Kentucky: News of note, schedule

NEWS & NOTES Four champions in top 10 a series first ... When Mike Skinner (No. 5 Toyota Tundra Toyota) joined fellow champions Hamilton, Sprague and Ron Hornaday Jr. (No. 6 GM Goodwrench Chevrolet) in the top 10 of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck...


Four champions in top 10 a series first ...

When Mike Skinner (No. 5 Toyota Tundra Toyota) joined fellow champions Hamilton, Sprague and Ron Hornaday Jr. (No. 6 GM Goodwrench Chevrolet) in the top 10 of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck standings following Kansas Speedway's race it marked the first time in series history the top 10 has contained four former series champions. Skinner, who finished fourth, logged his fourth top-five finish in five races. He ranked 28th in points after a 34th-place run at Atlanta Motor Speedway in March; he's currently ninth.

Series alum joins SPEED booth this week ...

The "third man" in SPEED Channel's broadcast booth at Kentucky will be Boris Said, a 64-race veteran of NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series competition and winner of the 1998 event at Infineon Raceway. Said qualified fourth for last week's NASCAR NEXTEL Cup Series Pepsi 400 at Daytona International Speedway. SPEED Channel has announced that the popular cable broadcaster now is seen in more than 70 million homes.

Bodine, Toyota break drought ...

Reunited with Germain-Arnold Racing for the second week, Todd Bodine (No. 30 Allman Brothers Band Toyota) won at Kansas Speedway to end a 14-race winless streak that followed his October 2004 victory in Fort Worth. That win also was the last for Toyota, which, for the first time, placed four of its Tundra models among the top-five finishers.

Kluever's runnerup finish best by Raybestos rookie in '05 ...

The 2005 season hasn't been an overly productive one for Raybestos Rookie of the Year contenders, but Todd Kluever's (No. 50 Shell Rotella T/World Financial Group Ford) runnerup finish in Kansas could portend a different story as the schedule reaches its midpoint. Kluever, whose best previous finishes were a pair of fourth-place efforts, was backed by new Roush Racing crew chief Mike Beam. Beam, formerly boss of Ricky Craven's No. 99 Superchips Ford outfit, last week swapped positions with former Kluever crew chief John Monsam.

ETC. ...

Points leader Setzer tough at Kentucky Speedway ...

Setzer hasn't won at Kentucky but he's completed all 753 possible laps around the track, which translates into 1,129.5 miles. He's the track's leading money winner with $133,440, and with three top-five finishes, shares that mark with Sprague. Sprague has finished second, third and second in his three appearances.


"I almost blew it. I was leading the race and we had a restart with eight laps to go. Greg Biffle got by me on the restart and I couldn't pass him. Finally, I passed him on the outside on the last corner of the last lap for the win. It was a pretty exciting race. He ended up spinning after the checkered flag. So, it was a good time." -- Todd Bodine on his 2002 Kentucky Speedway NASCAR Busch Series victory.

"Kentucky has really come into its own over the past couple of years. It takes a new speedway a few years to age and weather to become a good race track. Kentucky Speedway has become a great race track." -- Dennis Setzer.

"He starts from the back every week, sometimes dead last, and yet he winds up finishing in the top five on a regular basis." - Chase Montgomery, No. 18 Dodge, on why he thinks his owner, Bobby Hamilton, is the toughest driver on the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series.


Seven states -- Arizona, California, Indiana, Kentucky, Tennessee, Virginia and Wisconsin --hosted a race in each of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series' first 10 seasons. All are part of the 2005 schedule as well. Mike Skinner won the series' first appearance in Kentucky on June 3, 1995 at the old Louisville Motor Speedway. The victory was the fourth of eight that Skinner won en route to the inaugural championship.


Next Event: The Built Ford Tough 225 by the Greater Cincinnati Ford Dealers (Race 13 of 25).

Where: Kentucky Speedway.
When: 8:15 p.m. ET, Saturday, July 9.

Track layout: 1.5-mile paved oval.
Race length: 225 miles/150 Laps.

Posted awards: $736,500.

TV: SPEED Channel, 8:15 p.m. ET.
Radio: MRN, XM Satellite.

2004 winner: Bobby Hamilton.
2004 polesitter: Not held.

Pre-race schedule (all times local): Friday -- Practice 6 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. Saturday -- Practice 12 noon to 1:00 p.m. Qualifying 5:00 p.m. Trucks impounded after qualifying.

Top 10 drivers: 1. Dennis Setzer 1,744. 2. Bobby Hamilton 1,706. 3. Ted Musgrave 1,691. 4. Ron Hornaday Jr. 1,610. 5. Ricky Craven 1,597. 6. Jimmy Spencer 1,588. 7. Terry Cook 1,562. 8. Jack Sprague 1,501. 9. Mike Skinner 1,479. 10. Matt Crafton 1,466.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series NASCAR Truck
Drivers Bobby Hamilton , Todd Bodine , Mike Skinner , Boris Said , Greg Biffle , Ron Hornaday Jr. , Ricky Craven , Jack Sprague , Dennis Setzer , Terry Cook , Chase Montgomery , Matt Crafton , Todd Kluever