BUSCH: Loudon starting grid

Report from Motorsport News International NASCAR Public Relations 1997 NASCAR Busch Series Grand National Division Official Starting Grid United States Cellular 200 New Hampshire International Raceway Race 12 / May 9 Pos Car Driver ...

Report from Motorsport News International

NASCAR Public Relations

1997 NASCAR Busch Series Grand National Division Official Starting Grid United States Cellular 200 New Hampshire International Raceway Race 12 / May 9

Pos Car Driver Sponsor Make Reason 1 74 Randy LaJoie FINA Chv 1997 car owner pts 2 36 Todd Bodine Stanley Pon 1997 car owner pts 3 8 Jeff Green Diamond Ridge Chv 1997 car owner pts 4 10 Phil Parsons ChannelLock Chv 1997 car owner pts 5 64 Curtis Markham Dura-Lube Chv 1997 car owner pts 6 33 Tim Fedewa Kleenex Chv 1997 car owner pts 7 0 Buckshot Jones Aquafresh Pon 1997 car owner pts 8 3* Steve Park ACDelco Chv 1997 car owner pts 9 1 Hermie Sadler DeWalt Chv 1997 car owner pts 10 38 Elton Sawyer Barbasol Frd 1997 car owner pts 11 29 Elliott Sadler Phillips 66 Chv 1997 car owner pts 12 34 Mike McLaughlin Royal Oak Chv 1997 car owner pts 13 57 Jason Keller Slim Jim Chv 1997 car owner pts 14 88 Kevin Lepage HYPE Chv 1997 car owner pts 15 37 Mark Green Timberwolf Chv 1997 car owner pts 16 45 Andy Santerre Hunter's Specialt Chv 1997 car owner pts 17 72 Mike Dillon Detroit Gasket Chv 1997 car owner pts 18 96 Stevie Reeves Big A Auto Parts Frd 1997 car owner pts 19 43 Dennis Setzer Lance Snacks Chv 1997 car owner pts 20 4 Dale Shaw Phoenix Racing Chv 1997 car owner pts 21 63 Tracy Leslie Lysol Pon 1997 car owner pts 22 47 Jeff Fuller Sunoco Chv 1997 car owner pts 23 89* Johnny Chapman NorthStar Msports Frd 1997 car owner pts 24 99 Glenn Allen Luxaire Chv 1997 car owner pts 25 17 Matt Kenseth Kraft Singles Chv 1997 car owner pts 26 6 Joe Bessey Power Team Chv 1997 car owner pts 27 85 Shane Hall Luck's Foods Chv 1997 car owner pts 28 48 Randy Porter UniFirst Uniforms Frd 1997 car owner pts 29 32 Jason Jarrett White Rain Frd 1997 car owner pts 30 5 Brad Leighton Bayer Chv NBS race winner 31 11* Jimmy Foster Speedvision Frd Entry postmark 32 77* Jeff McClure Lear/UAW Frd Entry postmark 33 61 Mike Olsen Little Trees Chv Entry postmark 34 41 Joey McCarthy Rent-A-Wreck Chv Entry postmark 35 83 Wayne Grubb Link Belt Const. Chv Entry postmark 36 82 Kevin Grubb Va. Is for Lovers Chv Entry postmark 37 13 Ted Christopher LesCare Kitchens Chv Entry postmark 38 9 Robbie Crouch Auto Palace Pon Entry postmark 39 56 Jeff Krogh Clearwater Chv Entry postmark 40 80 Mark Krogh Clearwater Chv Entry postmark 41 76 Tom Bolles Bolles Chrysler Pon Entry postmark 42 60 Rob Wilson Ocean Spray Chv Entry postmark

Jack Durbin indy500@freenet.tlh.fl.us Motorsport News International jackd@motorsport.com (Moderators for "rec.autos.sport.info") Homepage http://www.freenet.tlh.fl.us/users/indy500/index.html

