BUSCH: Cup drivers who will compete at Michigan Speedway

13 NEXTEL CUP DRIVERS EXPECTED TO COMPETE IN NASCAR BUSCH SERIES DOMINO'S PIZZA 250 AT MIS Four Current NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Drivers Entered Are Former Busch Series Winners at MIS BROOKLYN, Mich. - Fans who attend the NASCAR Busch Series...


Four Current NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Drivers Entered Are Former Busch Series Winners at MIS

BROOKLYN, Mich. - Fans who attend the NASCAR Busch Series Domino's Pizza 250 on Saturday, August 20 at Michigan International Speedway will once again get the flavor of the NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series, as 13 drivers from NASCAR's top series are expected to compete in the event.

The 13 NEXTEL Cup drivers entered have a total of 43 career Busch Series starts with four wins among them. Michael Waltrip leads the NEXTEL Cup contingent with nine Busch Series starts and a victory in 2002 at MIS.

Highlighting the list of Cup stars competing in the Busch race is Bill Elliott (#6 Lawry's Dodge), who is making his third career Busch Series start at MIS, but first since 1993.

Also expected to compete is Bobby Labonte (#19 Eckrich Chevrolet), who is a former Busch Series winner at MIS in 1994. Labonte last competed in an MIS Busch Series race in 1998, but is looking forward to racing in the Domino's Pizza 250 on Saturday.

"Michigan has always been my favorite track, so to run the Eckrich car in the Busch Series race there is a pretty neat deal," said Labonte. "It's one of those tracks I feel comfortable at and have always found that I can get around there pretty good. It's always a treat to go to Michigan and when you run good there it helps. We're looking forward to running well on Saturday and, hopefully, carrying that over to our Interstate Batteries Monte Carlo on Sunday."

Other NEXTEL Cup regulars expected to compete include, 2003 winner Kevin Harvick (#21 Reese's Chevrolet), Michael Waltrip (#99 Domino's Pizza Chevrolet), 2001 winner Ryan Newman (#39 Alltel Dodge), Kasey Kahne (#38 Great Clips Racing Dodge), Greg Biffle (#66 Duraflame Ford), Jeremy Mayfield (#64 Miller High Life Light Dodge owned by Rusty Wallace), Joe Nemechek (#87 Cellular One Chevrolet), Sterling Marlin (#40 Monaco Coach Dodge), Carl Edwards (#60 Charter Communications Ford), Dale Jarrett (#90 CitiFinancial Ford) and Brian Vickers (#57 Ore-Ida Chevrolet).

It is Jarrett's first Busch Series appearance at MIS since 1998 and Mayfield's first at MIS.

The NEXTEL Cup Series stars will undoubtedly battle with the NASCAR Busch Series regulars such as Reed Sorenson, Clint Bowyer and Jason Keller. However, the driver everyone is chasing in the points standings is defending series champ Martin Truex Jr., who holds a commanding 122 point lead over Bowyer.

Driving for Dale Earnhardt Inc., Truex easily has the best record to date in the series. He has won at Talladega, Dover, Daytona, New Hampshire, Indianapolis and at the road course in Mexico, and has 16 top-10 finishes in 2005. Surprisingly he only has one pole this season at Gateway. Truex will make the jump to the NEXTEL Cup Series in 2006, driving a third Cup car for DEI.

Trailing Truex in the standings is Bowyer, who has also been a picture of consistency during the season. Bowyer has been in the top-four in the season standings since the second race of the year, eventually moving up to second. Bowyer's season highlight came when he won his first career Busch Series race at Nashville on June 12. He has 13 top-10 and seven top-five finishes this season.

Tickets are still available for the NASCAR Busch Series Domino's Pizza 250 on August 20, which will feature a post-race concert performed by the country sensations Josh Turner and Sugarland approximately one-hour after the completion of the Domino's Pizza 250. The concert, which is free to fans with a Domino's Pizza 250 ticket stub, will be held in the Water Tower Lot across from the Speedway's administration building outside turn 1 of the track.

To purchase tickets for the Domino's Pizza 250 or the ARCA RE/MAX Series Hantz Group 200 on August 19, log on to www.MISpeedway.com, or call the MIS ticket hotline at 1-800-354-1010. The MIS ticket hotline is open from 9:00A.M. - 9:00 P.M., seven days a week throughout the upcoming race weekend.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Drivers Dale Earnhardt , Dale Jarrett , Bobby Labonte , Rusty Wallace , Michael Waltrip , Greg Biffle , Sterling Marlin , Ryan Newman , Kasey Kahne , Martin Truex Jr. , Brian Vickers , Carl Edwards , Clint Bowyer , Reed Sorenson