Las Vegas: News of note, schedule

* IRL Champion Buddy Lazier Debuts in Las Vegas NCTS, Etc: Bowyer Joins The Club. Clint Bowyer had no luck in Saturday's New Hampshire 200, exiting the race on the 57th lap when his No. 2 Camping World Chevrolet was involved in an accident.

* IRL Champion Buddy Lazier Debuts in Las Vegas

NCTS, Etc:

Bowyer Joins The Club. Clint Bowyer had no luck in Saturday's New Hampshire 200, exiting the race on the 57th lap when his No. 2 Camping World Chevrolet was involved in an accident. Bowyer, however, came back on Sunday to win his first NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series event and become the 18th competitor to win in all three of NASCAR's national series.

Perfect No Longer. Ron Hornaday Jr. became New Hampshire International Speedway's first repeat winner Saturday with a convincing performance in which the two-time series champion lead 174 of 200 laps. Ironically, Hornaday's 1996 victory saw the Californian lead only the final lap -- the first series winner to lead only the last serial.

National Anthem. Mary Wilson, one of the original Supremes, will sing the National Anthem prior to the Smith's Las Vegas 350.

Moving -- again. Dennis Setzer will drive the No. 18 Fastenal Dodge subbing for Ken Schrader, who is competing in the Dodge Dealers 400 at Dover International Speedway. Clay Rogers remains in the No. 75 Spears Manufacturing Chevrolet following his 12th-place finish in New Hampshire.

Indianapolis 500 Winner, IRL Champion Lazier To Make NASCAR Craftsman Truck Debut At LVMS

If former Indy Racing League champion Tony Stewart can win a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race, why not Buddy Lazier?

Lazier, who won the IRL championship in 2000 and the Indianapolis 500 in 1996, is the latest open-wheel star to sit in a NASCAR Craftsman Truck.

The Vail, Colo., native will drive Billy Ballew's No. 15 Flanders Beef Patties Chevrolet. Lazier tested with the team in 2005 at Lowe's Motor Speedway.

Lazier will join Jacques Villeneuve in the Smith's Las Vegas 350, marking the first time two Indianapolis 500 champions have started the same series event.

"IROC really was an eye-opener for me into the world of stock car racing," said Lazier, whose four IRL starts at LVMS include a third-place finish in 2000. "Racing with the best in the NEXTEL Cup, Busch Series and others was a blast.

"It was probably the most fun racing experience for me in my 20 years of professional motorsports." Lazier is the second Indianapolis 500 veteran to drive Ballew's Chevrolet. John Andretti made four starts for the team in 2005.

"I look forward to a good start and finish and see what develops from there," said the 39-year-old competitor.

Larry Foyt is the most recent of 21 "500" veterans to compete in the series. He finished 32nd at Daytona in February.

Manufacturers' Standings: Win No. 5 For Chevrolet

Ron Hornaday Jr.'s New Hampshire 200 victory snapped a two-race Toyota win streak at the 1.058-mile track. It was the GM brand's fifth victory of the 2007 season.

Toyota, however, has won nine times and continues to hold a solid lead of 16 points in the 2007 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Manufacturers' Championship.

2007 Manufacturers' Championship Point Standings
Toyota 127
Chevrolet 111
Ford 103
Dodge 55

In The Loop:

The miniscule 29-point lead Ron Hornaday Jr. enjoys over Mike Skinner might evaporate if past Las Vegas Motor Speedway trends continue.

Skinner is the defending champion of the race, and has won three consecutive poles there. Over the past two Las Vegas races, Skinner holds top marks in Driver Rating (131.5), Average Running Position (3.3), Laps in the Top 15 (298). He also has 45 Fastest Laps Run, which is third-best.

But what has to grab Hornaday's attention is Skinner's Vegas performance of a year ago. He led 114 laps that race, earned a perfect Driver Rating of 150.0 and an Average Running Position of 1.5.

Hornaday does have success at Las Vegas as well, however. In six career NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series starts there, Hornaday has four top fives and five top 10s (his worst finish was 13th in 2005). Over the past two Vegas races, he has a Driver Rating of 113.1 (fourth-best) and an Average Running Position of 7.1 (third-best).

Though outside the championship hunt, defending series champion Todd Bodine could also make noise in Vegas. He won there in 2005, and finished second in 2004. Over the past two races there, Bodine has a Driver Rating of 116.2 (fourth-best), an Average Running Position of 10.0 (sixth-best) and a series-high 54 Fastest Laps Run.

Compton Eyes 100

Stacy Compton (No. 09 Zaxby's Ford) will make his 100th series start at Las Vegas -- the 24th driver to do so.

"One hundred will be more important if we win," said Compton, whose last series victory came in 1998.

Raybestos Rookie of the Year Standings

Willie Allen (No. 13 Pork Chevrolet) led six laps of the New Hampshire 200 but mechanical problems dropped him two laps behind Raybestos Rookie of the Year rival Tim Sauter (No. 07 Lester Buildings Chevrolet) at race's end. Sauter, who finished 23rd, doubled his standings lead -- from two to four points.

On Deck: Talladega Superspeedway

More than 80,000 fans turned out on a perfect autumn afternoon last year to see the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series tackle the legendary high banks of Talladega Superspeedway.

None left unsatisfied with the sometimes five-wide competition that ended with Mark Martin coasting under the checkered and caution flags after a Turn 3 melee on the race's final lap spoiled what could have been the closest, multi-truck finish in series history.

Judged by the season-opening race at Daytona International Speedway -- where a similar rules package is employed -- Talladega's Mountain Dew 250 should be even more dramatic the second time around. Jack Sprague, Johnny Benson (No. 23 Toyota Certified Used Vehicles Toyota) and Travis Kvapil (No. 6 K&N Filters Ford) finished virtually side-by-side-by-side.


Next Race: Smith's Las Vegas 350

The Place: Las Vegas Motor Speedway
The Date: Sept. 221

The Time: 9:00 p.m. (ET)
TV: SPEED 8:30 p.m. (ET)

Track Layout: 1.5-mile oval

Race Purse: $530,194

2006 Winner: Mike Skinner
2006 Pole: Mike Skinner

Schedule: Saturday -- Practice 8:30--9:30 a.m.; Rookie practice 9:45-10:15 a.m.; Final practice 10:30--11:30 a.m. Qualifying 3:00 p.m.

-credit: nascar

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers John Andretti , Tony Stewart , Todd Bodine , Mike Skinner , Ken Schrader , Jacques Villeneuve , Clay Rogers , Stacy Compton , Buddy Lazier , Johnny Benson , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Larry Foyt , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Tim Sauter , Clint Bowyer , Willie Allen , Mark Martin , Travis Kvapil