From indy500@freenet.tlh.fl.us Sun May 11 00:27:32 1997 Received: from fn3.freenet.tlh.fl.us by omega.metrics.com (8.6.12/1.37) id UAA19432; Sat, 10 May 1997 20:27:27 -0400 Received: from localhost (indy500@localhost) by fn3.freenet.tlh.fl.us (8.8.5/8.8.5) with SMTP id UAA08537 for <ras-info@motorsport.com>; Sat, 10 May 1997 20:35:55 -0400 (EDT) Date: Sat, 10 May 1997 20:35:55 -0400 (EDT) From: Jack Durbin <indy500@freenet.tlh.fl.us> To: "rec.autos.sports.info" <ras-info@omega.metrics.com> Subject: Richmond post-race notes (fwd) Message-ID: <Pine.OSF.3.95.970510203550.1258D-100000@fn3.freenet.tlh.fl.us> MIME-Version: 1.0 Content-Type: TEXT/PLAIN; charset=US-ASCII Status: RO X-Status:

Jack Durbin indy500@freenet.tlh.fl.us Motorsport News International jackd@motorsport.com (Moderators for "rec.autos.sport.info") Homepage http://www.freenet.tlh.fl.us/users/indy500/index.html

---------- Forwarded message ---------- Date: Sat, 10 May 1997 20:13:06 -0700 From: Paul Kelly <pkcny@ibm.net> To: Al Liebmann <nitrofc@webspan.net>, Angelle Seeling <suzukigirl@aol.com>, Anthony Vestal <ims777@concentric.net>, Bob Burgess <bburgess@herald.ns.ca>, Bob Irvin <75034.3345@compuserve.com>, Bob Margolis <mrpromo@mich.com>, Bob Orme <racingpr@prodigy.com>, Bobby Crisp <bobbyc@flash.net>, Casey Powell <casey@sequent.com>, Charlie Cuttone <sportsvue@aol.com>, Charlie Roberts <71045.2423@compuserve.com>, Chris Jenkins <tsnctj@aol.com>, Chris Woolwine <woolwine@phoenix.net>, Cristen Powell <cristen@sequent.com>, Dan Bennett <70651.1634@compuserve.com>, Dan Criscenti <criscenti@aol.com>, Darryl Jackman <102160.611@compuserve.com>, Dave Ferroni <foofs@aol.com>, Dave Hart <104447.2631@compuserve.com>, Dave Jeffers <73631.1167@compuserve.com>, Dave Kommel <dkommel@sprynet.com>, Dave McClelland <103456.3350@compuserve.com>, Dave Schultz <schultzrac@aol.com>, David Green <newsdesk@irace.com>, David March <marchpg@mindspring.com>, David Woodruff <dwoody430@aol.com>, Diana Crawford <crawford@gnv.fdt.net>, Don Moyer <bucktails1@aol.com>, Don Stewart <tcstew@erols.com>, Doug Pace <fastrack@efcom.com>, Ed Dykes <76710.200@compuserve.com>, Elliott Smith <educat2100@aol.com>, Elon Werner <topfuel@airmail.net>, Eric Powell <ericpowe@ind.cioe.com>, Ernie Saxton <73374.2255@compuserve.com>, Fred Staab <frediter@aol.com>, George Casteris <cableboy@aol.com>, Gerald McDornan <106244.1276@compuserve.com>, Glenn Hudson <104447.2631@compuserve.com>, Glenn Jackoviak <khkc51a@prodigy.com>, Gordy Harthorn <hart@silverlink.net>, Greg Halling <ghalling@dailynews.net>, Greg Zyla <gzyla@ptd.net>, Jack Durbin <indy500@freenet.tlh.fl.us>, Jackie Bryce <103251.2046@compuserve.com>, Jay Davis <jayd@vonl.com>, Jay Wells <jaywell1@ix.netcom.com>, Jeff Romack <pmgi@iquest.net>, Jeff Wolf <jwolf@futureone.com>, Jenny Nickell <76656.1757@compuserve.com>, Jerry Bonkowski <71061.1164@compuserve.com>, Jerry