Milwaukee: News and notes, schedule

News and notes: Record-matching 28th win for Ultra Motorsports in Memphis ... Musgrave's June 21 victory at Memphis Motorsports Park was win No. 28 for Jim and Marlene Smith's Ultra Motorsports. That tied the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series mark...

News and notes:

Record-matching 28th win for Ultra Motorsports in Memphis ... Musgrave's June 21 victory at Memphis Motorsports Park was win No. 28 for Jim and Marlene Smith's Ultra Motorsports. That tied the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series mark held by Roush Racing. The record was set Oct. 26, 2001 when Greg Biffle won at Phoenix International Raceway. Smith matched the record on the same day he became the only team owner to start all 200 series events.

First Bud Pole for Jon Wood ... Roush driver Jon Wood (No. 50 Roush Racing Ford) broke another team dry spell at Memphis when the 21-year-old won his first series Bud Pole. Roush's last pole winner was Kurt Busch, who also won the Oct. 28, 2000 event at California Speedway. Wood, dislodged by Musgrave from the Memphis lead with 14 laps remaining, finished fourth.

Hamilton within shouting distance of race leader record ... The O'Reilly 200 marked the eighth consecutive race that Hamilton has led. He's closing in on Mike Skinner's series record of 10, a streak that began Aug. 1, 1996 at Indianapolis Raceway Park and ran through Oct. 13, 1996 at Mesa Marin Raceway. Hamilton will be making his first NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series start at The Milwaukee Mile.

Cook, Crawford get honorary titles for drag fest ... Sunday's Sears Craftsman NHRA Nationals at Gateway International Raceway will find Cook in the Honorary Starter's role, while Crawford has been named the event's Grand Marshal. They're part of a cross promotion that culminates with the July 19 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Dodge Ram 200 at the St. Louis area track where Cook is the defending winner.


Home turf advantage for four in GNC 200 ... Kvapil, Musgrave, Paul Menard (No. 33 Turtle Wax Chevrolet) and Rich Bickle (No. 15 Fasscore/Vokal Clothing Dodge) all list Wisconsin hometowns. Tina Gordon (No. 31 Scotch Transparent Duct Tape Dodge) also has a Wisconsin connection; team owners Bob and Shelly Brevak live in the state and will be making their 31st appearance in a race at The Milwaukee Mile.

Cook miles leader among entered drivers ... Cook, the defending GNC 200 winner, has led 131 laps/131 miles at State Fair Park. Next is Jason Leffler (No. 2 Team ASE Racing/Carquest Dodge) with 43. The all-time leader is Jack Sprague with 34.7 percent of all laps/miles led -- 446 of 1,529. Ironically, Sprague won only once at the venue, in 1996.

Ultra crew member to sing National Anthem at Milwaukee ... Doug Schaub, who mans the catch can when Leffler's Dodge hits pit road, will sing the National Anthem prior to Saturday's GNC 200. Schaub is an aspiring musician who has recorded several original country songs.


"After I tore up two trucks in one weekend at Dover due to a lack of patience, we sort of ran out of trucks for a few weeks until the guys got caught up repairing them." -- Carl Edwards (No. 99 Roush Racing Ford), who's rebounded with top-five finishes at Texas and Memphis.

"It's a one-mile track (but) it still plays out like a short track and it's a lot of fun to race." -- Hank Parker Jr. (No. 75 Spears Manufacturing Chevrolet) on The Milwaukee Mile, where he finished 20th in last year's NASCAR Busch Series GNC Live Well 250.

"It is like old home week for me. I competed in off-road events all over the state for a number of years and have tons of friends and fans." -- Brendan Gaughan (No. 62 Orleans Racing Dodge).

"I'll be depending on my teammates to help me out there until I get acclimated with the track." -- Bobby Hamilton (No. 4 Square D Dodge), who finds the tables turned as he visits The Milwaukee Mile in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series for the first time.

"I don't really think about it but if I had a request for my birthday, I think I'd like a top-10 finish." -- Randy Seals, crew chief for Bill Lester (No. 8 Dodge Motorsports Dodge), who'll celebrate his 36th birthday on Saturday. The team's best finish in 2 ½ seasons of NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series competition is 11th.


The Milwaukee Mile, in addition to crowning a different winner each year, has been a gallery of NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champions. The first five winners of the GNC 200 (the GNC 150 in 1995) all went on to win the series title. Those winners, in order, are Skinner, Sprague, Ron Hornaday Jr., Biffle and Bliss. Milwaukee is the only series track running continuously from the inaugural season without a repeat winner.

Fast Facts

GNC 200 (No. 9 of 25).
The Milwaukee Mile
3 p.m. ET, Saturday, June 28.

TV: SPEED Channel, 3 p.m. ET.
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

Pre-race schedule (all times local):
Friday --
Practice, 11 - 11:55 a.m. and 1 - 1:45 p.m.
Qualifying, 3 p.m. Final practice 4:30 - 5:30 p.m.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Rich Bickle , Jason Leffler , Mike Skinner , Greg Biffle , Kurt Busch , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Jack Sprague , Jon Wood , Tina Gordon , Bill Lester , Brendan Gaughan , Paul Menard , Carl Edwards