BUSCH: Nazareth Speedway fact sheet

<pre> NAZARETH 200 NASCAR BUSCH SERIES RACE Fact Sheet WHAT: 14TH consecutive NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division race at Nazareth Speedway. Race number 13 of the 33-race schedule WHEN: Sunday, May 20, 2001 1:00...

<pre> NAZARETH 200

Fact Sheet

WHAT:   14TH consecutive NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division  race
        at Nazareth Speedway.  Race number 13 of the 33-race schedule

WHEN: Sunday, May 20, 2001 1:00 p.m., EDT

WHERE: Nazareth Speedway, Lehigh Valley, Pa.

TV/ RADIO: FX (Live). Live nationally on the Motor Racing Network (MRN) and locally on WZZO, Z-95 95.1 FM and WAEB 790 AM

QUALIFYING: Saturday, May 19 3:00 p.m.

SUPPORT RACE: Service Electric 100 NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series (Sunday, May 20, approximately 3:30 p.m., live on Service Electric TV)

RACE LENGTH: 200 miles (Nazareth Speedway is a one-mile oval)

DEFENDING RACE CHAMPION: Ron Hornaday (average race speed: 89.131 mph)

DEFENDING POLE SITTER: Jeff Green (27.190 seconds, 132.404 mph)


1999-Matt Kenseth 1998-Tim Fedewa 1997-Elliott Sadler 1996-Randy LaJoie 1995-Tim Fedewa 1994-Ricky Craven 1993-Robert Pressley 1992-Todd Bodine 1991-Chuck Bown 1990-Jimmy Hensley 1989-Bobby Hillin 1988-Rick Mast

TRACK RECORDS: Qualifying: Jeff Green, 132.404 mph (27.190 seconds), 2000 Race: Chuck Bown, 104.773 mph, 1991, (1 hour, 54 min., 32 sec.)

POLE WINNERS: Jeff Green, (1999) Dale Earnhardt, Jr., (1998) Elliott Sadler, (1997) David Green, (1995, 1996) Todd Bodine, (1993) Kenny Wallace, (1992, 1994) Jimmy Hensley, (1991) Davey Allison, (1990) Tommy Houston, (1989) Mike Alexander, (1988)

TICKETS: Nazareth Speedway Ticket Office: 1-888-629-RACE or 610-759-8800.

PARKING: Free on Nazareth Speedway grounds

NOTES OF INTEREST: (TX) Kevin Harvick (No. 2 AC Delco Chevrolet) has a 56-point lead over defending series champion Jeff Green for the 2001 title. Harvick tested at Nazareth last week and posted a best unofficial lap of 26.90 seconds, nearly three-tenths of a second faster than Green's qualifying record set in 2000. Harvick will pull double duty this weekend by flying back and forth between Charlotte and Nazareth to race in both The Winston and The Nazareth 200. Terry Labonte pulled the same feat two years ago and won The Winston on Saturday night before flying to Nazareth the next morning. He finished 38th after starting 15th. Harvick is expected to qualify his own car on Saturday.

No driver in any series at Nazareth Speedway has won more than two poles. Jeff Green, David Green (No. 34 AFG Glass Chevrolet) and Kenny Wallace (No. 48 Goulds Pumps Chevrolet) can each earn their third Nazareth NASCAR Busch Series pole on Saturday. World-famous Martin Guitar Company of Nazareth will present the pole winner with a hand-crafted Martin Guitar. The company also presents the pole winners from the Speedway's CART and NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series races with guitars.

Last year, Ron Hornaday became the only driver in Nazareth Speedway history to win in two different series, as he won the NASCAR Busch race to go along with his 1998 Nazareth victory in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series. Greg Biffle, (No. 60 Grainger Industrial Supply Ford) who won the 1999 Nazareth Craftsman Truck race from the pole, can match Hornaday's accomplishment with a victory in the Nazareth 200.

Elton Sawyer (No. 98 Hot Tamales/Starter's Ford) is the all-time leader in starts at Nazareth, with ten. He can surpass Tommy Houston as the career Nazareth leader in cumulative miles with a good run on Sunday. Houston accumulated 1,936 miles in nine starts and Sawyer currently has 1,748. The first three NASCAR Busch Series races were contested at 300 miles before a change was made to 200 miles in 1991.

Two-time Nazareth winner Tim Fedewa (No. 66 Phillips 66 Chevrolet) is the Nazareth NASCAR Busch Series money leader with $107,494 in eight starts. He has also led the most laps at Nazareth (237). David Green has led the most races (five) and the most times (eight). Green also holds the record for best average starting position (4.17) and best average finishing position, (6.17) despite never having won a race at Nazareth.

Teammates Elton Sawyer and Christian Elder (No. 38 Great Clips Ford) are sponsored by two local companies. Sawyer is sponsored by Just Born Candy of Bethlehem through its Hot Tamales brand while Elder is supported by East Penn Manufacturing Company near Reading through its Deka batteries brand. Both companies are bringing large groups to support their drivers.

Bobby Gerhart (No. 65 Gerhart Racing Chevrolet) of Lebanon, PA and Malvern, PA resident David Donahue, (No. 25 Team Marines Chevrolet) son of the late, legendary Team Penske driver Mark Donahue, will both attempt to race at Nazareth for the first time. Bill Hoff of Philadelphia will also try to qualify for the race. He has sponsorship from two Philadelphia companies, WMMR 93.3 FM and WTXF, FOX 29.

Mike Stefanik is the Service Electric 100 defending champion. He won his third Nazareth NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series race last year, tying him with CART legend Emerson Fittipaldi as the only other driver to win three times in one series at Nazareth Speedway. <pre> TENTATIVE SCHEDULE OF EVENTS

NASCAR Busch Series Grand National Division (NBS) Service Electric 100 NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series (FMS)

SATURDAY, MAY 19 8:00 AM Admission Gates Open 8:00 AM - 9:25 AM FMS Practice 10:30 AM FMS QUALIFYING (all positions 2-laps) 11:30 AM - 1:30 PM NBS Practice 1:45 PM - 2:30 PM Free drivers' autograph session (Chevy Trucks hospitality area inside Gate 1. A Saturday ticket is required). 3:00 PM NBS QUALIFYING (all positions 2-laps) Followed by FMS Final Practice 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM NBS Final Practice

SUNDAY, MAY 20 8:00 AM Admission Gates Open 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM Free autograph session - 2000 Olympic Gold Medallist and race Grand Marshal Marty Nothstein (Display area across from the souvenir trailers. A Sunday ticket is required). 12:30 PM Drivers Introduction 1:00 PM NAZARETH 200 NASCAR BUSCH SERIES GRAND NATIONAL DVISION RACE (200 Laps) 3:30 PM (approx) Service Electric 100 NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series Race (100 Laps)

*Times subject to change.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Matt Kenseth , Terry Labonte , Todd Bodine , Kevin Harvick , Kenny Wallace , Jeff Green , Elton Sawyer , Robert Pressley , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Ricky Craven , David Green , Rick Mast , Bobby Gerhart , Jimmy Hensley , Christian Elder , Emerson Fittipaldi , Elliott Sadler , Davey Allison
Teams Team Penske