Memphis: News of note, schedule

Setzer fourth series competitor to reach $3 million in career winnings NEWS & NOTES Setzer reaches milestone, Crafton is next ... The $67,600 won by Dennis Setzer at Texas Motor Speedway pushed the veteran past the $3 million mark...

Setzer fourth series competitor to reach $3 million in career winnings


Setzer reaches milestone, Crafton is next ... The $67,600 won by Dennis Setzer at Texas Motor Speedway pushed the veteran past the $3 million mark (exact total $3,020,033) in career winnings. Setzer is the first of four drivers who have competed or are currently competing in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series to reach the $3-million milestone with every dollar coming from a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series team. The others are Jack Sprague, Ron Hornaday and Joe Ruttman, whose career winnings include monies while racing in NASCAR's premier series. Matt Crafton (No. 6 GM Goodwrench Chevrolet) would become the series' 25th million-dollar winner by finishing second in the O'Reilly 200. Crafton enters this week's race having won $976,549.

Etc. ... Setzer leads the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series championship standings after the series' fourth consecutive race of 2004. His advantage is 50 points over Carl Edwards. ... All six winners this year are ranked among the top 10 in points with Dover winner Chad Chaffin (No. 18 Dickies Dodge) moving into the elite by finishing fifth at Texas, marking the first time in 39 career starts that the Smyrna, Tenn., competitor has fashioned back-to-back top-five finishes on the series. ... The halfway race leader has yet to win in 2004, the latest being Musgrave who lost his hold on the No. 1 spot with just five laps of the O'Reilly 400K remaining. The leader of the most laps has won just two of seven races. ... Terry Cook (No. 10 Power Stroke Diesel by International Ford) and Crawford are the only drivers to have competed in all six series races at Memphis Motorsports Park. Cook finished second in 2002. ... Cook and Crafton have winning connections at this week's venue: Cook's ppc Racing won the 1999 NASCAR Busch Series Sam's Town 250 with Jeff Green at the wheel while Crafton's owner, Kevin Harvick, captured the event a year later. ... Last year's O'Reilly 200 featured the closest finish in the event. Musgrave edged Kvapil by just .115 second. Five of the six races have been decided by less than one second. ... Charlie Wilson has been named crew chief of Steve Park's No. 62 Orleans Racing Dodge. Wilson was named interim crew chief in mid-May at Lowe's Motor Speedway. The team also promoted Danny Stockman to truck chief. ... Many series drivers will visit St. Jude Children's Research Hospital on Friday.


Trio looks to extend 'hot streak' in Memphis ... Three competitors -- Setzer, Kvapil and Musgrave -- hope to extend their streaks of top-five finishes at Memphis Motorsports Park. Setzer's string is the longest, five races beginning in 1999, while Kvapil and Musgrave are working on two straight appearances among the top five. Crawford, on the other hand, has failed to complete just three laps -- 2.25 of 1,200 miles -- at Memphis Motorsports Park.


"We definitely thought that we would be much better at short tracks. Memphis is considered a short track, but it seems kind of big because it's a fast short track." -- David Reutimann (No. 17 NTN Bearings Toyota), winner of the NASCAR Busch Series pole at Memphis in 2003 as a substitute for Greg Biffle, whose best series finishes so far -- a pair of thirds -- have come on superspeedways.

"All my knowledge about Memphis, again, has come from my peers and watching tapes -- sometimes I spend more time watching tapes than some NFL coaches." -- Raybestos Rookie contender Brandon Whitt (No. 38 Cure Autism Now/McMillin Homes Ford).

"We've set high goals for ourselves, but that is the only way to do it. Setting easy goals won't get you anywhere in life, or in racing." -- Carl Edwards, who says his Roush Racing team will be unsatisfied with anything less than the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series championship.

"Maybe Memphis owes me one, and maybe the No. 2 truck owes me one. Now that I am driving the No. 2 Team ASE/Carquest Dodge I plan on capitalizing on that." -- Andy Houston, who lost fourth place on the final lap of the 2000 O'Reilly 200 in an incident with Mike Wallace, at the time the driver of the Ultra Motorsports No. 2 Dodge.

"Every time I've led there in the past, something has broken on my truck so my finishes look like I've had a bad race. Another help to me is my son (Bobby Jr.) won the NASCAR Busch Series race there last year. He told me a trick or two I'll be trying this time." -- Bobby Hamilton (No. 4 Square D Dodge), winner of a Bud Pole and twice a race leader at Memphis.


Memphis Motorsports Park hosts the first of three NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series events to be held in 2004 in the Volunteer State. August races at Nashville Superspeedway and Bristol Motor Speedway follow. No driver has captured all three races although Ron Hornaday came close in 1998. Hornaday won at Memphis and Bristol but wound up seventh in Nashville, a race held at the Music City Motorplex at the Tennessee State Fairgrounds.

Fast Facts

What:  O'Reilly 200 (Race No. 8 of 25).

Where: Memphis Motorsports Park, Millington, Tenn.
When: 3 p.m. ET, Saturday, June 19.

Track layout: .75-Mile paved speedway.
Race length: 200 laps/150 miles.

Posted awards: $513,834.

TV: SPEED Channel, 3 p.m. ET.
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

2003 winner: Jon Wood.
2003 polesitter: Ted Musgrave.

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Friday -- Practice 11:45 a.m. -- 1:45 p.m. Qualifying 3:00 p.m. Final practice 4:30 -- 5:30 p.m., time permitting.

Top 10 in Points: 1. Dennis Setzer 1,109. 2. Carl Edwards 1,059. 3. Rick Crawford 986. 4. Mike Skinner 982. 5. Bobby Hamilton 946. 6. Jack Sprague 927. 7. David Reutimann 908. 7. Jon Wood 900. 9. Matt Crafton 897. 10. Chad Chaffin 879.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Bobby Hamilton , Steve Park , Mike Skinner , Kevin Harvick , Greg Biffle , Jeff Green , Mike Wallace , Andy Houston , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Ted Musgrave , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Terry Cook , Jon Wood , Matt Crafton , Joe Ruttman , Chad Chaffin , David Reutimann , Carl Edwards , Brandon Whitt