BUSCH: Martin ranked No. 1 by fans, media

Mark Martin Ranks No. 1 In NASCAR Busch Series '25 Greatest Drivers' Polls Via Fan And Media Voting DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 15, 2006) -- Mark Martin has been ranked No. 1 among the "25 Greatest NASCAR Busch Series Drivers" in internet polls...

Mark Martin Ranks No. 1 In NASCAR Busch Series '25 Greatest Drivers' Polls Via Fan And Media Voting

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Nov. 15, 2006) -- Mark Martin has been ranked No. 1 among the "25 Greatest NASCAR Busch Series Drivers" in internet polls on NASCAR.COM and NASCARMedia.com in conjunction with the season-long celebration of the 25th anniversary of the NASCAR Busch Series and its association with series sponsor Anheuser-Busch.

Martin, the all-time series leader in wins (47) and Busch Poles (30) despite having run only one full-time season (1987) throughout his 220 starts, received the most votes in both polls, which allowed fans and media to rank their top 25 selections from a list of 41 nominees. A write-in candidate also was permitted among the 25 choices. One vote per website was allotted per fan or media member.

"We had a lot of fun racing in the Busch Series," Martin said. "There has been a lot of talent in that series over the years, both with the full-time Cup guys and some of the Busch regulars, so to be voted at the top of the top 25 really does mean a lot to me.

"I'd just like to say thanks to both the fans and the media. We've always gone out and given 100 percent to whatever we were doing and to be recognized for our effort means as much as any of the wins or any trophies."

The series' first two-time champion, Sam Ard, finished second in the NASCARMedia.com poll; followed by Dale Earnhardt Jr. in third, another multiple champion; Jack Ingram, the first series champion in 1982 (he won again in '85) in fourth and Dale Earnhardt, who won the first NASCAR Busch Series race at Daytona International Speedway in 1982, in fifth.

The NASCAR.COM fan poll ranked Earnhardt Jr. second. Kevin Harvick, the newest multiple champion following his 2006 title, finished third. Earnhardt was fourth and Martin Truex Jr., the 2004-05 series champion, was fifth.

Drivers with one or more NASCAR Busch Series titles were automatically among the list of nominees. Other criteria included a minimum of 150 series starts and/or top percentages of wins versus starts, top fives versus starts and top 10s versus starts.

Over 152,000 fans voted in the NASCAR.COM poll, while more than 160 individuals voted in the NASCARMedia.com poll. Voting began on Oct. 16 and ended Nov. 12.

The 25th anniversary NASCAR Busch Series season culminates Saturday with the Ford 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway. The race begins at 7:10 p.m. ET and will be televised on TNT.

The rankings for the NASCAR.COM and NASCARMedia.com "25 Greatest NASCAR Busch Series Drivers" polls follow.

<pre> NASCAR Busch Series 25 Greatest Drivers Poll Results

NASCAR.COM Rankings     No. votes       NASCARMedia.com Rankings   No. points
1.  Mark Martin         10,590          1.  Mark Martin            1,428
2.  Dale Earnhardt Jr.  10,250          2.  Sam Ard                1,378
3.  Kevin Harvick        9,938          3.  Dale Earnhardt Jr.     1,376
4.  Dale Earnhardt       9,039          4.  Jack Ingram            1,343
5.  Martin Truex Jr.     7,342          5.  Dale Earnhardt         1,295
6.  Harry Gant           5,963          6.  Harry Gant             1,273
7.  Matt Kenseth         5,818          7.  Kevin Harvick          1,244
8.  Jeff Burton          5,388          8.  Tommy Houston          1,239
9.  Bobby Labonte        5,204          9.  Randy LaJoie           1,113
10. Greg Biffle          4,868          10. Tommy Ellis            1,077
11. Darrell Waltrip      4,763          11. David Green             995
12. Kenny Wallace        4,508          12. Greg Biffle             988
13. Joe Nemechek         4,034          13. Jeff Green              953
14. Randy LaJoie         3,848          14. Matt Kenseth            932
15. Dale Jarrett         3,474          15. Bobby Labonte           929
16. Johnny Benson        3,413          16. Chuck Bown              922
17. Sam Ard              3,293          17. Martin Truex Jr.        898
18. David Green          3,259          18. Jeff Burton             871
19. Michael Waltrip      3,096          19. Larry Pearson           868
20. Ron Hornaday Jr.     2,967          20. Jason Keller            848
21. Jack Ingram          2,964          21. Johnny Benson           843
22. Jeff Green           2,872          22. Darrell Waltrip         813
23. Tommy Houston        2,674          23. Joe Nemechek            801
24. Jimmy Spencer        2,652          24. Rob Moroso              733
25. Brian Vickers        2,503          25. Dale Jarrett            715

NASCAR.COM results were based on actual number of votes while NASCARMedia.com results were based on a weighted points system.

-credit: nascar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Jeff Burton , Dale Jarrett , Darrell Waltrip , Matt Kenseth , Bobby Labonte , Michael Waltrip , Jason Keller , Jimmy Spencer , Kevin Harvick , Joe Nemechek , Kenny Wallace , Greg Biffle , Jeff Green , Johnny Benson , Ron Hornaday Jr. , David Green , Martin Truex Jr. , Brian Vickers , Harry Gant , Mark Martin