BUSCH: Fontana: Fast facts

WHAT: AUTO CLUB 300 NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division Series Race ...

WHAT: AUTO CLUB 300 NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division Series Race #9 of 34

WHERE: California Speedway 2-Mile Banked, Paved Tri-Oval

WHEN: Saturday, April 27, 2002

DISTANCE: 300 Miles / 150 Laps

FIELD: Field consists of the fastest 36 cars through time trials. Also, seven provisional starting positions based on 2002 owner points, for maximum 43-car field. The 43rd position is reserved for a past NASCAR Busch Series champion, if needed. If unused, it will go to the next eligible owner.

TV: FOX (Live), 212/556-2467
Race Airtime: 4:00 p.m. ET (1 p.m. Local/PT)

RADIO: MRN Radio (Live), 386/947-6400
Airtime: 3:30 p.m. ET (12:30 p.m. Local/PT)


Friday, April 26:
8:15 a.m. NBS Driver Meeting/Qualifying Draw
9:15-11:15 a.m. NBS Practice
1:30 p.m. NBS Bud Pole Qualifying; (all positions)
5:30-6:30 p.m. NBS Final Practice

Saturday, April 27:
10:45 a.m. NBS Driver/Crew Chief Meeting
12:30 p.m. NBS Driver Introductions
1 p.m. Start of AUTO CLUB 300

Qualifying: 179.198 mph - Bobby Hamilton Jr, Chevrolet, April 27, 2001
Race: 155.957 mph - Hank Parker Jr, Chevrolet, April 28, 2001

THE TRACK: California Speedway joined the NASCAR Busch Series schedule in 1997. California is two miles in length, with 14 degrees of banking in the corners, 11 degrees of banking on the front straightaway and 3 degrees banking on the back straightaway. The frontstretch is 3,100 feet in length and the backstretch length is 2,500 feet.

Anheuser-Busch, Inc., Clevite, Autolite Spark Plugs, Auto Meter Products, Bowman Distribution, Competition Cams, Ford Motor Corporation, Gatorade, Goodyear Eagle Tires, Goody’s, Holley Carburetors, JE Pistons, Jesel Rocker Arms, Kar Products, Mac Tools, Mechanix Wear, Moog Chassis Parts, Moroso Ignition Wire Set, MSD Ignitions, Penske Shocks, Raybestos Brakes, Simpson Firesuits, 76 Race Gasoline, 76/NASCAR High Performance Motor Oil, Wix Air Filters.


* This is the sixth year the NASCAR Busch Series has raced at California Speedway; drivers of General Motors cars have won all five previous events. (Four Chevrolet victories, one for Pontiac.)

* Matt Kenseth, currently No. 2 in the NASCAR Winston Cup Series point standings, is the only two-time winner of the Auto Club 300, those victories in 2000 and' 01.

* In addition to his two victories, Kenseth also has two other top-five finishes in the race. He finished third in 1997 and' 98.

* Todd Bodine won the first NASCAR Busch Series race at California Speedway, in 1997. He started 28th, the deepest starting position for any of the race's previous winners.


* Coming into the Auto Club 300, the NASCAR Busch Series championship battle is shaking out to a battle between series regulars, with drivers who run partial schedules while also competing in NASCAR Winston Cup Series falling back in the points. Jack Sprague, the three-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series titlist, leads Jason Keller by 22 points, with former NASCAR Busch Series champion Randy LaJoie third, 90 points back.

* Another NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series graduate, Scott Riggs, continues to lead the Raybestos Rookie of the Year standings. But he also continues to be an overall championship contender. Riggs is fifth in the series standings, 101 points behind Sprague.

* Defending race champion Hank Parker Jr. is 20th in series points, coming into the Auto Club 300. Parker comes off a 10th-place finish last week at Talladega Superspeedway.

* The NASCAR Busch Series officially began in 1982 but the circuit has 52-year-old roots. The series originally was known as the NASCAR Sportsman Division when it was formed in 1950; it became the NASCAR Late Model Sportsman Division in 1968, and then became the NASCAR Busch Series in 1982. The first NASCAR Busch Series race was held Feb. 13, 1982 at Daytona International Speedway, won by Dale Earnhardt. Jack Ingram was the first NASCAR Busch Series champion. The Auto Club 300 will be the 605th race in the history of the NASCAR Busch Series.

NASCAR ONLINE: NASCAR's Official Internet Site on the World Wide Web can be accessed at www.nascar.com or AOL Keyword: NASCAR and offers up-to-the-minute information on NASCAR and the NASCAR Busch Series, Grand National Division.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Bobby Hamilton , Matt Kenseth , Todd Bodine , Jason Keller , Hank Parker Jr. , Jack Sprague , Scott Riggs
Teams CIP