BUSCH: Daytona II: News of note, schedule

Fedewa, Bradshaw cook up a storm on 'Dinner and a Movie' Stremme's team takes pit crew award NEWS & NOTES Fedewa, Bradshaw to appear on TBS' 'Dinner and a Movie' ... The interest Tim Fedewa (No. 12 Mike & Ike's Chevrolet) has in cooking will...

Fedewa, Bradshaw cook up a storm on 'Dinner and a Movie'
Stremme's team takes pit crew award


Fedewa, Bradshaw to appear on TBS' 'Dinner and a Movie' ... The interest Tim Fedewa (No. 12 Mike & Ike's Chevrolet) has in cooking will be apparent on July 19, when he and FitzBradshaw Racing co-owner Terry Bradshaw will appear on TBS' "Dinner and a Movie." Fedewa and Bradshaw will be guest chefs on the show, which will feature the movie "Jerry McGuire." A recipe is created on the show to compliment the featured movie, and Fedewa and Bradshaw will be working on "Show Me the Bunny," a play on the movie's famous "Show me the money" line.

Chevrolet builds on lead in manufacturers' standings ... Chevrolet has built a fairly comfortable lead in the Bill France Performance Cup standings for manufacturers in the NASCAR Busch Series. Chevrolet has 12 wins and 136 points following the June 26 win by Ron Hornaday (No. 2 ACDelco Chevrolet) at The Milwaukee Mile to 98 points and four wins for Ford. Dodge is in third place with 76 points and one win. The standings are determined by a scoring system in which the highest-finishing manufacturer receives nine points, the second-highest gets six, third-highest receives four and fourth-highest receives three.

Stremme's team claims Milwaukee McDonald's POWERade title ... The Braun Racing crew of David Stremme (No. 32 TrimSpa X32 Dodge) won the McDonald's POWERade Drive-Thru Pit Crew of the Race Award for last Saturday's race at Milwaukee. The Haas CNC Racing crew of Jason Leffler (No. 00 Haas Automation Chevrolet) leads the BREWCO Motorsports crew of David Green (No. 37 Timber Wolf Pontiac) by just one point in the season standings.


Dale Earnhardt Jr. (No. 81 Kentucky Fried Chicken Chevrolet) started from the pole and led every lap of last year's July race at Daytona, and Earnhardt's win this February was his third straight in the season opener. ... Randy LaJoie (No. 82 Jani-King Chevrolet) has three wins at Daytona, in 1997, '99 and '01. ... Martin Truex Jr. (No. 8 Bass Pro Shops Chevrolet) captured the first Busch Pole of his career this February at Daytona. ... Kenny Wallace (No. 23 Stacker 2/YJ Stinger Chevrolet) and Michael Waltrip (No. 99 Aaron's Chevrolet) are tied for third on the all-time list of top-10 finishes at Daytona, with seven, the most of any driver entered in this year's Winn-Dixie 250 presented by PepsiCo. Waltrip's five top-five finishes at Daytona are fifth all-time, and again, most of any driver entered in this week's event. Wallace captured his first career Busch Pole at Daytona in February 1989, and went on to finish 10th, his first career top 10. ... David Green scored the first Busch Pole of his career at Daytona in February 1991. ... In five starts at Daytona, Johnny Sauter (No. 27 Kleenex/Scott Brand Products Pontiac) has an average finish of 7.8. He finished second to Earnhardt Jr. in February. ... Chevrolet has 16 wins in NASCAR Busch Series competition at Daytona, to seven for Pontiac and one for Ford.


"It's the most famous track that we travel to and it's where everyone wants to win. So many legendary drivers have won there. The win column at that track is basically a duplicate list of the [International] Motorsports Hall of Fame. When you look at all of the history and excitement associated with Daytona, it's easy to understand why teams put so much time and effort into racing there." -- Johnny Sauter.

"The two teams ahead of us are very strong, but so are we and it's not over until we get to Homestead. After 2003, we felt like our restrictor-plate program needed some attention, especially if we wanted to win the championship. It's not the key to a championship but, the three plate races we run are pretty important because with a good, fast car and a great pit crew, you can make things happen. So now it's up to me to get to victory lane." -- David Green, on the battle for the 2004 NASCAR Busch Series championship and racing at Daytona.

You're either fast, or you're not." -- Ricky Viers, crew chief for Kevin Harvick and Clint Bowyer (#21 Reese's Peanut Butter Cups Chevrolet) on Daytona.


Even though the organization had won the previous year's NASCAR Busch Series championship, it wasn't the happiest of moods around the BACE Motorsports camp when teams checked into Daytona International Speedway for the 1997 season opener. Team owner Bill Baumgardner and Randy LaJoie had been through a round of rather heated contract negotiations, and at times, it was touch-and-go whether LaJoie would continue as the team's driver. Baumgardner and LaJoie, however, reached a tentative peace and went racing at Daytona. What happened? They won the race, of course, with LaJoie leading twice for a race-high 56 laps. He beat Todd Bodine to the checkered flag by less than 2/10ths of a second. At the end of the year, Baumgardner, LaJoie and the rest of the BACE Motorsports camp celebrated a second straight NASCAR Busch Series championship.

Fast Facts

What: Winn-Dixie 250 presented by PepsiCo (Race No. 18 of 34 in the NASCAR Busch Series).
Where: Daytona International Speedway, Daytona Beach, Fla.
When: 8 p.m. (ET), Friday, July 2.

Track layout: 2.5-mile high-banked paved tri-oval.
Race length: 250 miles/100 laps.

Posted awards: $1,389,759.

TV: FX, 8 p.m. (ET).
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

2003 winner: Dale Earnhardt Jr.
2003 polesitter: Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Top 10 in points: 1. Martin Truex Jr. 2,572. 2. Kyle Busch 2,544. 3. David Green 2,292. 4. Greg Biffle 2,245. 5. Bobby Hamilton Jr. 2,227. 6. Jason Keller 2,225. 7. Ron Hornaday 2,223. 8. Jason Leffler 2,174. 9. Michael Waltrip 2,092. 10. Mike Bliss 2,003.

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Thursday -- Practice, 9-10:30 a.m.; Practice, 11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m.; Qualifying, 5:30 p.m.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt Jr. , Michael Waltrip , Todd Bodine , Jason Leffler , Kenny Wallace , Greg Biffle , Bobby Hamilton Jr. , Ron Hornaday Jr. , David Green , Johnny Sauter , Mike Bliss , Martin Truex Jr. , David Stremme , Clint Bowyer , Kyle Busch