BUSCH: Loudon: News of note, schedule

BUSCH: Loudon: News of note, schedule
Jul 23, 2004, 12:40 AM

Hendrick Motorsports development program in full swing NEWS & NOTES Feese, Reid set to race for Hendrick ... Blake Feese and Boston Reid will jump start their careers in the NASCAR Busch Series later this year as part of Hendrick ...

Hendrick Motorsports development program in full swing


Feese, Reid set to race for Hendrick ... Blake Feese and Boston Reid will jump start their careers in the NASCAR Busch Series later this year as part of Hendrick Motorsports' driver development program. Feese, 22, is slated to make his second career start in the series Aug. 7 at Indianapolis Raceway Park, and will also appear Sept. 25 at Dover International Speedway. Reid will compete at Richmond International Raceway Sept. 10, Lowe's Motor Speedway Oct. 15 and Atlanta Motor Speedway Oct. 30. In an alliance with NEMCO Motorsports, both drivers will be behind the wheel of the No. 87 Chevrolets fielded by Joe and Andrea Nemechek.

Chevrolet leads in manufacturers' standings ... Chevrolet has a lead in the Bill France Performance Cup standings for manufacturers in the NASCAR Busch Series. Chevrolet has 12 wins and 146 points to 113 points and five wins for Ford. Dodge is in third place with 89 points and two wins following the July 10 victory by Justin Labonte (No. 44 U.S. Coast Guard Dodge) at Chicagoland Speedway. The standings are determined by a scoring system in which the highest-finishing manufacturer receives nine points, the second-highest gets six and third-highest receives four.

Leffler's team leads tight chase for McDonald's POWERade title ... The Haas CNC Racing crew of Jason Leffler (No. 00 Haas Automation Chevrolet) leads the BREWCO Motorsports crew of David Green by 27 points in the season standings for the McDonald's POWERade Drive-Thru Pit Crew of the Year Award. Team Rensi Motorsports and driver Bobby Hamilton Jr. (No. 25 U.S. Marines Corps Ford) are third, and trail Green by just 29 points. Richard Childress Racing and Ron Hornaday are in fourth, another 20 points down. Rounding out the top five are ppc Racing and driver Jason Keller (No. 22 Miller High Life Ford).


Tim Fedewa (No. 12 Supercuts Chevrolet) was the last driver to win from the Busch Pole at New Hampshire, in May 2000. ... Of drivers with four or more NASCAR Busch Series starts at New Hampshire, Bobby Hamilton Jr. has the best average finish. In four races at the facility, Hamilton Jr.'s average finish is 6.2, with his first career series win coming in May, 2002. ... When Kenny Wallace (No. 23 Stacker 2/YJ Stinger Chevrolet) won at New Hampshire in July, 1991, he led the most laps ever for a race winner -- 202 of 250 circuits. ... Chevrolet has six wins at New Hampshire to five for Ford and three for Pontiac.


"I'm thrilled to get back to the business of racing after all of the behind-the-scenes work that went into moving to our new team. It's a chance of a lifetime to be a part of an organization like Dale Earnhardt Inc. It's one of the best racing organizations in the world, built from the ground up by Dale Earnhardt's right foot. There is already a lot of history here. I'm just hoping to help contribute to that winning tradition. We tested at New Hampshire a couple of weeks ago, and I'll have to say it went pretty well, so I'm excited to get back for the race. My first order of business, though, will be to help Martin Truex win the series championship." -- Paul Menard (No. 11 Menards Chevrolet), who is slated to make his debut with Dale Earnhardt Inc. in the Siemens 200 at New Hampshire.


"A racecar and an orbiter are two completely different animals. For one, Discovery is covered with hundreds of heat-resistant tiles. [Tim] Fedewa is shown one of the tiles and told about its capabilities. He'd love to have one in the floorboard of his racecar. 'I just wish we could get some of our stuff to stand up to heat and be as light as some of NASA's material is,' Fedewa said. 'I'd have the fastest car out there every week.' Well, OK, Fedewa is dreaming. But at a place like [Kennedy Space Center], who can blame him?" -- Lee Montgomery, nascar.com.


Tommy Ellis won New Hampshire International Speedway's inaugural NASCAR Busch Series race on July 15, 1990. Seventeen caution flags slowed the race for a total of 83 laps, and it took 3 hours, 41 minutes, 58 seconds to complete the event, then the record for the longest race in terms of time in the history of the series. Since then, there has never been a repeat winner in 17 NASCAR Busch Series races at New Hampshire, and only two drivers have ever won two Busch Poles there -- Ricky Craven and Jimmy Hensley.

Fast Facts

What: Siemens 200 (Race No. 20 of 34 in the NASCAR Busch Series).
Where: New Hampshire International Speedway, Loudon, N.H.

When: 1 p.m. (ET), Saturday, July 24, 2004.

Track layout: 1.058-mile paved oval.
Race length: 211.6 miles/200 laps.

Posted awards: $1,028,302.

TV: TNT, 1 p.m. (ET).
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

2003 winner: David Green.
2003 polesitter: Kevin Harvick.

Top 10 in points: 1. Martin Truex Jr. 2,863; 2. Kyle Busch 2,811; 3. Jason Keller 2,504; 4. Ron Hornaday 2,495; 5. David Green 2,495; 6. Greg Biffle 2,487; 7. Jason Leffler 2,444; 8. Bobby Hamilton Jr. 2,393; 9. Michael Waltrip 2,293; 10. Mike Bliss 2,232

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Friday -- Practice, 9-11:15 a.m.; Qualifying, 1:30 p.m.; final practice following Featherlite Modified Series, NASCAR Touring Event.


Next article
BUSCH: Loudon: Kevin Harvick preview

Previous article

BUSCH: Loudon: Kevin Harvick preview

Next article

BUSCH: Loudon: Jamie McMurray qualifying notes

BUSCH: Loudon: Jamie McMurray qualifying notes
Load comments

About this article

Teams Hendrick Motorsports , NEMCO Motorsports
Be first to get
breaking news