Kligerman moves on, replaced by Townley - video

Kyle Busch Motorsports selects Kligerman for full season in Nationwide series. Red Horse Racing picks Townley as replacement in NCWTS.

After a 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season that saw Parker Kligerman piece together a full year with gigs behind the wheel of the No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Ram and the No. 7 Red Horse Racing Toyota, Kligerman was selected by Kyle Busch Motorsports to compete for the Nationwide Series championship in 2013. Kligerman will drive a No. 77 Toyota full-time for KBM next season.

"When you think of Kyle Busch and Kyle Busch Motorsports, you think of an owner and a team that have established a tradition of winning and pride themselves on it, so I feel honored to be given the chance to come in and continue in that tradition," Kligerman said.

KBM raced full-time in the Nationwide Series for the first time in 2012. The No. 54 Toyota fielded by the organization produced one win, 15 top-five finishes and 22 top-10s. Driving duties were shared by owner Kyle Busch and his brother, Kurt Busch. The 2013 season will be the first year in which KBM goes after the series driver's championship.

After starting the year with BKR and moving to Red Horse mid-season, Kligerman finished 2012 fifth in points. He has 18-career Nationwide Series starts under his belt and has to his credit five top-10 finishes.

On the same day as the Kyle Busch Motorsports announcement of Kligerman's hiring, Tuesday, Red Horse Racing announced that John Wes Townley had been hired to drive the No. 7 RHR Toyota in the Truck Series, replacing Kligerman. As a result, Townley leaves Robby Benton Racing and the No. 09 Toyota.

John Wes Townley
John Wes Townley

Photo by: Motorsport.com / ASP Inc.

"I'm a competitive race car driver, and I want to race and compete for wins," Townley said. "Red Horse Racing has worked hard and continues to excel in the Truck Series. The success that this Red Horse Racing organization was able to accomplish last season is the same success we are looking forward to next year."

The No. 7 team claimed two Camping World Truck Series race wins in 2012, one with rookie driver John King and the other with Kligerman. Timothy Peters, driver of RHR's No. 17 Toyota finished second in the series championship points standings.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Kurt Busch , Brad Keselowski , Timothy Peters , John Wes Townley , Parker Kligerman , Kyle Busch , John King , Robby Benton
Teams Kyle Busch Motorsports , Red Horse Racing
Article type Breaking news
Tags busch, featured, kbm, kligerman, nascar-ns, nascar-truck, red horse, rhr, townley, toyota