USG to Sponsor Rookie of the Year

USG to sponsor NCTS rookie program DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 3, 1999) Rookie drivers in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series will compete for $37,500 in 1999 through a program newly sponsored by USG Corporation, a global leader in the...

USG to sponsor NCTS rookie program

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (March 3, 1999) Rookie drivers in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series will compete for $37,500 in 1999 through a program newly sponsored by USG Corporation, a global leader in the manufacturing and distribution of building materials.

The award includes a $10,000 prize paid to the 1999 USG SHEETROCK Brand Rookie-of-the-Year and $750 to the top-finishing official rookie candidate in each of the season's 25 events, beginning with the March 20 Florida Dodge Dealers 400 at Miami-Homestead Speedway.

An additional $8,750 will be paid to runner-up finishers among official USG SHEETROCK Brand Rookie-of-the-Year candidates -- including $2,500 to the No. 2-ranked driver in final standings of the special competition point system.

"The continuing rise in popularity of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series and its 1999 television package, which includes an exclusive cable agreement with ESPN, make the series very attractive to major corporations like USG," said Brett Yormark, NASCAR Managing Director of Corporate Sponsorships. "We're excited about their plans to leverage their involvement in the series with both their customers and employees."

Chicago-based USG Corporation (NYSE: USG) reported 1998 sales of $3.1 billion. The company and its subsidiaries are market leaders in key product groups: gypsum wallboard and related gypsum products, joint compound, cement board, ceiling tile and grid, and building products distribution.

USG SHEETROCK Brand Products are among the most widely recognized and well-respected names in the building industry.

"USG is thrilled to be in a partnership with NASCAR," said Rob Waterhouse, Director of Marketing for USG. "The relationship allows USG to communicate our appreciation of this exciting sport with thousands of customers who are loyal NASCAR fans. Furthermore, as the sponsor of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Rookie-of-the-Year, USG is proud to recognize the hot, new drivers who make this racing series so exciting."

The NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series' 1997 rookie-of-the-year, Kenny Irwin, finished third in the recent NASCAR Winston Cup Series Daytona 500. Last season's top freshman, Greg Biffle, drives Roush Racing's Grainger Ford and is expected to be a top contender for the 1999 NCTS championship. "Success as a rookie competitor in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series can be a barometer of a driver's future in NASCAR," said Dennis Huth, vice president for administration. "Kenny Irwin certainly is an example of the kind of driver who has benefited from the tough, intense competition the Series has to offer. Other former Series rookies, like Greg Biffle, Bryan Reffner, Andy Houston, Stacy Compton, Rick Crawford and Randy Tolsma, are week-in, week-out contenders to win NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series races. We welcome USG as a partner in helping develop the division's stars of tomorrow."

In 1998, the top two contenders for the freshman championship -- Biffle and Houston -- entered the season's final race just a single point apart. This season's USG SHEETROCK Brand Rookie-of-the-Year candidates will include Mike Stefanik, who captured simultaneous NASCAR Touring championships in Featherlite Modified Series and Busch North Series in 1997-98; Tim Steele, a three-time Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) Bondo Mar-Hyde champion; and Scott Hansen, one of the nation's top late model stock competitors.

Year-end point standings of the USG SHEETROCK Brand Rookie-of-the-Year Award reflect a special competition based upon a driver's best 14 finishes. Points are awarded for feature starts and feature finishes, with bonus points awarded for top-10 finishes. Bonus points, based upon performance, are awarded three times during the season and at season's conclusion. Candidates also will be graded by a special NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series USG SHEETROCK Brand Rookie-of-the-Year Panel.

Source: NASCAR Online

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Greg Biffle , Andy Houston , Stacy Compton , Rick Crawford , Tim Steele , Randy Tolsma , Scott Hansen