken off the schedule). When it comes to tracks they love, Roush Fenway has accrued 14 Nationwide wins at Darlington followed by 10 at Rockingham and Lowe's Motor Speedway and now six at Phoenix. There are four tracks (currently on the schedule) that a series win eludes the team; Daytona, Chicagoland, Watkins Glen and Montreal. Overall a robust history in a highly competitive series that wins are not easy to come by. It's a feat that Roush respects.

"I hope to be an owner in the Nationwide Series for another 20 years and we can win another 100 races," proclaimed Roush following win number 100. "It is a great venue to fulfill the needs of our sponsors and develop young drivers. We've also found it to be a good place for our senior drivers to become acclimated with the track in the Nationwide race before they race in the Sprint Cup race the next day. It also allows the crew to gather additional information on things such as tire pressures that can help the entire organization.

"To win our 100th Nationwide race is a milestone for Roush Fenway Racing. It also helps when I look back at how I've spent my last 22 years to give me a report card showing that what we have been doing is significant and a worthwhile investment for sponsors, fans and Roush Fenway Racing at all levels."

-credit: rfr

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Jeff Burton , Matt Kenseth , Greg Biffle , Robert Pressley , Carl Edwards , Jack Roush , Mark Martin
Teams Roush Fenway Racing