Texas II: News of note, schedule

NEWS & NOTES ETC. ... Busch's third win of the season clinched Chevrolet's sixth NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series manufacturer title and first since 2002. The trophy gives GM a sweep of NASCAR's three national touring series. The...


ETC. ... Busch's third win of the season clinched Chevrolet's sixth NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series manufacturer title and first since 2002. The trophy gives GM a sweep of NASCAR's three national touring series. The 20-year-old Busch has three starts left in which to match or better the victory mark of his older brother Kurt, who won four times en route to Raybestos Rookie of the Year honors in 2000. ... Busch is the only fulltime NASCAR NEXTEL Cup competitor entered in this week's Silverado 350. ... Mike Skinner (No. 5 Toyota Tundra Toyota) can match two series records for consecutive poles by defending his record, 182.902 mph mark set in June. In sight are consecutive superspeedway poles (three, last accomplished in 2002 by Jason Leffler) and same track poles (three by Ron Fellows at Watkins Glen International, 1997-99). Skinner's Atlanta pole, his sixth of the year, clinched the season's $10,000 Bud Pole Award. ... The Silverado 350 is the 15th race to be run at TMS, - most of any track -- although Phoenix International Raceway will match that number on Nov. 11. Terry Cook (No. 10 Ford Power Stroke Diesel by International Ford) and Rick Crawford (No. 14 Circle Bar Truck Corral Ford) have competed in all 14 previous events. ... Jack Sprague (No. 60 Jeff Wyler Toyota) is the only series champion to win at Texas in his title year. Sprague won the spring race in 2001. Three champions -- Sprague, Greg Biffle and Travis Kvapil -- count TMS victories on their resumes. Sprague and Setzer are the track's only double winners. ... DW's Boogity Grill will sponsor the No. 38 Red Horse Racing Toyota of Memphis winner Brandon Whitt in the season's remaining three races. ... Minnesota native Joey Miller will finish out the season in the Darrell Waltrip Motorsports No. 12 Toyota. Miller was 10th at Atlanta in the 20-year-old driver's second start with the team.


Roush Racing team to beat at Texas Motor Speedway ... Although only one of the team's nine Texas Motor Speedway victories has come in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series, Roush Racing is hands-down the most successful at TMS. Greg Biffle won the spring truck race in 2000 en route to a record, million dollar championship season, Jack Roush's first as a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series team owner.


"I knew we had set the record last year by being the only female to lead a race in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series. I didn't realize it expanded the record number of lead changes during the series. That is pretty awesome. That just tells you how competitive this series has become -- having multiple leaders in each race." -- Deborah Renshaw, No. 8 Heritage Dodge, who became the season record-extending 37th different race leader last Saturday at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

"We decided that this truck ran so well at Atlanta that it was really what we needed to bring to Texas. The guys at the shop have worked extremely hard to turn this truck around in time to leave Tuesday morning. Everyone on this team knows we are capable of winning a few more races before the season ends and they continue to give 100 percent effort to make it happen." -- Ricky Craven, No. 99 Superchips Ford, whose ninth-place Atlanta finish moved the team back into the top 10 in NASCAR Craftsman Truck standings.


The final three races of the 1995 season were run on three configurations of racetracks -- a road course (Infineon, then Sears Point, Raceway), a short track (Mesa Marin Raceway) and a mile track (Phoenix International Raceway). Mike Skinner finished third, first and first nailing down the inaugural NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series championship.


In 2000, Greg Biffle became the only NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion to lock up the title prior to the final race being run. Biffle clinched at Texas Motor Speedway by finishing 25th in the O'Reilly 400. With two races remaining on the 2005 schedule after this week's event, there is no mathematical possibility of the champion being crowned at TMS.

Fast Facts

Next Event: Silverado 350. (Race No. 23 of 25).

Where: Texas Motor Speedway (Fort Worth, Texas).

When: 9:15 p.m. ET Friday, Nov. 4.

Track layout: 1.5-mile banked paved oval.
Race length: 220.5 miles/147 laps.

Posted awards: $543,771.

TV: SPEED Channel, 9 p.m. ET.
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

2004 winner: Todd Bodine.
2004 polesitter: Mike Skinner.

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Thursday -- Practice 1:00 p.m. -- 2:00 p.m. and 2:30 p.m. -- 3:30 p.m. Saturday -- Qualifying 7:00 p.m. Trucks impounded after qualifying.

Top 10 drivers: 1. Ted Musgrave 3,158. 2. Dennis Setzer 3,107. 3. Ron Hornaday Jr. 2,915. 4. Todd Bodine 2,902. 5. Bobby Hamilton 2,844. 6. Mike Skinner 2,823. 7. Jimmy Spencer 2,769. 8. David Starr 2,737. 9. Ricky Craven 2,709. 10. Matt Crafton 2,707.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Bobby Hamilton , Darrell Waltrip , Todd Bodine , Jason Leffler , Mike Skinner , Jimmy Spencer , David Starr , Greg Biffle , Ron Fellows , Ted Musgrave , Ricky Craven , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Terry Cook , Rick Crawford , Matt Crafton , Brandon Whitt , Jack Roush , Deborah Renshaw , Joey Miller , Travis Kvapil
Teams Red Horse Racing