BUSCH: Homestead: News of note

*Ford Snaps Chevrolet's Winning Streak In Time For Championship Weekend Big Week For Ford At Homestead-Miami As Host Of Championship Weekend Ford not only snapped Chevrolet's six-race winning streak last week at Phoenix International Raceway,...

*Ford Snaps Chevrolet's Winning Streak In Time For Championship Weekend

Big Week For Ford At Homestead-Miami As Host Of Championship Weekend

Ford not only snapped Chevrolet's six-race winning streak last week at Phoenix International Raceway, courtesy of Matt Kenseth's (No. 17 Pennzoil Ford) win, but now carries momentum into the season finale at Homestead-Miami for Ford Championship Weekend.

Although the final rankings for the Bill France Performance Cup are set for the 2006 season, still to be decided are the final tallies for wins and points among the three competing manufacturers.

Chevrolet (260 points) is the champion for the 13th time and fourth-consecutive year, and seeks its 23rd win of the season which would tie the mark for second.

Ford (203 points) reclaimed second place this season after finishing third in 2004 and aims for its eighth win of the year and second consecutive for the first time since May 2005. Dodge (183 points) is third with five wins, and is the defending race winner. Ryan Newman won from the Busch pole last year.

On The Right Track

Joe Nemechek (No. 87 NEMCO Motorsports Chevrolet) is the all-time leader in series wins at Homestead-Miami with three. No other driver has more than one victory; other winners include Kevin Harvick (2004), Kasey Kahne (No. 9 Snuggle Dodge -- 2003) and Scott Wimmer (No. 66 Yard Man-Duraflame Ford -- 2002). Kahne's win was the first of his career.

Four former Busch Pole winners at Homestead-Miami are entered. Greg Biffle (No. 16 Ameriquest Ford -- 2003), Casey Atwood (No. 27 Kleenex Ford -- 1998), Bobby Labonte (No. 77 Dollar General Chevrolet -- 1996) and Nemechek in the 1995 inaugural race.

Nemechek's five top-five finishes are second all-time at Homestead-Miami. He leads all drivers with seven top 10s in 11 races there. His next start will give him the all-time lead in that category with 12.


* Joe Nemechek, the 1992 NASCAR Busch Series champion and a native of Lakeland, Fla., is entered at Homestead-Miami and will attempt to make his first series start since the season opener at Daytona.

* Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 8 Budweiser Chevrolet) is also entered at Homestead-Miami. He'll attempt his first series appearance at the track since the second of his title seasons in 1999, when he finished second to Nemechek.

* CitiFinancial has announced it will return as the primary sponsor for the No. 90 Robert Yates Racing Ford in 2007. Stephen Leicht is scheduled to run a full season in the No. 90 car.

* Saturday marks the final NASCAR Busch Series start for sponsor ACDelco. During the past 10 years, an impressive roster of drivers has competed in the ACDelco Chevrolet, including Steve Park, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick, Johnny Sauter, Ron Hornaday Jr. and the current driver of the No. 2, Clint Bowyer. From 1997 through 2006, ACDelco drivers have earned an unrivaled three Busch Series championships, two Raybestos Rookie of the Year titles and 30 victories. In addition, ACDelco drivers have earned at least one win in each of the last 10 years, including Bowyer's victory at Dover International Speedway in September.

* Denny Hamlin (No. 20 Rockwell Automation Chevrolet) celebrates his 26th birthday on Saturday.

* The race at Homestead-Miami has been the season finale for the NASCAR Busch Series since the inaugural race at the track in 1995.

* There have been 17 different winners in 2006, the single-season record is 18 set in the 1988-89 seasons.

* Kevin Harvick's 31st top-10 finish of the season surpassed the old record of 30 held by Sam Ard since 1983. Harvick enters Homestead-Miami with a series-best 17 consecutive top 10s.

* Mike Wallace (No. 1 Miccosukee Resort Dodge) is scheduled to make his 270th career start on Saturday. The three Wallace brothers -- Mike, Kenny (381) and Rusty (42) and Rusty's son Steve (No. 64 Top Flite Dodge -- 17) have 709 series starts between them.

From The NASCAR Busch Series '25 Seasons Running' Archives

The NASCAR Busch Series' debut at Homestead-Miami Speedway came in 1995 and marked the first time the series competed in South Florida.

A field of 43 cars took the green flag with 1992 series champion and Florida native "Front Row Joe" Nemechek sitting in the pole position. Nemechek led the first 67 laps before being passed by series regular Johnny Benson.

Phil Parsons, Kenny Wallace and Tim Fedewa swapped the lead with Benson throughout most of the event, which was slowed by 13 cautions for 60 laps.

Dale Jarrett, one of the charter members of the NASCAR Busch Series, took the lead from Wallace with two laps remaining to pick up his 11th -- and most recent --career series victory.

On Deck: NASCAR Jackson-Hewitt Preseason Thunder At Daytona International Speedway

NASCAR Busch Series drivers and teams make their next on-track appearance beginning Jan. 19 at Daytona International Speedway, when the first of four test sessions for the 2007 seasons begin.

NASCAR Jackson-Hewitt Preseason Thunder for the NASCAR Busch Series is scheduled to kick off from Jan. 19-21 when odd-numbered cars per the 2006 owner points, are on track.

The second session takes place Jan. 21-23 when the even-numbered cars, per the 2006 owner points, take to the track.

Other series tests will be conducted at Las Vegas Motor Speedway (Feb. 5-6), Richmond International Raceway (March 26-27) and Lowe's Motor Speedway (May 14-15).

-credit: nascar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Dale Jarrett , Matt Kenseth , Bobby Labonte , Steve Park , Kevin Harvick , Joe Nemechek , Kenny Wallace , Greg Biffle , Mike Wallace , Ryan Newman , Casey Atwood , Johnny Benson , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Johnny Sauter , Kasey Kahne , Scott Wimmer , Phil Parsons , Clint Bowyer , Robert Yates , Denny Hamlin , Stephen Leicht
Teams Yates Racing , NEMCO Motorsports