Foss <jfoss@ix.netcom.com>, Jerry Reynolds <72700.2735@compuserve.com>, Jim Roller <76433.1707@compuserve.com>, Jim Stewart <jwstew@erols.com>, Joe Benson <unclejoe@unclejoe.com>, Joe Brake <crest@gnv.fdt.net>, Joe Kaminski <kazman@prolog.net>, Joe Sprys <nmqj66a@prodigy.com>, John Crawford <media@houstonraceway.com>, John McCartney <103017.344@compuserve.com>, John Miller <miller92@earthlink.com>, Jon Asher <73313.3444@compuserve.com>, Karl Morris <wheelspin@hotmail.com>, Keith Burgan <75304.730@compuserve.com>, Ken Martin <ken@iepost.com>, Len Lehmann <lehmann@cjnetworks.com>, Les Welch <leswelch@prodigy.com>, Lesley Degenhart <ldegenhart@mslc.com>, Lisa Ellis <lellis@starnews.com>, Lori Metz <lorim@inlink.com>, Louie Brewster <lbrewste@dailybulletin.com>, Mark Armijo <mark.armijo@pni.com>, Mark Zeske <mark_zeske@beckett.com>, Michael Beard <beard@rconcepts.com>, Mickey Schultz <mschultz@bellsouth.net>, Mike Harris <mjhrva@aol.com>, NHRA Communications <105501.1410@compuserve.com>, Paul Kaminski <motorsportsradio@compuserve.com>, Pete Colaizzo <phc0714@juno.com>, Peter Johnson <johnsop1@war.wyeth.com>, Phil Burgess <ndragster@aol.com>, Randy Anderson <RAnder4370@aol.com>, Randy Hagan <htech@juno.com>, Richard Brady <ddlj23a@prodigy.com>, Rick Benjamin <103731.3477@compuserve.com>, Rick Green <103442.2611@compuserve.com>, Rick Voegelin <72467.3005@compuserve.com>, Rob Geiger <TheBytnSun@aol.com>, Rob Goodman <goodmar@rjrt.com>, Rob Lopez <info@searspoint.com>, Rob Oglesby <oglesbic@aol.com>, Robert Armstrong <robert_armstrong@tds.com>, Ron Anderson <pmgi@iquest.net>, Ron Capps <rcapps7281@aol.com>, Ron Lemasters <76752.3423@compuserve.com>, Ron Martin <c10750@aol.com>, Ryan Kindle <arkindle@aol.com>, Scott Matulis <smatulis@aol.com>, Scott Walsh <swalsh2141@aol.com>, Sidd Negretti <negretti@firebirdraceway.com>, Stan Creekmore <nwriter@earthlink.net>, Steve Bianchi <sbianchi@interpage.net>, Steve Collison <104021.3462@compuserve.com>, Steve Crumbacker <gorace@intrepid.net>, Steve Johnson <srjracing@aol.com>, Steve Jones <nhra_nitro@prodigy.com>, Steve Monte <smonte4440@aol.com>, Steve Parker <72662.401@compuserve.com>, Steve Ramirez <102126.2415@compuserve.com>, Steve Tapia <stapia@microsoft.com>, Susan Epler <first300fc@aol.com>, Sylvia Pyjar <spyjar@msmedia.com>, Ted Bishop <tedb@starwave.com>, Ted Edison <tedison65@aol.com>, Thomas Pope <74363.433@compuserve.com>, Tom Ford <jzup71a@prodigy.com>, Tom Leix <toml@midlink.com>, Tom McCarthy <tmsnake@aol.com>, Wes Sherwood <72346.1532@compuserve.com> Subject: Richmond post-race notes

May 10, 1997

Hi all:

Here are post-race notes from the Pennzoil Nationals presented by Trak Auto, completed May 10 at Richmond, Va.

Please write me at pkcny@ibm.net or call me at (315) 673-0184 with any questions or comments. Thanks for your coverage of NHRA Winston Drag Racing.

