Kevin “Bono” Manion joins Kyle Busch Motorsports for 2016

Veteran crew chief Kevin “Bono” Manion will oversee the third truck team at Kyle Busch Motorsports piloted by Daniel Suarez and Cody Coughlin.

Kevin “Bono” Manion joins Kyle Busch Motorsports for 2016
Daniel Suarez, Kyle Busch Motorsports
Kevin Manion, crew chief for Jamie McMurray, Earnhardt Ganassi Racing Chevrolet
Daniel Suarez, Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota
Champion's breakfast: crew chief Kevin Manion
Cody Coughlin paint-scheme

Manion, who most recently was the crew chief for Sam Hornish Jr. on the No. 9 Ford, parted ways with Richard Petty Motorsports at the end of the 2015 season.

After leading Martin Truex Jr. to consecutive titles (2004-2005) in what is now the Xfinity Series, the pair graduated to the Cup series where Manion has remained over the past decade. In addition to his successful tenure with Truex where the duo won races in both NXS and Cup, Manion guided Jamie McMurray to victories in the Daytona 500 and Brickyard 400. Manion amassed 15 NXS wins — 13 with Truex and two with Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Manion joins 2015 Camping World Truck Championship crew chief Rudy Fugle and veteran Jerry Baxter. With truck champion Erik Jones graduating to the XFINITY tour, Fugle will now direct K&N Pro Series East champ William Byron in his foray to trucks. Baxter will oversee the effort of TRD development driver Christopher Bell.

"The goal at KBM is to have all three of our teams competing for wins and top fives every race and consistently be among the battle for the Owner's Championship," Busch said. "Rudy, Jerry and the group of crew members that they have assembled on their respective teams, and everyone in the shop have accomplished those goals the past few seasons and the third team made strides through all of last season.

“With the addition of Bono -- a guy who is a true racer and a proven winner at NASCAR's highest level -- as the leader of that group of guys, I'm confident that their performance level will be much improved this season."

Fugle joined KBM in 2014. As a truck crew chief, Fugle led drivers to nine wins, six poles, 21 top fives and 35 top 10 finishes in 44 starts with KBM. His run with Jones last season included both rookie-of-the-year and championship honors en route to KBM’s fourth truck owner’s titles.

After overseeing the effort of a four-driver team last season including Bell, Busch, Suarez and Matt Tifft, Baxter’s focus will shift to Bell. For Baxter, 2016 marks his fourth season with the team after collected seven wins, three poles, 24 top fives and 40 top-10 finishes during his tenure with KBM.

Truck numbers for the KBM entries have yet to be finalized.

Ben Rhodes to join ThorSport Racing in 2016
Previous article

Ben Rhodes to join ThorSport Racing in 2016

Next article

Abreu lands full-season deal in NCWTS

Abreu lands full-season deal in NCWTS
Load comments