Take care! -- Paul Kelly Kelly Communications/NHRA Communications (315) 673-0184 (phone, fax) pkcny@ibm.net (e-mail)

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: NHRA Communications (818) 914-4761 POST-RACE NOTES: PENNZOIL NATIONALS PRESENTED BY TRAK AUTO, APRIL 24-27, MAY 10, RICHMOND, VA. FUNNY CAR *Randy Anderson has climbed from a tie for 15th place to a tie for second in the NHRA Winston point standings in the last three NHRA national events. He won the Fram Nationals and the Lone Star Nationals and lost in the semifinals to Chuck Etchells at this event. PRO STOCK *Warren Johnson recorded the first 200-mph speed by a Pro Stock in NHRA history, 200.13 mph, on April 25 in the GM Performance Parts Pontiac Firebird. Johnson, from Duluth, Ga., earned $25,000 for becoming the first member of the NHRA Speed-Pro 200-mph Pro Stock Club. *Warren Johnson set an NHRA speed national record of 200.53 mph in the GM Performance Parts Pontiac Firebird. He broke his record of 199.91, set at the Mac Tools Gatornationals in March 1997 at Gainesville, Fla. *Warren Johnson set an NHRA elapsed-time national record of 6.883 seconds, the quickest run in NHRA Pro Stock history. He broke his record of 6.927 set at the Chief Auto Parts Winternationals in February 1997 at Pomona, Calif. Johnson earned $15,000 from the MBNA World Record Club. *Warren Johnson became the second driver in NHRA history to appear in 100 career final rounds. Former Pro Stock driver Bob Glidden raced in 122 finals. *The field was the quickest in NHRA history and was the first in which all 16 drivers recorded a six-second time during qualifying. Mike Thomas was No. 16 at 6.983 seconds in the Gumout Pontiac Firebird. The previous quickest field came at the non-points Winston Invitational in April 1997 at Rockingham, N.C., where Ray Franks was No. 16 at 7.003 in the Franks Racing Pontiac Firebird. *Warren Johnson beat his son, Kurt Johnson, for the second time in a final round this season. Warren beat Kurt at the season-opening Chief Auto Parts Winternationals at Pomona, Calif. *Twenty-five drivers recorded a six-second pass, an NHRA record for one national event. The previous record was 15 at the non-points Winston Invitational in early April 1997 at Rockingham, N.C. PRO STOCK MOTORCYCLE *The semifinal between Matt Hines and John Myers was the quickest race in NHRA history. Hines won at 7.386 seconds on the Vance & Hines Suzuki GSXR; Myers trailed at 7.416, 182.51 on the Close Call Phone Card Suzuki GSXR. *Matt Hines set an NHRA elapsed-time national record of 7.295 seconds on the Vance & Hines Suzuki GSXR. Hines, from Whittier, Calif., broke the record of 7.321 set by Dave Schultz at the Mac Tools Gatornationals in March 1997 at Gainesville, Fla. Hines earned $3,000 from the MBNA World Record Club. Hines' pass was the first quicker than 7.300 seconds in NHRA history. *The field was the quickest in NHRA history. Ron Ayers was No. 16 at 7.573 seconds on the Mac Tools Suzuki. The previous quickest field came at the Slick 50 Nationals presented by Western Auto in March 1997 at Houston, where Brian DeLong was No. 16 at 7.624 on the J&D Racing Suzuki GSXR. -30- 5/10/97-RV6-066

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR XFINITY
Drivers Matt Kenseth , Todd Bodine , Steve Park , Jason Keller , Jeff Fuller , Mike Thomas , Matt Hines , Kurt Johnson , Warren Johnson , Ron Capps , Ron Ayers , Jeff Green , Kevin Lepage , Shane Hall , Elton Sawyer , Buckshot Jones , Mike McLaughlin , Dennis Setzer , Mark Green , David Green , Kevin Grubb , Chuck Etchells , Bob Glidden , Hermie Sadler , Jason Jarrett , Phil Parsons , John Crawford , Elliott Sadler , Johnny Chapman , Steve Johnson , Randy Po , Stevie Reeves , Ted Christopher , Eric Powell , Paul Kelly , Peter Johns , Steve J , David Wood , Bob Burgess , Cristen Powell
Teams Phoenix Racing